Myths to Live By

Myths to Live By

4.4 20
by Joseph Campbell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"There's no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man's panoramic past as few men have ever known it." --The Village Voice

Joseph Campbell famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: "a womb with a view." In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our

Overview

"There's no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man's panoramic past as few men have ever known it." --The Village Voice

Joseph Campbell famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: "a womb with a view." In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our lives meaning. Love and war, science and religion, East and West, inner space and outer space-Campbell shows how the myths we live by can reconcile all of these pairs of opposites and bring a sense of the whole.

This classic book has been newly illustrated and annotated in its first new edition since its original publication, which also marks the first ebook in the Collected Works of Joseph Campbell series. In the tradition of The Power of Myth and Pathways to Bliss, Myths to Live By remains one of Joseph Campbell's most enduring, popular, and accessible works.

Editorial Reviews

Village Voice
There's no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man's panoramic past as few men have ever known it.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012926555
Publisher:
Joseph Campbell Foundation
Publication date:
03/11/2011
Series:
The Collected Works of Joseph Campbell , #13
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
288
Sales rank:
129,767
File size:
13 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.

Meet the Author

Joseph Campbell: A Short Biography

Joseph Campbell was an American author and teacher best known for his work in the field of comparative mythology. He was born in New York City in 1904, and from early childhood he became interested in mythology. He loved to read books about American Indian cultures, and frequently visited the American Museum of Natural History in New York, where he was fascinated by the museum's collection of totem poles. Campbell was educated at Columbia University, where he specialized in medieval literature, and continued his studies at universities in Paris and Munich. While abroad he was influenced by the art of Pablo Picasso and Henri Matisse, the novels of James Joyce and Thomas Mann, and the psychological studies of Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung. These encounters led to Campbell's theory that all myths and epics are linked in the human psyche, and that they are cultural manifestations of the universal need to explain social, cosmological, and spiritual realities. 

After a period in California, where he encountered John Steinbeck and the biologist Ed Ricketts, he taught at the Canterbury School, and then, in 1934, joined the literature department at Sarah Lawrence College, a post he retained for many years. During the 40s and '50s, he helped Swami Nikhilananda to translate the Upanishads and The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna. He also edited works by the German scholar Heinrich Zimmer on Indian art, myths, and philosophy. In 1944, with Henry Morton Robinson, Campbell published A Skeleton Key to Finnegans Wake. His first original work, The Hero with a Thousand Faces, came out in 1949 and was immediately well received; in time, it became acclaimed as a classic. In this study of the "myth of the hero," Campbell asserted that there is a single pattern of heroic journey and that all cultures share this essential pattern in their various heroic myths. In his book he also outlined the basic conditions, stages, and results of the archetypal hero's journey.

Throughout his life, he traveled extensively and wrote prolifically, authoring many books, including the four-volume series The Masks of God, Myths to Live By, The Inner Reaches of Outer Space and The Historical Atlas of World Mythology. Joseph Campbell died in 1987. In 1988, a series of television interviews with Bill Moyers, The Power of Myth, introduced Campbell's views to millions of people.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Myths to Live By 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book really opened up my eyes (and mind) to just how similar people and their religious needs are. Campbell has such an insightful approach to religion and reading this book proves that symbols are above all the most important aspect of man's desires and strivings. Campbell was influenced not only by Carl Jung but also by Eastern religions-- with which he applies to Western thought and religion. This comparison is striking and revealing and contains so much truth! You won't regret reading this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
apachebookboy More than 1 year ago
A+work+of+such+deep+it+will+have+to+be+taken+in+small+bites.+He+will+deepen+you+meaning+in+life+and+make+you+see+how+beautiful+it+truly+is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Book rolls like a river
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dont read this book expecting any deep or insightful revelations. I found Cambell's never ending criticisms of religion to be simple minded and lacking in substance. His arguments are not meant for any serious thought or inquiry, but rather remind me of dogmatic preaching. The only people Cambell is going to convince is individuals who have already bought into his line of thought and are only seeking confirmation. Individuals who wouldnt bother to demand something of substance. If your looking for a book that address issues of atheism and religion in a serious and intellectual manner, this is not the book for you.