Natural Causes

( 7 )

Overview

Dr. Sarah Baldwin races to a Boston hospital with a young woman whose normal labor has suddenly become a matter of life and death. As she struggles to save both mother and baby, she doesn't know that two other women have already died under horrifying identical circumstances. And so begins Sarah's own nightmare, as she learns that the prenatal herbal vitamins she prescribed are the only thing these women have in common. Soon Sarah is fighting to save her career, her reputation--her life. For she's certain there ...
See more details below
Paperback (Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)
$7.99
BN.com price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (196) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $3.99   
  • Used (186) from $1.99   
Natural Causes

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Dr. Sarah Baldwin races to a Boston hospital with a young woman whose normal labor has suddenly become a matter of life and death. As she struggles to save both mother and baby, she doesn't know that two other women have already died under horrifying identical circumstances. And so begins Sarah's own nightmare, as she learns that the prenatal herbal vitamins she prescribed are the only thing these women have in common. Soon Sarah is fighting to save her career, her reputation--her life. For she's certain there must be some unknown factor linking these women, and as she gets closer to the truth, it becomes clear that someone will do anything--even murder--to keep a devastating secret.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Reinvents the medical thriller."-Library Journal
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
The latest medical thriller from the author of Extreme Measures portrays a holistic healing OB/GYN who discovers that her patients are mysteriously dying from an herbal vitamin she had prescribed. Jan.
Library Journal
Palmer follows his successful medical thriller, Extreme Measures (Bantam, 1991) with this well-written and intelligent novel, which implicates holistic healing in the hemorrhaging of three pregnant women, two of whom bleed to death during labor. Sarah Baldwin, a trusted ob/gyn resident whose herbal vitamins are the common link in the tragedies, suddenly must save her reputation and possibly her life. A researcher for the Center for Disease Control and an inexperienced lawyer both believe there is another, more deadly reason and are ready to help. Palmer uses medical dialog to submerge readers in the race to save other pregnant women still at risk and to combat the greed of treacherous medical killers. Surprises and action make for an excellent read; the climax is both plausible and frightening. The characters are all pleasingly real: Baldwin is a sympathetic heroine, and her colleague Rosa Suarez is even better. For most collections. Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 12/93.-- Ralph DeLucia, Willoughby Wallace Lib., Branford, Ct.
School Library Journal
YA-Several deaths occur from definitely unnatural causes in this fast-paced medical thriller that features genetic engineering of a recombinant DNA virus and alternative, nontraditional healing methods. In the final stages of labor, a woman suddenly screams at the pain in her fingers and hands, blood gushes from her nose and mouth, and then she dies. The third time this happens, the common thread points to obstetrician Sarah Baldwin and the herbal vitamin supplements she has prescribed for expectant mothers. Sarah's reputation, her hard work, and her future are in jeopardy unless she and her inexperienced lawyer can prove her innocence. Palmer captures the hospital environment of medicine, politics, community involvement, and relationship with the drug industry. Although slightly overlong, with several plot twists too many, this exciting page-turner will appeal to fans of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton.-Judy Sokoll, Fairfax County Public Library, VA
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780553568769
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 12/28/1994
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 496
  • Sales rank: 332,072
  • Product dimensions: 4.10 (w) x 6.85 (h) x 1.05 (d)

Meet the Author

Michael Palmer
MICHAEL PALMER has practiced medicine for more than 20 years, most recently as an ER physician.  He is currently involved in the treatment of doctors recovering from addictions.  He is the author of The Patient, The Sisterhood, Side Effects, Flashback, Silent Treatment, Critical Judgment, Miracle Cure and Extreme Measures.  He lives in Boston.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Moved well

    Book story wasfine. Seemed to cut the ending a little quickly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Wonderful

    easy fast read keeps you guessing and foring your eyes open from sleep to keep turning the page !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Another good one from Michael Palmer

    Great book that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Somewhat predictable but still has several twists throughout the book. Once you think you have things figured out, something completley unexpected happens. Good Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)