My Cat, The Silliest Cat in the World

Overview

A new book in the vein of The Story of the Little Mole Who Went in Seach of Whodunit and Elephant Elephant

Gilles Bachelet's cat behaves like any normal cat--sleeping, eating, getting in the way, making a mess--but in this warm and funny picture book he happens to be. . . a very large elephant. Whether he's keeping clean, playing with yarn, or posing for a portrait, this cat has his own unique way of doing things. Readers of all ages will ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (20) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $10.47   
  • Used (14) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

A new book in the vein of The Story of the Little Mole Who Went in Seach of Whodunit and Elephant Elephant

Gilles Bachelet's cat behaves like any normal cat--sleeping, eating, getting in the way, making a mess--but in this warm and funny picture book he happens to be. . . a very large elephant. Whether he's keeping clean, playing with yarn, or posing for a portrait, this cat has his own unique way of doing things. Readers of all ages will delight in the whimsical and fun illustrations that accompany this "cat's" sweet and silly tale.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From The Critics
Yes, this "cat" is indeed silly -- especially since it's an elephant. Kids will be in stitches over the incongruity of the confused narrator's deadpan prose ("...my cat is clean. Very clean. Extremely clean.") and hilariously illustrated antics (the pachyderm perched on a tiny litter box and trashing an apartment while chasing a ball of string). This is one animal tale sure to get the whole family laughing. (ages 4 to 8)
The May 2006 issue of Child magazine
Publishers Weekly
It's a ridiculous proposition, that a man could mistake an elephant for a cat. But French author/artist Bachelet, with droll pen-and-ink illustrations and Gallic wit, pursues the idea's side-splitting implications to their logical end. "My cat is very fat, very sweet, and very, very silly," the narrative begins, in what sounds like the usual oafish opening to a second-rate memoir. But the opening image of a sad-eyed elephant jammed uncomfortably into a tiny cat basket is sure to garner a laugh from the get-go. Nimbly drafted vignettes depict the pet curled up on top of the television with his hairy, bony tail hanging down over the weather map. As if the pictures of the elephant in the litter box and the crabby reply to the Natural History museum defending his portrait of his pet's skeleton were not enough, Bachelet launches into a magnificent series of art parodies, with his beloved elephant-sorry, cat-rendered as if by Ingres, Matisse and a host of other world-renowned painters. Since readers definitely won't be able to have a cat like this in their homes, they had better run out and get this book instead. Ages 4-8. (May) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature - Ken Marantz
Cat lovers will nod in agreement as our narrator straightforwardly describes the characteristics of his typical feline: "When my cat's not eating, he's sleeping." Or "In rare instances, my cat devotes several minutes to exercise." Or "My cat thinks he has perfect aim when he goes to the bathroom. Aside from that, my cat is clean." But Bachelet moves from this audience to delight a far larger one when he adds his illustrations to the succinct text—for the tongue-in-cheek watercolors are of an elephant performing all the feline actions. Whether sleeping on a couch or in the clothes drier with trunk hanging out, or on the drawing table, the elephant substituting for a cat is ridiculously impossible. And just imagine, "My cat always forgets to wipe his feet before stepping all over my work." A special delight is a page displaying a dozen paintings based on well-known works of art, supposedly done by our narrator with an elephant replacing the center of interest, for example as a modestly coy Venus arising from the sea on her shell. Extra fun is provided by many other contextual details. It is no surprise that after consulting a book about cats, "...I wasn't able to determine my cat's breed."
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2-A wonderfully humorous look at the life of a feline that looks suspiciously like an elephant, right down to its big floppy ears, long trunk, and impressive size. This is a suspicion not shared by the author/illustrator, who lovingly describes his "cat's" eating and sleeping habits, cleanliness, love of other animals, and inability to land on its feet. Each page features a one-sentence statement about the "cat" paired with its depiction. It is impossible not to giggle at the silliness of an elephant cleaning itself with its tongue or playing with a ball of yarn. The detailed illustrations show a creature behaving exactly like a cat in actions and expressions but in a completely new and surprising way. This book is perfect for storytime-but be prepared for howls of "That's not a cat!!!" and potentially out-of-control laughter.-Catherine Callegari, Gay-Kimball Library, Troy, NH Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
"My cat is very fat, very sweet, and very, very silly." A peculiar cat indeed with saggy grey skin, tusks and a very long nose. The author's cat mostly eats and sleeps with sporadic bursts of energetic frenzy. His cat is clean like all cats, but doesn't always land on its feet (with disastrous consequences). A friend gave the author a book on cats, but strangely he couldn't find his cat's breed anywhere within. French graphic artist and teacher Bachelet has crafted a fabulously ridiculous spoof; the watercolor spot illustrations of an elephant doing normal cat things (including using the litter box) are a stitch. The page on which the author's unsold paintings of his cat insert the "cat" into Botticelli's The Birth of Venus, and great works by Picasso, Mir- and Mondrian, among others, will have adults giggling too. The ending feels a bit abrupt, but that shouldn't keep libraries from adding this to their collection of elephant-er, cat-storytime offerings. (Picture book. 4-8)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780810949133
  • Publisher: Abrams, Harry N., Inc.
  • Publication date: 5/28/2006
  • Edition description: Translatio
  • Pages: 24
  • Sales rank: 777,318
  • Age range: 1 - 8 Years
  • Product dimensions: 10.75 (w) x 12.00 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)