Natural Causes

Natural Causes

4.0 7
by Michael Palmer, Hailey
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Dr. Sarah Baldwin races to a Boston hospital with a young woman whose normal labor has suddenly become a matter of life and death. As she struggles to save both mother and baby, she doesn't know that two other women have already died under horrifying identical circumstances. And so begins Sarah's own nightmare, as she learns that the prenatal herbal vitamins she

See more details below

Overview

Dr. Sarah Baldwin races to a Boston hospital with a young woman whose normal labor has suddenly become a matter of life and death. As she struggles to save both mother and baby, she doesn't know that two other women have already died under horrifying identical circumstances. And so begins Sarah's own nightmare, as she learns that the prenatal herbal vitamins she prescribed are the only thing these women have in common. Soon Sarah is fighting to save her career, her reputation—her life. For she's certain there must be some unknown factor linking these women, and as she gets closer to the truth, it becomes clear that someone will do anything—even murder—to keep a devastating secret.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Reinvents the medical thriller."-Library Journal
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
The latest medical thriller from the author of Extreme Measures portrays a holistic healing OB/GYN who discovers that her patients are mysteriously dying from an herbal vitamin she had prescribed. (Jan.)
Library Journal
Palmer follows his successful medical thriller, Extreme Measures (Bantam, 1991) with this well-written and intelligent novel, which implicates holistic healing in the hemorrhaging of three pregnant women, two of whom bleed to death during labor. Sarah Baldwin, a trusted ob/gyn resident whose herbal vitamins are the common link in the tragedies, suddenly must save her reputation and possibly her life. A researcher for the Center for Disease Control and an inexperienced lawyer both believe there is another, more deadly reason and are ready to help. Palmer uses medical dialog to submerge readers in the race to save other pregnant women still at risk and to combat the greed of treacherous medical killers. Surprises and action make for an excellent read; the climax is both plausible and frightening. The characters are all pleasingly real: Baldwin is a sympathetic heroine, and her colleague Rosa Suarez is even better. For most collections. Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 12/93.-- Ralph DeLucia, Willoughby Wallace Lib., Branford, Ct.
School Library Journal
YA-Several deaths occur from definitely unnatural causes in this fast-paced medical thriller that features genetic engineering of a recombinant DNA virus and alternative, nontraditional healing methods. In the final stages of labor, a woman suddenly screams at the pain in her fingers and hands, blood gushes from her nose and mouth, and then she dies. The third time this happens, the common thread points to obstetrician Sarah Baldwin and the herbal vitamin supplements she has prescribed for expectant mothers. Sarah's reputation, her hard work, and her future are in jeopardy unless she and her inexperienced lawyer can prove her innocence. Palmer captures the hospital environment of medicine, politics, community involvement, and relationship with the drug industry. Although slightly overlong, with several plot twists too many, this exciting page-turner will appeal to fans of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton.-Judy Sokoll, Fairfax County Public Library, VA

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780553568769
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
12/28/1994
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
496
Sales rank:
410,340
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.85(h) x 1.05(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >