Mozart: String quartets K. 465 "Dissonance", K. 458 "The Hunt" & K. 421

( 2 )
$9.61 price
(Save 3%)$9.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (8) from $5.40   
  • New (6) from $5.79   
  • Used (2) from $5.40   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 11/8/2005
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028947757511
  • Catalog Number: 000552302
  • Sales rank: 34,067


Disc 1
  1. 1 String Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K. 421 (K. 417b) - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (26:50)
  2. 2 String Quartet No. 17 in B flat major ("Hunt"), K. 458 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (25:51)
  3. 3 String Quartet No. 19 in C major ("Dissonant"), K. 465 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (28:15)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Emerson String Quartet Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Precision has its virtues

    There appear to be two schools of thought about Emerson String Quartet: they are either technically perfect but sterile, or technically perfect and sublime. I align with the latter camp, so I highly recommend this album - as well as "The Haydn Project" which I initially hesitated to buy because of hearing that same complaint. I'm so glad I went ahead anyway; these are recordings I treasure. Listen to the sound samples, and see if you aren't tempted into the subtle pleasures offered by this marvelous foursome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    The worst string quartet around

    The Emerson Quartet's members are admirable people, contributing time and energy to teaching and to charitable causes -- I admire them for that. But they are flat-out the worst string quartet currently on the world stage -- technically flawless but utterly empty, interpretively wayward for the sake of being interpretively wayward, spiritually bankrupt performances. They have an uncanny ability to homogenize everything they play -- everything sounds the same, whether it's Mozart or Shostakovich. Their fame is truly appalling, as they are teaching entire generations of listeners to value technical perfection over depth of feeling and understanding. Their performances are not merely superficial, they're bad. Avoid this group like the plague. As for the fabulous Mozart Quartets, try the performances by the Chilingirian Quartet, or Quatuor Mosaiques -- both these groups understand Mozart and bring great feeling to every note they play; their performances are profound and full of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews