Natural Law

Paperback (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from BN.com
$20.90
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $22.66
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (6) from $22.66   
  • New (4) from $22.66   
  • Used (2) from $45.28   

Overview

Author Alberto M. Piedra lucidly illustrates the notion of 'natural law' through the examination of economic, social, political, and cultural issues. In this work Piedra draws on classical and Christian sources as well as his personal experience as an economist, diplomat, and lecturer on world politics to address philosophical views in a constructive and morally guided exegesis of natural law and economics. This innovative book shows the value of appeals to a governing, natural law and attendant principles such as the common good, subsidiarity, hierarchy, spiritual welfare, the reciprocity of freedom and authority, and the cultivation of personal moral and intellectual virtue. Natural Law will appeal to scholars, professionals, and others interested in the cultivation of personal moral and intellectual virtue.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Choice
Piedra writes in the tradition of Thomas Aquinas, Jacques Maritain, and other Catholic natural law theorists. Libraries serving this audience will want to acquire this book. Recommended.
John Hittinger
Piedra's book is an impressive application of natural law thinking to areas not usually explored by political philosophy such as economic theory, demographics, and globalization. The strong emphasis upon philosophical anthropology and ethics provides the reader with perspective on key issues and theories in economics. The critique of Keynesian economics is particularly illuminating.
Alejandro A. Chafuen
Joseph Schumpeter and Nobel laureate F. A. Hayek correctly pointed out that the tradition of natural law, as presented by the great Late Scholastic authors, gave rise to the development of economic science. By expanding on the richness of the natural law tradition, this book gives new inspiration for an economic system based on sound economics and the dignity of the human person.
CHOICE
Piedra writes in the tradition of Thomas Aquinas, Jacques Maritain, and other Catholic natural law theorists. Libraries serving this audience will want to acquire this book. Recommended.
Robert Royal
Alberto Piedra deftly shows why a few old truths can solve many modern problems. His argument for natural law is not a plea for a return to the past, but a demonstration of something that we need if we want a prosperous and authentically humane future.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780739109496
  • Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group Inc
  • Publication date: 1/1/2005
  • Series: Studies in Ethics and Economics Series
  • Edition description: New Edition
  • Pages: 220
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Alberto M. Piedra is Professor of Political Economy at The Institute of World Politics.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

1 Chapter I: Natural Law and the Age of Reason 2 Chapter II: Human Nature and the Dignity of the Human Person 3 Chapter III: The Classical School and the Birth of Capitalism 4 Chapter IV: The Romantic and Socialist Reactions to the Industrial Revolution 5 Chapter V: Neoclassicism, the Keynesian Revolution and Other Sources of Dissent 6 Chapter VI: The Metaphysical Dimensions of Man: Their Ethical Implications 7 Chapter VII: The Fundamental Issue of Human Work 8 Chapter VIII: Population, the Welfare State, and the Challenge of the Environment 9 Chapter IX: The Challenge of Globalization 10 Epilogue

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)