My Bus

My Bus

4.0 1
by Byron Barton
     
 

My Bus is a lively celebration of vehicles and transportation, occupations, pets, and basic math concepts. The busy bus driver in Byron Barton's preschool tour-de-force has a job to do. He drives his bus along his route, picks up the cat and dog passengers waiting at the bus stops, and delivers them to their destinations—which in this case include the

…  See more details below

Overview

My Bus is a lively celebration of vehicles and transportation, occupations, pets, and basic math concepts. The busy bus driver in Byron Barton's preschool tour-de-force has a job to do. He drives his bus along his route, picks up the cat and dog passengers waiting at the bus stops, and delivers them to their destinations—which in this case include the airport, the harbor, and the train station. Along the way, children are introduced to the concepts of addition, subtraction, and sets. A surprise ending of sorts—what will happen to the very last passenger?—makes this a great read-aloud for story time and bedtime. A companion to Byron Barton's critically acclaimed picture book My Car and a standout addition to this beloved author's body of work. Sure to appeal to fans of Richard Scarry, Donald Crews, and books about cars, trucks, and things that go!

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 03/17/2014
In 2001, when Barton’s My Car was published, gas could be had for less than $2 per gallon, so it makes sense that he’s turned to public transportation in this companion book. Rather than explaining how his bus works, driver Joe is focused on telling readers about his animal passengers, whose pickups and drop-offs turn the book into an informal primer on addition and subtraction (“At my last stop, four dogs get on my bus. There are five dogs and five cats on my bus”). The lurid palette and elementally simple shapes of Barton’s digital artwork are made for grabbing eyeballs, and his chunky characters and vehicles give the impression of playroom toys come to life. Ages 4–8. (Apr.)
Horn Book (starred review)
“There is so much here for repeated readings (and there will be repeated readings).”
Booklist
“Animals! Vehicles! Counting! Yes, the preschool trifecta is in place.”
School Library Journal
★ 03/01/2014
PreS-Gr 1—Joe, a bus driver, takes readers on his route through the rolling hills to a little town. Full spreads with minimal text show him picking up dogs or cats at each stop. When the bus is packed with five dogs and five cats, it's time to drop them off at either a boat, train, or plane. Happily, Joe still has one passenger left at the end of the trip: his own dog. The beautiful, bold colors produced in Adobe Photoshop are attractive, while the use of simple, childlike shapes and few words will make it easy for student to concentrate on the new skills of reading and counting. The large, square format is clean and inviting. This book is perfect for independent readers but can also be shared one-on-one or with a group. Parents can encourage youngsters to count the number of pets on or off the different types of transportation.—Diane McCabe, John Muir Elementary, Santa Monica, CA
Kirkus Reviews
2014-01-15
In an elemental bit of grouping and number play, Joe the bus driver picks up and drops off animal passengers on his route. By switching narrators, Byron passes up the chance for a neat segue from My Car (2001), which ends with motorist Sam leaving his car to drive off in a bus. Still, he has a lot of fun even with a different narrator. One dog, two cats, three more cats and finally four dogs board in succession, then depart in mixed groups of three for further trips in a train, a boat and a plane (the last dog goes home with Joe). The very simple illustrations are done in Barton's characteristic style, in opaque, mostly primary colors with minimal detailing. Even very young children will have no trouble seeing and counting the passengers as they come and go—though more reflective viewers may be confused by Joe's claim that "I drive my bus to town," as all of the scenes show only rolling green hills with widely separated houses. In what can be read as a deft bit of humor, the cats and dogs sit peaceably (if on opposite sides of the bus) and, like commuters everywhere, stare glassily off into the distance rather than make eye contact with one another. A pleasant ride, dissonance between the actual and described setting notwithstanding. (Picture book. 2-5)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062287366
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/15/2014
Pages:
40
Sales rank:
211,709
Product dimensions:
9.10(w) x 9.30(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
3 - 7 Years

Meet the Author

Byron Barton is the author-artist of many beloved picture books for the youngest reader, including My Car; My Bus; Building a House; Dinosaurs, Dinosaurs; and Machines at Work. His books have earned numerous awards and honors, including six ALA Notable Book Awards, a New York Times Best Illustrated Books selection, five School Library Journal Best Books of the Year selections, and two Reading Rainbow books. He lives in Florida.

Byron Barton is the author-artist of many beloved picture books for the youngest reader, including My Car; My Bus; Building a House; Dinosaurs, Dinosaurs; and Machines at Work. His books have earned numerous awards and honors, including six ALA Notable Book Awards, a New York Times Best Illustrated Books selection, five School Library Journal Best Books of the Year selections, and two Reading Rainbow books. He lives in Florida.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

My Bus 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
CatsInSpace More than 1 year ago
Age: 2-5 years Genre: picture book The newest book from author/illustrator Byron Barton is sure to delight fans of his previous transportation books, such as My Car, Airport, Trucks, Trains, etc. Using bright and colorful block illustrations that resemble cut paper (but which the book notes were actually done using Adobe Photoshop™), the text follows a bus trip with bus driver Joe. As Joe drives around town, he picks up dogs and cats at each bus stop, and then drops them off at a boat, train, and airplane to continue their journeys elsewhere. At the end of the day, one dog remains on the bus: Joe’s dog, which he takes home. Children will enjoy seeing the animals and various modes of transportation, and parents may appreciate that the book allows practice in basic counting, addition, and subtraction. My Bus is a great new edition to Barton’s repertoire and would fit well on any young child’s bookshelf.