×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nevermore - A Novel of Love, Loss, and Edgar Allan Poe
     

Nevermore - A Novel of Love, Loss, and Edgar Allan Poe

4.3 13
by David Niall Wilson, Lisa Snellings
 
Nevermore is a dark, historical fantasy filled with romance, southern charm, and all the trappings of a classic historical romance. Walking the line between the occult, the paranormal, and the reality of 1800s life in The Great Dismal Swamp, Nevermore is also chock full of action and adventure. Follow Edgar Allan Poe and Lenore into The Great Dismal Swamp and

Overview

Nevermore is a dark, historical fantasy filled with romance, southern charm, and all the trappings of a classic historical romance. Walking the line between the occult, the paranormal, and the reality of 1800s life in The Great Dismal Swamp, Nevermore is also chock full of action and adventure. Follow Edgar Allan Poe and Lenore into The Great Dismal Swamp and experience one version of the birth of Poe's famous poem, "The Raven."

On the banks of Lake Drummond, on the edge of The Great Dismal Swamp, there is a tree in the shape of a woman.

One dark, moonlit night, two artists met at The Lake Drummond Hotel, built directly on the borderline of North Carolina and Virginia. One was a young woman with the ability to see spirits trapped in trees and stone, anchored to the earth beyond their years. Her gift was to draw them, and then to set them free. The other was a dark man, haunted by dreams and visions that brought him stories of sadness and pain, and trapped in a life between the powers he sensed all around him, and a mundane existence attended by failure. They were Eleanore MacReady, Lenore, to her friends, and a young poet named Edgar Allan Poe, who traveled with a crow that was his secret, and almost constant companion, a bird named Grimm for the talented brothers of fairy-tale fame.

Their meeting drew them together in vision, and legend, and pitted their strange powers and quick minds against the depths of the Dismal Swamp itself, ancient legends, and time.

Once, upon a shoreline dreary, there was a tree. This is her story.

AUTHOR'S NOTE: This novel is a direct spin-off from "Kali's Tale," the fourth book in the DeChance Chronicles - initially it was going to be the prologue to book V - but is now a fully separated, stand-alone work - though the stories tie together, and are all one big story - as novels, over time, tend to become. Book One, "Heart of a Dragon," is only .99 and books 2-4 are now available in a single omnibus edition. If you enjoy Nevermore, you may find The DeChance Chronicles to your liking. Book V - "A Midnight Dreary," will be available in 2015 and draws directly on elements of Nevermore.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940015996296
Publisher:
Crossroad Press
Publication date:
01/14/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
234,432
File size:
257 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nevermore - A Novel of Love, Loss, and Edgar Allan Poe 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much, it was different and enjoyed that no animals were hurt. Seems like every time there is an animal in a book they have to hurt it or kill it. Didn't happen in this book so it made it a fun read for me. Lots of twists. A fun read
DazThreeNine More than 1 year ago
I’ve been working my way though the DeChance Chronicles with increasing pleasure – each new tale uncovering more facets of occult wonder and dark, mysterious fiction. The power to place a layer of magic over a cleverly woven tale will always appeal, and a newcomer to David’s work would certainly have struck Dark Fiction Gold here. Although Donovan himself appears only in cameo form, the threads of his past and his power flow through the setting: Lake Drummond and the dank majesty of the Great Dismal Swamp. Edgar Poe meets his Lenore, but destiny has a new twist for them in this clever reworking of legend. Grimm the Raven, no the Crow, well – more than you ever thought – and a determined Edgar, bristling with purpose and bravey, must rescue his ill-fated love from the age-old emnity between old and powerful foes, with only his new-found allies and his passion to guide him. Powerfully written as always, David combines his love of an old tale with the touch of a poet and some invaluable local lore. At times haunting and melancholy, but entirely thrilling and passionate – this story is imbued with the magic of the written word and of art, as two creative souls finally find their perfect audience. There’d better be a book VI!
BrandieC More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars Nevermore is a perfect fall read, a wonderful take on what led Edgar Allan Poe to write "The Raven." I was already a fan of Wilson's DeChance Chronicles. While Donovan DeChance makes only a cameo appearance in Nevermore, there are other insider references which enhanced my reading experience but, at the same time, are so well-integrated into the storyline that a new reader will not be confused. In that sense, Nevermore is both a great stand-alone novel and a good introduction to the DeChance Chronicles; Wilson's note at the beginning states that Nevermore segues into the next DeChance Chronicle book, which suggests to me that those new to the series may well be able to move straight on to the next novel without going back to read the first four books. Not that I want to dissuade readers from reading Vintage Soul, Heart of a Dragon, My Soul to Keep, and Kali's Tale; I just want to reassure those new to the DeChance Chronicles that they don't have to read the prior books to enjoy Nevermore and succeeding volumes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nevermore is dark, mysterious, and haunting -- just what a book featuring Edgar Allen Poe and the Great Dismal Swamp should be. The setting is vivid and well described, and throughout the story there is a sense that anything could happen, good or ill. I found the characters interesting and complex -- folksy, in a way, simultaneously grounded and earthy while easily accepting mystical possibilities. The Poe and Lenore characters also are suitably fragile, making the reader particularly sympathetic to their situations. An enjoyable, thought-provoking read, although I will say that, for me, the climax seemed a little too quickly resolved. Not as if the author was in a hurry to finish; I just wished things had been drawn out a little more. In retrospect, the pacing, including the approach to the end, truly is similar to Poe's (the writer, not the character) own. Recommended, particularly for fans of Edgar Allen Poe or H.P. Lovecraft.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great storytelling. Dark and wonderful characters weave a fascinating tale where EdgarAlan Poe is one of the good guys. Very entertaining, I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will read books that I encounter for free or nearly free like ninety-nine cents, when my queue is not full of required reading and work. I finished an omnibus of stories by this same author, and sought more. There was a gentle tapping on the awareness that I sought. Magic, religion, history, and fable are mixed here gently. Full fleshed characters and hints of higher powers are presented without a harsh judgement. Nothing racy or untoward in behavior is expressed. There is sensuality in words and ether. Not long enough, not quite complete, but as an appetizer or appetite the tale is satisfying for a high rating. I devour books because of age and illness allows this indulgence. I look forward to another encounter on whatever plane the author presents when next I look to spend discretionary funds .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This had twists and turns and made me cry. It was hauntingly beautiful and very worth the read. The Raven always touched something deep in me & this was a beautiful companion tale
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lildiamond More than 1 year ago
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK! I've always enjoyed Edgar Allen Poe, and this book was real good.