Murder in Maui (Leila Kahana Mysteries, Book 1)

Murder in Maui (Leila Kahana Mysteries, Book 1)

3.5 6
by R. Barri Flowers
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

MURDER IN MAUI: A Leila Kahana Mystery is an original eBook police procedural and medical mystery novel set in the lush, deceptively idyllic tropical paradise of Hawaii.

Maui County homicide detective and composite sketch artist Leila Kahana is the protagonist. A Hawaiian native, Leila follows in the footsteps of her grandfather who was the County of Maui

Overview

MURDER IN MAUI: A Leila Kahana Mystery is an original eBook police procedural and medical mystery novel set in the lush, deceptively idyllic tropical paradise of Hawaii.

Maui County homicide detective and composite sketch artist Leila Kahana is the protagonist. A Hawaiian native, Leila follows in the footsteps of her grandfather who was the County of Maui police chief. She is tough, smart, sexy, and outspoken.

Leila's partner is Detective Sergeant Blake Seymour, separated from his wife and pushing to make lieutenant.

Leila and Seymour investigate the execution-style murder of two prominent doctors in an upscale condominium. Larry Nagasaka and Elizabeth Racine are found lying naked in bed in a pool of their own blood. It is learned that they are married, but not to each other, and that the doctors belong to a prestigious medical association.

Assisting the detectives in the case are fellow members of the homicide squad, Detectives Trent Ferguson and Rachel Lancaster, run by Lieutenant Paul Ortega who is contemplating retirement. As they interview suspects and collect evidence, more doctors belonging to the medical association are murdered, making it clear to all that they have a ruthless and determined serial killer on their hands.

What sets this series apart--aside from the lush setting of Maui--is the colorful, main characters as they painstakingly go through the process of stopping a ruthless killer, with everyone a suspect.

PRAISE FOR MURDER IN MAUI FROM BESTSELLING MYSTERY AND THRILLER WRITERS

"Flowers' debut Leila Kahana mystery, is even hotter than its exotic Hawaiian setting. A police procedure of the highest order, mixing equal parts Sue Grafton & Jeffrey Deaver with a sprinkling of Patricia Cornwall at her best. Sure to make both Kahana and Flowers household names, MURDER IN MAUI is Hawaii 5-0 sharpened to a dark edge beneath the brilliant sunshine." - Jon Land, bestselling author of STRONG JUSTICE and STRONG ENOUGH TO DIE

"A masterful thriller set in the dark underbelly of Maui, with lots of fine action, down and dirty characters, and the vivid details of police procedure one would expect from an author who is also a top criminologist. A gripping novel in what promises to be an outstanding series, featuring a truly unforgettable detective in the character of Leila Kahana. A terrific read!" - Douglas Preston, NY Times bestselling author and co-creator of the PENDERGAST series of novels

"A gripping and tightly woven tale you won't want to put down. Flowers neatly contrasts the natural beauty of a tropical paradise with the ugliness of murder and its aftermath. Treat yourself to a vacation in Hawaii. You'll want to return again and again." - John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling author of MISTER X and NIGHT VICTIMS

"From one of the best true crime writers around, R. Barri Flowers has combined his impressive criminology credentials and literary talents to create Maui homicide detective Leila Kahana, a fascinating and complex heroine. A page-turner. Fans of CSI and Hawaii 5-0 will love this one and scream for more!" - Deborah Shlian, award-winning co-author of DOUBLE ILLUSION and DEVIL WIND

"A page-turning mystery featuring the debut of a fascinating character, Detective Leila Kahana. Leila is smart, funny, talented and on top of her game as a detective and police sketch artist. The ending definitely has me saying, More please, Mr. Flowers." - Jan Grape, Anthony & McCavity winner and author of WHAT DOESN'T KILL YOU and co-editor of MURDER PAST, MURDER PRESENT

"A combination of grit, action, and incredibly realistic police procedure. That's the recipe that keeps me turning pages until the sun comes up. Flowers dug deep into his extensive background as a criminologist to plot a tale so genuine that even I was tempted to call for backup a couple of times." - Lee Lofland, former detective, author of POLICE PROCEDURE AND INVESTIGATION, and founder of the Writers' Police Academy

"Flowers delivers the goods. An exotic setting, winning characters, and realistic procedural details make MURDER IN MAUI a sure hit with crime-fiction readers." - Bill Crider, Edgar award winner and NY Times bestselling author of MURDER IN THE AIR and MURDER IN FOUR PARTS

"MURDER IN MAUI is terrific. Gripping writing, wonderfully rounded characters you really care about, and vivid locations--this novel is a real and rare treat." - Peter James, bestselling author of DEAD SIMPLE and DEAD LIKE YOU

"Starts with a bang--literally--and drops you right into the deep end of murder. A by-the-book mystery that keeps the suspense taut and edgy." - Joe Moore, bestselling co-author of THE 731 LEGACY

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012606358
Publisher:
R. Barri Flowers
Publication date:
02/27/2013
Series:
Leila Kahana Mysteries , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
679,950
File size:
177 KB

Meet the Author

R. Barri Flowers is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than forty books, including mysteries, thrillers, romance, young adult, true crime, and criminology. Recent mystery fiction titles include the Jack the Ripper historical thriller, DARK STREETS OF WHITECHAPEL, the young adult ghost tale, GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY, and a hardboiled mystery, DEAD IN THE ROSE CITY.

Other recent fiction works by the author include the legal thrillers, STATE’S EVIDENCE, PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE, and JUSTICE SERVED.

Flowers’ recent nonfiction titles include PROSTITUTION IN THE DIGITAL AGE, STREET KIDS, COLLEGE CRIME, and MALE CRIME AND DEVIANCE. He is also the author of the bestselling true crime classic, THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS.

Flowers is the recipient of the Wall of Fame Award from Michigan State University’s renowned School of Criminal Justice. He has appeared on the Biography Channel and Investigation Discovery.

Connect with R. Barri Flowers on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, MySpace, and CrimeSpace. The author resides in the Pacific Northwest and is busy at work on his next mystery novels, KILLER IN THE WOODS and EXPOSED EVIDENCE.

Visit rbarriflowers.com to learn more about the author’s upcoming titles, book signings, and appearances.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

MURDER IN MAUI (A Leila Kahana Mystery) 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has to be the worst book I've ever read. I don't even know where to begin. First of all, it's SHORT, more like a short story than a book. The author makes several basic procedural and legal mistakes, some so ridiculous and glaring to anyone who has worked in either law enforcement or the courts (or both as I have) that it reads like a comedy. I was also going to comment that the juvenile, and borderline clinical, description of the love and/or sex scenes would disgust women, but then I saw he wrote romance novels under a pseudonym! Whether these books sold or not I have no idea, but I can't imagine they depicted "romance" as much as sex. Why this author chooses to have his main character a female is beyond me, he clearly doesn't understand how women think or react. All that aside, the writing style is just plain irritating! For example he repeated use of the expression "she favored her partner" to mean "she glanced at her partner". I assumed the author was from another country where such odd expressions might be used, but no, he's from Detroit. Look up the word favored, no where in the English language does it mean what he uses it to mean. All in all, don't waste your time, it's horrible. There are so many talented writers out there, no reason to waste your time on books like this one. Serves me write for making an online purchase on my tablet in bed.
Runner_Girl-2 More than 1 year ago
Very refreshingly different! Highly recommended if you are looking for a well written mystery with an unexpected ending. A very satisfying mix of mystery, back stories and romance. I can't wait to read Mr. Flowers' other works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed at the end of the book... Will there be a series I hope ???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BestsellingCriminologist More than 1 year ago
Aloha! As the author of MURDER IN MAUI: A Leila Kahana Mystery, I wanted to let my fans and new readers know that this was a true labor of love from someone who visits Maui often and has a good handle on the island, its inhabitants, flavor, and often mesmerizing scenery. With a background in criminology and mystery fiction and an appreciation for such Hawaii classic TV shows such as Hawaii Five-O and Magnum P.I., I wanted to combine these elements in creating a realistic environment and credible characters for my medical mystery and police procedural. The highest form of flattery an author can have comes from his or her peers. Quotes on MURDER IN MAUI from other bestselling, award winning mystery and thriller writers can be seen on this page under "Overview." Beyond that, I hope you will give the book a read yourself and see what captivated other authors after reading MURDER IN MAUI. I am betting that if you love Hawaii as I do and enjoy reading tropical island mysteries, you will find MURDER IN MAUI a book well worth your time. Mahalo! R. Barri Flowers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago