BN.com Gift Guide

Mr. Pants: It's Go Time!

( 2 )

Overview

Fans of Bad Kitty, Wimpy Kid, and Fly Guy will love this brand new graphic novel chapter books series!

Meet Mr. Pants! It’s the last day of summer, which means the last chance for fun, and he really, really wants to play laser tag. But his sisters have other ideas—the Fairy Princess Dream Factory? Gah! Good thing Mr. Pants knows how to get what he wants—and have a blast doing it.
 

...
See more details below
Hardcover
$12.45
BN.com price
(Save 16%)$14.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $3.75   
  • New (12) from $7.95   
  • Used (6) from $3.75   
Mr. Pants: It's Go Time!

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Fans of Bad Kitty, Wimpy Kid, and Fly Guy will love this brand new graphic novel chapter books series!

Meet Mr. Pants! It’s the last day of summer, which means the last chance for fun, and he really, really wants to play laser tag. But his sisters have other ideas—the Fairy Princess Dream Factory? Gah! Good thing Mr. Pants knows how to get what he wants—and have a blast doing it.
 

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
04/28/2014
Newcomers McCormick and Lazzell blend a chapter-book format with a comic-book sensibility in an oddball story about three cat siblings and their human mother. Mr. Pants, an orange cat with boundless energy, has neglected to clean his room, and now his end-of-summer trip to play laser tag is in jeopardy. Over seven semi-episodic chapters, Mr. Pants clashes with his responsible sister, Foot Foot, over a new toy, back-to-school shopping, and trips to build dolls at the Fairy Princess Dream Factory and, yes, play laser tag. Meanwhile, four-year-old Grommy, a white puffball, just tries to keep up with her siblings. Lazzell’s digital cartoons—simple, flat shapes outlined in black—provide many visual gags for a story that unfolds almost entirely through speech-balloon dialogue (“Why couldn’t she be beautiful and deadly?” Mr. Boots asks the shopkeeper at the doll store after learning that nunchucks and bazookas aren’t available as accessories). The jokes can be hit or miss, but readers with highly demanding siblings will find plenty to recognize in this family’s harried day of activities and errands, while enjoying Mr. Boots’s lighthearted comeuppances. Ages 6–8. (July)
School Library Journal
06/01/2014
Gr 2–4—An initially obnoxious cat named Mr. Pants takes center stage in this graphic novel. The short chapters detail the adventures and high jinks of Mr. Pants and his two cat siblings, depicted with bright, colorful palette and in varied panels that match the quirky volume. After a jarring introduction to the key players, kids will quickly warm up to the curious feline and connect with his antics and multilayered relationships. Children will also see themselves in the title character as he is open to learning about new things and embraces them with gusto. The perfect book for those who have outgrown their beginner readers but are not quite ready to move on to chapter books. Plot twists keep the tale engaging and add depth to this light fare. Fans will wait excitedly for the next book in this fun, rollicking series.—Trina Bolfing, Westbank Libraries, Austin, TX
Kirkus Reviews
2014-05-04
McCormick and Lazzell try to pass off frenetic bad behavior and annoying sibling rivalry as amusing antics and engaging character development in this graphic-style chapter book.The focus is on family interactions and everyday activities, though the family in question is at least a little bit odd. Inexplicably, Mr. Pants, an orange cat with two distinctly different-sized eyes, Foot Foot, a smaller gray cat, and Grommy, a white kitten with a pink bow, have a human mother who sports stylized Laura Petrie hair and gives off a retro vibe. The plot focuses on big brother Mr. Pants, who nags his mom for an end-of-summer outing while whining his way through a trip to the "Fairy Princess Dream Factory" and a back-to-school shopping spree. Uneven attempts at injecting humor vary from adultcentric (Mom's shoe addiction and Mr. Pants' nicknames for his sister, which include My Left Foot and Agony of deFeet) to gross-out (Mr. Pants' grungy room). Despite the graphic-novel format, there's no sense of flow to the static artwork, which features panels of varying sizes in mostly muted shades of mustard, plum, gray and mauve with flat, spare settings and simply silhouetted characters.Pedestrian, predictable and totally tedious, this generic effort fails to appeal either visually or literarily. (Graphic novel. 7-9)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780803740075
  • Publisher: Dial
  • Publication date: 7/10/2014
  • Series: Mr. Pants Series
  • Pages: 128
  • Sales rank: 181,745
  • Age range: 6 - 8 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.60 (w) x 7.10 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Scott T. McCormick is a marketing and advertising copywriter, and he makes great smoothies.  He lives in North Carolina with his family and his cat, the real Grommy LuluBelle.

R. H. Lazzell is a graduate of the Art Institute of Philadelphia.  He's a freelance illustrator and lives in southern New Jersey with one cat who is nothing like Mr. Pants.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    Mr. Pants and sibs arrived on our doorstep Sunday afternoon.  Th

    Mr. Pants and sibs arrived on our doorstep Sunday afternoon.  The kids and I tore into the box, pulled out the book, immediately oo'd and ahh'd over the cover, sat down & read it together.  The humor, the relationships between sibs (spot on), and everything in between made for a fun and entertaining book for the kiddos.  The thirteen year old says, "I loved it!  It was adorable and I could relate to the characters."  The seven year old says, "It is suuuuuuuuuuuuuperrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr awesommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmme."  (And yes, he said it exactly like that.)

    The next day, there was a quiet moment in our house.  All of a sudden, I see the 7yo pick up the book, curl up on the love seat, and start reading.  After he was done, he stood up and said, "That is a COOL book!!!!"  

    We'll have to see what the 11yo thinks once she's home from camp.  I have no doubt she will be equally thrilled with Mr Pants and his sisters!

    As a parent, you know it's a good book when your kiddo willingly goes and reads a book without you!  Heck, you know it's a great book when YOU want to read it - even without your kids!!

    Highly entertaining, well written, and the graphics are perfect for the story.  All in all, two thumbs up from our house!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    "MR. PANTS IT'S GO TIME" is a faced-paced, hilarious c

    "MR. PANTS IT'S GO TIME" is a faced-paced, hilarious chapter book, based on the life of three cats and their human mom. The illustrations are amazing, and the stories reflect the life of the average young reader. If you have children or grandchildren in the 6-10 age group, this is a great gift for them or a party gift for their friends. Laugh as "Mr. Pants" begins to tell his story in this the first of a series of books. One child put it this way: "Mr. Pants is naughty!" I thoroughly enjoyed this one of a kind book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)