My Memories of a Future Life by Roz Morris, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
My Memories of a Future Life

My Memories of a Future Life

by Roz Morris
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

'Taut plotting and sharp storytelling'

'Absolutely gripping story'

'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.'

'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages'<

Overview

'Taut plotting and sharp storytelling'

'Absolutely gripping story'

'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.'

'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages' - For Books' Sake

If your life now is another person's past…What echoes do you leave in their soul? Could they be the answers you need now?

It’s a question Carol never expected to face. She’s a gifted musician who needs nothing more than her piano and certainly doesn’t believe she’s lived before. But forced by injury to stop playing, she fears her life may be over. Enter her soulmate Andreq: healer, liar, fraud and loyal friend. Is he her future incarnation or a psychological figment? And can his story help her discover how to live now?

A novel in the vein of The Time Traveller’s Wife, Vertigo and The Gargoyle, My Memories of a Future Life is much more than a 'who was I' tale. It’s a provocative study of the shadows we don’t know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. An examination of what we believe, what we create and how we scare and heal each other.

Above all, it’s the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs.

'I was always fascinated by tales of regression to past lives,' says the author Roz Morris. ‘I thought, what if instead of going to the past, someone went to a future life? Who would do that? Why? What would they find?

‘I began to delve into the world of the classical musician. Musical scores are exacting and dictatorial - you play a note for perhaps a sixth of a second and not only that, there are instructions for how to feel - expressivo, amoroso. It's as if you don't play a piece of classical music; you channel the spirit of the composer. And I thought, what if she couldn’t do it any more? And then, what if I threw her together with someone who could trap the part of her that responded so completely to music?’

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
'As a bookseller I have to read 100s of books. Rarely do I read books more than once for pleasure - this book is one of them - it really is that good ... Roz's books .. are so good that I just leave copies on the counter, talk about them a bit and let them sell themselves.'
Peter Snell, Barton's Bookshop, Leatherhead, Surrey

'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages' - For Books' Sake

'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.' John Whitbourn, Victor Gollancz award winner.

'I was seriously impressed by a writer of such skill and confidence. She dances between plausible reality and the shadowy realm of interpretation, underpinned by evident intelligence. A real corker, in fact.'
Jill Marsh, Words With Jam

'Fine writing, skilled storytelling, excellent pacing, twists, turns, and a story that both entertains and informs. What a welcome relief spending time under the spell of such a skilled artist. Amazingly different.'
Maryann Madsen

'I am seconding the reviewer who said "I want to talk to someone about this book!" It's a born book club selection with a maze of ideas, questions and themes to discuss. I'm always on the lookout for fiction that takes creative risks, draws me in with a compelling voice and shows a real mastery of the craft of writing. This book does all that and more. My Memories of a Future Life delivers on a genius premise with grace and storytelling skill.The plot points have been covered here already (a little too well in a few cases), and really, a synopsis of the book doesn't address what (for me) it's really about: the endless slipstream of possibilities of human existence. The author takes control of what could be a tangle of threads in less skilled hands. She makes it accessible, charms us with characters we don't want to leave behind and challenges us with a complex idea we couldn't leave behind if we wanted to.A thoroughly entertaining, thought-provoking, wonderfully moving verismo of a novel.'
Joni Rodgers, League of Extraordinary Authors

'Sinister elements reminiscent of The League of Gentlemen and The Prisoner ... balance between intrigue, mild terror and charlatanism is perfectly maintained ... I need to talk to someone about this book'
Ruby Barnes, Build Another Bookshelf

'Like John Fowles's The Magus ... combining an unsettling plot with hints of more beyond. It's not the depressing realism of your typical Booker novelist or the light fluffiness of a slice of middle class city life. Enjoyed it immensely.'
Matt Kelland

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781463784904
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
09/18/2011
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.82(d)
Age Range:
1 - 17 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Roz Morris published nearly a dozen novels and achieved sales of more than 4 million copies - and nobody saw her name because she was a ghostwriter. She is now proudly publishing as herself and her work draws favourable comparisons with Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing, Ray Bradbury and Penelope Fitzgerald. She has also been a writing coach, editor and mentor for more than 20 years with award-winning authors among her clients. She has a book series for writers, Nail Your Novel (and a blog www.nailyournovel.com), and teaches creative writing masterclasses at locations throughout Europe and for The Guardian newspaper in London.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >