Mozart: Symphonies Nos. 35-41

( 1 )
$15.64 price
(Save 13%)$17.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $2.86   
  • New (3) from $10.42   
  • Used (1) from $2.86   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 7/15/1997
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028945304625
  • Catalog Number: 453046
  • Sales rank: 1,590


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Symphony No. 35 in D major ("Haffner"), K. 385 - Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (16:54)
  2. 5–8 Symphony No. 36 in C major ("Linz"), K. 425 - Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (26:43)
  3. 9–11 Symphony No. 38 in D major ("Prague"), K. 504 - Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (25:05)
Disc 2
  1. 1–4 Symphony No. 39 in E flat major, K. 543 - Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (24:49)
  2. 5–8 Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550 - Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (24:26)
  3. 9–12 Symphony No. 41 in C major ("Jupiter"), K. 551 - Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra & Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (30:25)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An impressive, but not definitive, interpretation

    This Von Karajan set on DG seems like an appealing proposition, and in large part it is, but it shouldn't really be your first introduction to these symphonies, or the recording 'of record', so to speak.

    The Berlin Philharmonic hums with power throughout. The Haffner is rousingly quick and the Linz quite grand in these big-band performances. Any Prague Symphony lacking the repeat of the A section in the middle movement is, as here, really not definitive in my book, but the performance is overall effective.

    After a hypnotically majestic rendering of the Adagio, Karajan assaults the first movement of Symphony No. 39 with some questionable legato, apparently aiming for a 39th 'you've never heard before.' Well, I haven't, and I don't think Mozart quite intended it either. I tolerate this in some moods better than others, but I tend to find it a troublesome interpretive imposition on some of Mozart's very greatest music. The rest of the symphony is played with sober brilliance, but the maximalist tendencies throughout keep this epic yet delicate music from breathing quite as splendidly as it should.

    The Romantic take on No. 40 is very worthy, and his Jupiter is substantial. But in all six, we are dealing with an overbearing string section that, whatever the delightful qualities of the other players or the balance of phrasing, simply roars over everything else. Anyone familiar with chamber orchestra recordings (on modern or period instruments) will feel what is lacking. Among 'big-band' interpreters, Bohm and Wand, among others, achieve a much more luminous balance.

    The Jupiter's molto allegro is powerful, as you'd expect, yet I think Wordsworth, Harnoncourt, and Roger Norrington have all achieved more sublime effect with their smaller forces. On the whole, I think the gem-like slow movements may showcase Karajan and the BPO best here, with the caveat that the weight of the strings tends to detract from the real joys of Mozart's delicate balance of instruments.

    The overall effect is somewhat cold, though certainly impressive. I'm not ashamed to own it, but please hear these symphonies in at least one other recording; you simply cannot take this set as 'definitive', despite many of its merits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews