My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn

My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn

4.8 10
by Errol Flynn
     
 

Known to millions as the preeminent swashbuckler of the silver screen, Errol Flynn was a complex man who lived a life far more adventurous than any of his films. In My Wicked, Wicked Ways, Flynn reveals himself to be a self-aware and cosmopolitan devotee of excitement and pleasure. With gusto, he recalls his years as a soldier of fortune in the South Seas, his trip

Overview

Known to millions as the preeminent swashbuckler of the silver screen, Errol Flynn was a complex man who lived a life far more adventurous than any of his films. In My Wicked, Wicked Ways, Flynn reveals himself to be a self-aware and cosmopolitan devotee of excitement and pleasure. With gusto, he recalls his years as a soldier of fortune in the South Seas, his trip to war-torn Spain, his battles in Hollywood with studio honchos (Jack Warner was a particular nemesis) and ex-wives (esp. Lili Damita), and the furor surrounding his trial for rape in 1943. Freely mixing verbal abuse and tall tales with candid confessions, Flynn's autobiography makes for one hell of a read.

Editorial Reviews

Guardian
This is a major autobiography in the tradition of Cellini, Casanova, and Frank Harris.
Newsweek
"the confessions of a rake, unsparing of himself or anyone else..."
Saturday Review
Incredibly absorbing… . Just as in life, Flynn spares himself nothing-and from his book emerges the same roguish charm that endeared his celluloid incarnation to millions.
The New York Times
Flynn writes cleverly, as he talked. He has left us a good book.
San Francisco Chronicle
A document on Hollywood life far beyond its fan magazine fascination… . [Flynn] delivers footnotes to film history that are hard to come by.
The Scoop
William Macy isn't a fan of horses, althoughn he understands the power of aniamals on the human spirit. But there's something about telling stories about animals that allows us to epathize ever more than we can with people.
Raleigh News and Observer Indiana Gazette
The Tasmanian-actor portrays himself not as a debonair swashbuckler but as a chronically unhappy soul whose luck talent and high spirits vaulted him to fame, even as he remained unfulfilled until the end.
Clifton Record - Carol Moulton
In the book, Flynn writes in a loose style, sometimes reminiscent of someone writing in a journal, sometimes as though he is talking to a friend.
Indiana Gazette
The Tasmanian-actor portrays himself not as a debonair swashbuckler but as a chronically unhappy soul whose luck talent and high spirits vaulted him to fame, even as he remained unfulfilled until the end.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780815412502
Publisher:
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date:
12/28/2002
Pages:
456
Sales rank:
161,456
Product dimensions:
8.30(w) x 5.40(h) x 1.30(d)

Meet the Author

Errol Flynn (1909-1959) starred in 53 films including The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Sea Hawk, and The Sun Also Rises. Jeffrey Meyers, author of Inherited Risk: Errol Flynn and Sean Flynn in Hollywood and Vietnam , lives in Berkeley, California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Groucho More than 1 year ago
I have never read a book that has been as spellbinding as is one. I must admit that I have always been an Errol Flynn fan,but it wasn't until I read this book that I truly came to understand the "Magic" that was Errol Flynn. I couldn't put this one down. It's a story that can't be believed but can't be dismissed. Nothing he ever did on screen could match the rich but real fantasy that was his life. All other star treatments are dim when read in the hot light of this incredible life. It's a very beautiful yet very sad story of a man who lived life to the fullest only to finish it in full retreat. May he not be forgotten.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't really an Errol Flynn fan until I saw a documentary on him. After that I read a couple of biographys on him, which were interesting. This autobiography, life the man himself, was amazing and unique. I couldn't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the screen you see Errol flynn has a extremely good looking man who pursued an acting career...but if you read his autobiography you see a totally different character and man who lived an extremely amazing and unbelieveable life. I'm a dedicated flynn fan and I surfed the web , read his qotes , watched his movies , watched his bio , printed stories to try to understand this person and it was'nt till I read his book that I saw a man who states it so well that he just lived his life 'because were here only once..only once'.I suggest this book to his relatives and friends because he says alot about them and reveals how he cared for them.Truely an outstanding personality , actor , and book.
Baron-von-Rassilon More than 1 year ago
Although the book I'm reading is the first print hardback, no pictures, copywrite 1957, I got for Christmas. I enjoy the detail Errol tell about his life leaving nothing out. If you though he was a bit of a rouge from what little you might know, then you need to read this. This book is a great additive for any collection. I highly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Throughly enjoyed, have always been an Errol Flynn fan
Cyrille More than 1 year ago
I had read the "edited version" shortly after Flynn's death in 1959 and wanted to read it once more. So I ordered this particular edition unaware that it is the Original, unexpurgated version. Flynn titillates but doesn't go into X-rated detail. It certainly brought the man down a notch or two in my admiration of him... but it also raised my appreciation of him with the honesty with which he portrayed himself and the time in which he lived. Very worth the reading but definitely not for children. Let the children continue to dream of Errol Flynn as Robin Hood. That is who I prefer to think of him as.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Flynn probably created his greatest literary achievement in this book. His biography was utterly interesting. The movies, the women, and the times make for read you simply cannot put down. Only I'm curious at some of the omission's; he doesn't mention his friendship with Texas billionaire Howard Hughes, left out is the great debate on who should play Rhet in GONE WITH THE WIND. Flynn along with Gable were considered for the role. A pole was conducted in the national papers, where Gable was chosen by fans. He also does not mention his last teenage girlfriend. But still what is included is good enough to pass for its own movie screenplay. Not bad for a guy who would rather write one good book than be in any film.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Errol Flynn, I think, is one of the very best entertainers of all time, hands down. Despite his tendancy to be a little over the top, he lived his life like I think most of us wish we could. Who amongst us wouldnt like to snub our nose to conventionalism once and a while? Despite all who discredited him, saying he wasnt a good actor, had a drug and alcohol problem (which he admits), he has stood the test of time and triumphed, both professionally and spirtually in his books, his children, as well as his pictures. Olivia De Havilland once said that she wishes she could go back in time to tell Errol just how important his movies became, but I think he knows. An absoulutely awesome book if you're a fan of Mr. Flynn's work, opens your eyes to a side of Hollywook most dont know about. Kudos to Mr. Warner for taking a chance on an unknown, what a difference Errol Flynn made to movies, and the world.