Myths to Live By

Myths to Live By

4.3 19
by Joseph Campbell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"There's no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man's panoramic past as few men have ever known it." --The Village Voice

Joseph Campbell famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: "a womb with a view." In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our… See more details below

Overview

"There's no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man's panoramic past as few men have ever known it." --The Village Voice

Joseph Campbell famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: "a womb with a view." In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our lives meaning. Love and war, science and religion, East and West, inner space and outer space-Campbell shows how the myths we live by can reconcile all of these pairs of opposites and bring a sense of the whole.

This classic book has been newly illustrated and annotated in its first new edition since its original publication, which also marks the first ebook in the Collected Works of Joseph Campbell series. In the tradition of The Power of Myth and Pathways to Bliss, Myths to Live By remains one of Joseph Campbell's most enduring, popular, and accessible works.

Editorial Reviews

Village Voice
There's no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man's panoramic past as few men have ever known it.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012926555
Publisher:
Joseph Campbell Foundation
Publication date:
03/11/2011
Series:
The Collected Works of Joseph Campbell , #13
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
288
Sales rank:
179,103
File size:
13 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >