×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire
     

Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire

5.0 1
by Andy Stanton
 

See All Formats & Editions

Shabba me whiskers! It’s one of those Mr Gum books by Andy Stanton. They’re only the craziest, funnest most amazing books for children in the world.

Mr Gum is back in this second hilarious book and he's as nasty as ever! In fact, he's absolutely grimsters. But this book's not just about him. Meet a gingerbread man named Alan Taylor who

Overview

Shabba me whiskers! It’s one of those Mr Gum books by Andy Stanton. They’re only the craziest, funnest most amazing books for children in the world.

Mr Gum is back in this second hilarious book and he's as nasty as ever! In fact, he's absolutely grimsters. But this book's not just about him. Meet a gingerbread man named Alan Taylor who has electric muscles! Plus, all our favourite characters are also back: the little girl called Polly, the evil butcher called Billy William The Third, and the very wise man, Friday O'Leary. And, who could forget loveable Jake the dog, or the angry fairy who lives in Mr Gum's bathtub and whacks him on the head with a frying-pan?

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams.

Have you collected all the well brilliant Mr Gum series?

You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum

Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire

Mr Gum and the Goblins

Mr Gum and the Power Crystals

Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear

What's for Dinner, Mr Gum?

Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree

Mr Gum and the Secret Hideout

Praise for Mr Gum:

‘Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!’ – Jeremy Strong

‘Worryingly splendid’ – Guardian NOT FOR BORERS!

Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children’s writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a grape. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which are published in 34 countries worldwide in over 30 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children’s Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781405259286
Publisher:
Egmont UK Ltd
Publication date:
11/01/2011
Series:
Mr Gum , #2
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
192
File size:
3 MB
Age Range:
7 - 11 Years

Meet the Author

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams.

Praise for Mr Gum:

‘Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!’ – Jeremy Strong

‘Worryingly splendid’ – Guardian NOT FOR BORERS!

Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children’s writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a grape. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which are published in 34 countries worldwide in over 30 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children’s Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

Featuring a cast of weird and wonderful characters, the brilliantly anarchic Mr Gum adventures have become must-reads for children everywhere. Well, probably not in space - but everywhere else. In 2016, You’re A Bad Man, Mr Gum! celebrates its 10th anniversary and will be published as an Egmont Modern Classic.

Andy Stanton lives in North London. He has many interests, but best of all he likes books, comedy and music (even jazz). His favourite expression is ‘good evening’ and his favourite word is ‘captain’. So now you know!


Andy Stanton lives in North London. He studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. He has been a film script reader, a cartoonist, an NHS lackey and lots of other things.

He has many interests, but best of all he likes cartoons, books and music (even jazz). One day he’d like to live in New York or Berlin or one of those places because he’s got fantasies of bohemia. His favourite expression is ‘good evening’ and his favourite word is ‘captain’. You’re a Bad Man, Mr Gum! was his first book and is the first in the nine part Mr Gum series.


I was born and grew up in Leicester.I studied Illustration (BA HONS) at Manchester Metropolitan University 1990 - 93.  

After my degree I travelled around Asia for 3 years.  I had an exhibition at The City Gallery in Leicester upon my return from Asia of the drawings that I did in the mountains of India and Nepal.  I then moved to London in 1997 to pursue my career. Luckily I found success as a commercial illustrator quite quickly and have illustrated campaigns for Cream, Bass, Natwest, Vodafone, Orange, Yahoo, Fiat and We Love Muzic among others.  I have also done editorials for various magazines and all the broadsheets.  I still work in the commercial arena as well as illustrating children's books.

My career in children's books started in 2006 when I was approached by Egmont to do the Mr Gum series of books.  This was a runaway success and I feel very privileged to have worked with the brilliant author Andy Stanton.  I have since illustrated the Agatha Parrot series by Kjartan Poskitt and The Donut Diaries series by Anthony McGowan.  In children's fiction I recently finished the third book of the Stinkbomb & Ketchup Face series by John Dougherty and I am currently working on the Joey Pigza series by Jack Gantos, the second book of the Circus of Thieves series by William Sutcliffe.

My first picture book came out in June 2013 called Eleanor's Eyebrows by Timothy Knapman and has had some great reviews.  I have just finished illustrating my second picture book called You Can't Take An Elephant On A Bus by Patricia Cleveland Peck, publishing April 2015.

Andy Stanton and I have won a lot of awards for the Mr Gum books.  The big ones are Red House Children's Book Award, two Blue Peter book awards for Best Book With Pictures, and the first inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize Award.  We have won numerous regional awards too.

I live in South London with my partner Melanie and my three boys, Stanley, Atticus & Albert.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
dYlan0 More than 1 year ago
This book is hilarious! Mr Gum is always plotting plots. In this book Polly meets someone new and his name is Alan Taylor. He is a ginger bread man and a billonaire. Mr Gum finds out about these billions and tries to steal them . but will he get away with it?