Nebula Awards Showcase 2014

Nebula Awards Showcase 2014

by Kij Johnson
Nebula Awards Showcase 2014

Nebula Awards Showcase 2014

by Kij Johnson

Paperback(2014 ed.)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The latest volume of the prestigious anthology series, published annually across six decades! The Nebula Awards Showcase volumes have been published annually since 1966, reprinting the winning and nominated stories in the Nebula Awards, voted on by the members of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America® . The editor selected by SFWA's anthology committee (chaired by Mike Resnick) is American fantasy writer Kij Johnson, author of three novels and associate director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas. This year's Nebula winners, and expected contributors, are Kim Stanley Robinson, Nancy Kress, Andy Duncan, and Aliette de Bodard, with E.C. Myers winning the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781616149017
Publisher: Pyr
Publication date: 05/20/2014
Series: Nebula Awards Showcase (Paperback)
Edition description: 2014 ed.
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Kij Johnson is an American writer of fantasy and the author of three novels and more than thirty short works of fiction. She has worked as managing editor for Tor Books and TSR (later Wizards of the Coast), collections editor for Dark Horse Comics, and content manager working on the Microsoft Reader. She is an associate director for the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas, and serves as a final judge for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award.

Read an Excerpt



Prometheus Books

Copyright © 2014 Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA, Inc.)
All rights reserved.
ISBN: 978-1-61614-901-7



On the day I started writing this introduction, I learned that Frederik Pohl had died at the age of ninety-three. Pohl's career in science fiction spanned most of seven decades and nearly every job title: fan, long- and short-form editor, agent, award juror, author, and coauthor. His first Nebula nomination came in 1966, and, in later years, he won twice. One of those works, the brilliant novel Gateway, won Hugo and Nebula both, as well as the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, among others. In fact, he was nominated for awards in this field a staggering 126 times. His importance to speculative fiction was recognized by the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) when he won the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award back in 1993; in the nearly twenty years since then, he continued to write, winning his final major award, a Hugo, in 2010. He is irreplaceable.

Frederik Pohl's death had a powerful impact on me, but he was, of course, not the only person our field has lost recently. Joanna Russ was a unique voice; Jack Vance was another. The list goes on and on, back into history: there will never be another Andre Norton, Ray Bradbury, Octavia Butler, Theodore Sturgeon, C. L. Moore.

One piece of conventional wisdom is that our field is a graying field. The writers and the readers at its heart grow older; the In Memoriam lists at each year's Nebula Awards banquet lengthens. And it is hard not to stare backward, ticking each loss from a roster of living greats.

There is a second conventional wisdom that pulls contrary to this current; that is, that the field is not graying but growing. In recent years, speculative- fiction storytelling has exploded across modes and media to fuel one-hundred- thousand-person conventions and rule the theatres. Even the cloistered garden that written SF sometimes seems to be is immeasurably vaster than it was fifty years ago, as millions of copies of speculative-fiction books are sold, generally categorized as young adult books regardless of their sophistication.

And all the new writers. A handful of this year's nominees and recipients in the fiction categories have been nominated for Nebulas one or more decades ago, members of what might be considered an old guard; but the majority have appeared here only in the last few years. Ten of the fiction nominees were on the ballot for the first time; another seven have received multiple nominations, but only within the last four years. The writers and director of this year's winner of the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation had not worked on a feature-length film before. This year's Andre Norton Award-winner is a debut novel for its author.

Judging by this year's ballot, there is no dearth of new talent.

Will these works become part of speculative fiction's canon? Will any of these authors have the profound effect on the genre that Fred Pohl did? We won't know for decades—or longer—but my guess is yes. Fred Pohl and all the other writers, editors, publishers, and agents we have lost are irreplaceable, but that does not mean they will not be joined in the canon by others. The new writers of our field will evolve and find or perfect their voices, their visions; some will become, in their turn, irreplaceable.

We are a literature of change. It's exciting to be reading speculative fiction at a time when the field seems to be looking at itself as much as the world and saying, "What now?"

The Nebula Awards Showcase 2014 reprints the winners of the short- story, novelette, and novella awards. It also includes excerpts from this year's winning novel and this year's winner of the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy. In recognition of the new Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master, Gene Wolfe, the Showcase reprints a classic short story he has selected. Finally, it includes the three winners of the 2011 Rhysling Awards for speculative poetry. I hope you enjoy it all as much as I did.


Excerpted from NEBULA AWARDS SHOWCASE 2014 by KIJ JOHNSON. Copyright © 2014 Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA, Inc.). Excerpted by permission of Prometheus Books.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Table of Contents


Introduction Kij Johnson, 11,
About the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, 13,
About the Nebula Awards, 15,
2012 Nebula Awards Final Ballot, 17,
Nebula Award, Best Short Story,
"Immersion" Aliette de Bodard, 21,
Nebula Award, Best Novelette,
"Close Encounters" Andy Duncan, 37,
Nebula Award, Best Novella,
"After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall" Nancy Kress, 69,
Nebula Award, Best Novel,
Excerpt from 2312 Kim Stanley Robinson, 179,
Nebula Award Finalist, Best Short Story,
"The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species" Ken Liu, 199,
Andre Norton Award,
for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy,
Excerpt from Fair Coin E. C. Myers, 207,
Nebula Award finalist, Best short story,
"Five Ways to Fall in Love on Planet Porcelain" Cat Rambo, 221,
About the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, 233,
"Gene Wolfe" Michael Dirda, 235,
"How to Read Gene Wolfe" Neil Gaiman, 241,
Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master: Gene Wolfe,
"Christmas Inn", 245,
About the Rhysling Awards, 273,
2012 Rhysling Award, Best Short Poem,
"The Library, After" Shira Lipkin, 275,
2012 rhysling Award, Best Long Poem,
"The Curator Speaks in the Department of Dead Languages" Megan Arkenberg, 277,
2012 Dwarf stars Award,
"Blue Rose Buddha" Marge Simon, 281,
Past Nebula Award Winners, 283,
Acknowledgments, 299,
About the Editor, 301,

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews