My Cousin Caroline (Pemberley Chronicles #6)

My Cousin Caroline (Pemberley Chronicles #6)

4.7 7
by Rebecca Collins
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Sixth in the bestselling Jane Austen sequel series from Australia

In this installment of The Pemberley Chronicles series, Mr. Darcy's cousin Colonel Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth's cousin Caroline Gardiner take center stage.

The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gardiner, Caroline develops from a pretty young girl into a woman of intelligence and passion, embodying

Overview

Sixth in the bestselling Jane Austen sequel series from Australia

In this installment of The Pemberley Chronicles series, Mr. Darcy's cousin Colonel Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth's cousin Caroline Gardiner take center stage.

The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gardiner, Caroline develops from a pretty young girl into a woman of intelligence and passion, embodying some of Austen's own values. Mr. Darcy, Elizabeth, Jane, Mr. and Mrs. Bennett, and the Wickhams all move through the story as Caroline falls in love, marries, and raises her children. Caroline rejects the role of a compliant Victorian wife and mother, instead becoming a spirited and outspoken advocate of reformist causes in spite of the danger of scandal.

Caroline's advocacy of reform, undaunted by criticism, demonstrates strength in a time when a woman's role was severely restricted.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"I could go on and on writing about "My Cousin Caroline." I loved this book. Rebecca Ann Collins' sequel to "Pride and Prejudice" is just overwhelmingly spellbinding. " - Living Life and Reading Books

"an excellent example of the way Ms Collins skilfully blends people, locations and themes from "Pride and Prejudice" with her own cast of characters and a range of issues that were part of the historical context of Georgian and Victorian England. " - Reader Review

"Ms. Collins has another winner in this series that gives us life with all its ups and downs.
" - The Romance Studio

"Austen fans are treated to a novel that contains something of the appeal of the original, while at the same time adding much that is uniquely that of the author as well as plenty of appeal for the modern female reader." - Historical Novel Review

"[M]y absolute favorite in the series... it is on my list of favorite Jane Austen sequels." - Grace's Book Blog

"[A] book I'm sure Ms. Austen would appreciate." - Everything Victorian

"Keeping with the same pace and style as Jane Austen, this book flowed beautifully. " - Book Nerd Extraordinaire

"The only way this book could be better is if Austen wrote it herself. " - My Reading Spot

"Readers, grab yourself a comfy spot on the couch and a nice cup of tea, and dig into the latest from Rebecca Ann Collins. You definitely won't be disappointed." - A Bibliophile's Bookshelf

"This book was a four and half star read, and it will certainly appeal to fans of Austen, P&P sequels and spirited, outspoken women alike." - Horror and Fantasy Books

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781402224317
Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Publication date:
09/01/2009
Series:
Pemberley Chronicles Series, #6
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
808,867
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author

Rebecca Ann Collins is the pen name of an Australian lady who has written a series of 10 sequels to Pride and Prejudice, introducing new characters and bringing them into a new historical era. Thoroughly researched and beautifully written, this series has been extremely successful in Australia with over 80,000 books sold.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

My Cousin Caroline 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Amy_D_Z More than 1 year ago
My Cousin Caroline, Book Six in the wonderful Pemberley Chronicles series by author Rebecca Ann Collins, tells the story of Caroline Gardiner Fitzwilliam, daughter of original cast members Mr. and Mrs. Edward Gardiner of Cheapside and later Lambton; and wife of Col. Richard Fitzwilliam, Mr. Darcy's cousin. Influenced by her elder cousins Lizzy and Jane, and romantically inspired by their loving relationships with Darcy and Bingley, Caroline (who first appeared as a child in Book One of "The Chronicles") has come of age. She's grown into a smart, strong, and tenacious woman (like so many of Jane Austen's characters). Married to "our favorite Colonel," Caroline has, unsurprisingly, known great joy in her life. She's also experienced tremendous sorrow. Both helped to make her a role model for her extended network of family and friends. Readers of the series will recognize many of the plot lines and events which take place in this book from previous volumes. However, seeing them here, viewed and experienced through a different lens, affords the reader a sort of emotional validation. For me, it was like watching a wall of video screens whose cameras were all trained on the same location, but placed at different angles. Hence the viewer (or reader in our case) sees events on-screen unfolding from a variety of slightly different perspectives. Caroline Fitzwilliam's complex character had been hinted at, touched upon, and alluded to in previous books in the series. But those references only teased this reader into wanting to know more about her. Caroline had been a peripheral character in Books 1 - 5, but here, she is a shining star - taking control of her life as she falls in love, marries, raises her children, supports her husband in his political career and helps run her father's business, when he falls ill. This is not your typical Victorian housewife. Readers of the series will know that there are some difficult parts to read, which deal with the loss of two beloved children. I was reluctant to read them myself. However, like Lizzy at the piano, I managed to "fudge and slur my way through the difficult passages," to arrive at another wonderful reading experience! Series readers will undoubtedly be pleased at the reappearance of Mr. Bennet and Mr. Collins in a humorous episode at Pemberley, where Mr. Bennet enjoys baiting his pompous, self- important and completely unwitting cousin, in much the same ways that he did in the original Pride and Prejudice (and to the great amusement of the rest of the company.) For readers new to the series, the book can easily stand on its own, but I must warn you. the characters (new and old) are addicting! You'll want to read more. and luckily, there are many more volumes in this series to read-both before and after My Cousin Caroline.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Orla More than 1 year ago
This story as you can no doubt tell concentrates on Caroline's life. It opens with her family just moving in to Oakleigh and ends many years down the line. For those of you who haven't read it yet, I don't want to spoil the ending. As I keep saying about this series I love it.
MHHayes More than 1 year ago
I love this series of books. I am currently working on #7 and I am as entertained as I was upon picking up book 1. It has been a great way to imagine what happened once the couples left the wedding. Its like searching family history but instead of going backwards you get to go forward. Try starting the series by first reading the original or watching the Masterpiece Theater version (skip the mass appeal movie made a few years ago) then begin with book 1.
YY4U More than 1 year ago
This is the 6th installment of the Pemberley Chronicles, and one of the better ones. All the historical facts are correct, and many of the characters are from the original Jane Austen masterpiece, staying true to their characters in P&P. This book was a wonderful read, with the characters of Elizabeth and Darcy in the story, it made it that much more enjoyable to me. It gives the story of Elizabeth's cousin Caroline (the Gardnier's daughter)and her life and marriage. I enjoyed it very much and anyone who loves P&P sequels will enjoy the book as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gl More than 1 year ago
Synopsis: My Cousin Caroline builds on two well liked characters in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Colonel Fitzwilliam, cousin to Fitzwilliam Darcy, who had been portrayed as an agreeable and attractive gentleman who only lacked wealth to be considered an eligible bachelor discovers, woos and marries Caroline Gardiner, cousin to Elizabeth Bennett Darcy. In Pride and Prejudice, the Gardiners stood out as a sensible and refined middle class family, the family that Elizabeth enjoyed visiting and trusted to help when her sister Lydia eloped. Caroline carries on these sensibilities - she is educated, sensitive, generous, and interested in the world around her. My Cousin Caroline covers Caroline's life from a young girl to her growth through the years. We learn of her reformist tendencies, her support of her husband's political aspirations, and involvement in the suffrage movement, the difficulties that she faced raising her children, her involvement in her father's trading business, and her constant love and friendship of the Darcys. Review: My Cousin Caroline is an enjoyable extension of the adventures of the characters from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. We glimpse enough of Elizabeth and Darcy to know that they are a central part of the action but Caroline and her husband remain the lead characters in the novel. This allows Rebecca Ann Collins to develop a fresh new story altogether while retaining the flavor of Pride and Prejudice. My Cousin Caroline covers a much longer period and brings a sense of the sort of life the Colonel and Caroline as well as Darcy and Elizabeth might have had as they became grandparents surrounded by large and loving families. Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark (September 1, 2009), 352 pages. Courtesy of the publisher and author.