BN.com Gift Guide

Nevermore - A Novel of Love, Loss, and Edgar Allan Poe [NOOK Book]

Overview

Nevermore is a dark, historical fantasy filled with romance, southern charm, and all the trappings of a classic historical romance. Walking the line between the occult, the paranormal, and the reality of 1800s life in The Great Dismal Swamp, Nevermore is also chock full of action and adventure. Follow Edgar Allan Poe and Lenore into The Great Dismal Swamp and experience one ...
See more details below
Nevermore - A Novel of Love, Loss, and Edgar Allan Poe

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

Nevermore is a dark, historical fantasy filled with romance, southern charm, and all the trappings of a classic historical romance. Walking the line between the occult, the paranormal, and the reality of 1800s life in The Great Dismal Swamp, Nevermore is also chock full of action and adventure. Follow Edgar Allan Poe and Lenore into The Great Dismal Swamp and experience one version of the birth of Poe's famous poem, "The Raven."

On the banks of Lake Drummond, on the edge of The Great Dismal Swamp, there is a tree in the shape of a woman.

One dark, moonlit night, two artists met at The Lake Drummond Hotel, built directly on the borderline of North Carolina and Virginia. One was a young woman with the ability to see spirits trapped in trees and stone, anchored to the earth beyond their years. Her gift was to draw them, and then to set them free. The other was a dark man, haunted by dreams and visions that brought him stories of sadness and pain, and trapped in a life between the powers he sensed all around him, and a mundane existence attended by failure. They were Eleanore MacReady, Lenore, to her friends, and a young poet named Edgar Allan Poe, who traveled with a crow that was his secret, and almost constant companion, a bird named Grimm for the talented brothers of fairy-tale fame.

Their meeting drew them together in vision, and legend, and pitted their strange powers and quick minds against the depths of the Dismal Swamp itself, ancient legends, and time.

Once, upon a shoreline dreary, there was a tree. This is her story.

AUTHOR'S NOTE: This novel is a direct spin-off from "Kali's Tale," the fourth book in the DeChance Chronicles - initially it was going to be the prologue to book V - but is now a fully separated, stand-alone work - though the stories tie together, and are all one big story - as novels, over time, tend to become. Book One, "Heart of a Dragon," is only .99 and books 2-4 are now available in a single omnibus edition. If you enjoy Nevermore, you may find The DeChance Chronicles to your liking. Book V - "A Midnight Dreary," will be available in 2015 and draws directly on elements of Nevermore.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940015996296
  • Publisher: Crossroad Press
  • Publication date: 1/14/2013
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 22,238
  • File size: 251 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve been working my way though the DeChance Chronicles with inc

    I’ve been working my way though the DeChance Chronicles with increasing pleasure – each new tale uncovering more facets of occult wonder and dark, mysterious fiction. The power to place a layer of magic over a cleverly woven tale will always appeal, and a newcomer to David’s work would certainly have struck Dark Fiction Gold here.

    Although Donovan himself appears only in cameo form, the threads of his past and his power flow through the setting: Lake Drummond and the dank majesty of the Great Dismal Swamp.

    Edgar Poe meets his Lenore, but destiny has a new twist for them in this clever reworking of legend. Grimm the Raven, no the Crow, well – more than you ever thought – and a determined Edgar, bristling with purpose and bravey, must rescue his ill-fated love from the age-old emnity between old and powerful foes, with only his new-found allies and his passion to guide him.

    Powerfully written as always, David combines his love of an old tale with the touch of a poet and some invaluable local lore. At times haunting and melancholy, but entirely thrilling and passionate – this story is imbued with the magic of the written word and of art, as two creative souls finally find their perfect audience.

    There’d better be a book VI!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book very much, it was different and enjoyed that no animals were hurt. Seems like every time there is an animal in a book they have to hurt it or kill it. Didn't happen in this book so it made it a fun read for me. Lots of twists. A fun read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    4.5 stars Nevermore is a perfect fall read, a wonderful take on

    4.5 stars

    Nevermore is a perfect fall read, a wonderful take on what led Edgar Allan Poe to write "The Raven." I was already a fan of Wilson's DeChance Chronicles. While Donovan DeChance makes only a cameo appearance in Nevermore, there are other insider references which enhanced my reading experience but, at the same time, are so well-integrated into the storyline that a new reader will not be confused. In that sense, Nevermore is both a great stand-alone novel and a good introduction to the DeChance Chronicles; Wilson's note at the beginning states that Nevermore segues into the next DeChance Chronicle book, which suggests to me that those new to the series may well be able to move straight on to the next novel without going back to read the first four books. Not that I want to dissuade readers from reading Vintage Soul, Heart of a Dragon, My Soul to Keep, and Kali's Tale; I just want to reassure those new to the DeChance Chronicles that they don't have to read the prior books to enjoy Nevermore and succeeding volumes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Spooky, Good Read for Edgar Allen Poe Fans

    Nevermore is dark, mysterious, and haunting -- just what a book featuring Edgar Allen Poe and the Great Dismal Swamp should be. The setting is vivid and well described, and throughout the story there is a sense that anything could happen, good or ill. I found the characters interesting and complex -- folksy, in a way, simultaneously grounded and earthy while easily accepting mystical possibilities. The Poe and Lenore characters also are suitably fragile, making the reader particularly sympathetic to their situations. An enjoyable, thought-provoking read, although I will say that, for me, the climax seemed a little too quickly resolved. Not as if the author was in a hurry to finish; I just wished things had been drawn out a little more. In retrospect, the pacing, including the approach to the end, truly is similar to Poe's (the writer, not the character) own. Recommended, particularly for fans of Edgar Allen Poe or H.P. Lovecraft.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Great storytelling. Dark and wonderful characters weave a fascinating tale where EdgarAlan Poe is one of the good guys. Very entertaining, I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Highly recomend

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK! I've always enjoyed Edgar Allen Poe, and this book was real good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)