New Kid

New Kid

4.6 9
by Tim Green
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green delivers another baseball tale that will keep kids on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventure series.

Tommy's the new kid in town, like he's been so many times before. Now he goes by the name Brock, and he's having a hard

Overview

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green delivers another baseball tale that will keep kids on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventure series.

Tommy's the new kid in town, like he's been so many times before. Now he goes by the name Brock, and he's having a hard time fitting in, especially when his new friend is the bully from the wrong side of the tracks. Thanks to a prank gone wrong, the baseball coach notices Brock and offers him a place on his failing baseball team. But can Brock prove himself on and off the field before he becomes a new kid…again?

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
02/01/2014
Gr 5–8—After hitting a two-run homer in the third inning that ties the championship game, Tommy Rust finds himself at bat, poised to bring in the game-winning run. Then his dad shows up and Tommy knows he's not there to watch the big game. It's time to run. For as long as Tommy can remember, this is how they live- going from town to town, always under a different name. By the time Tommy and his dad reach their destination, a little town in Upstate New York, he has memorized his new name, Brock Nickerson, and managed to push down his anger at being uprooted yet again. In an attempt to fit in at his new school, Brock accepts a dare and throws a rock through Coach Hudgens's window. The Coach, admiring Brock's throwing arm, offers a ticket out of trouble: he wants Brock to join the travel team. Brock and the Coach are compelling and sympathetically drawn characters. Brock's dad is not as fleshed out and comes across as inconsistent. While the baseball action is engaging, the mystery surrounding the father and what he does for a living is never fully explained. This lack of resolution may hint at future installments.—Brenda Kahn, Tenakill Middle School, Closter, NJ
The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Engrossing.”
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2013-12-24
A teenage baseball star struggles not only with game-day stress, but also with the ever-present fear that his world is about to end. Brock Nickerson, whose name was Tommy last week, has more than his fair share of problems. Just like plenty of other kids, he worries about finals, baseball and bullies, but he also has to think about which microwave meal he'll heat up for himself for dinner and when his dad will announce it's time for them to leave again. For good. His dad's job is mysterious and dangerous, and it requires them to stay on the run. Moving abruptly has only gotten harder as Brock gets older, and when he finds a great baseball coach and a good friend—and a potential girlfriend—the thought of leaving it all behind terrifies him even more. Best-selling author and former NFL defensive end Green delivers a riveting book about the complexities of being a teenager caught in unusual circumstances beyond his control. His writing is both compelling and intelligent, and even the implausible scenes—like a visit from a baseball great—still maintain a feel of authenticity. Even readers who aren't sports fans will find plenty of familiar drama and entertainment in this book. Exciting, romantic and thought-provoking, this book scores a home run. (Fiction. 10-14)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062208743
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/04/2014
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
193,857
File size:
851 KB
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He's the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green's Unstoppable, a book about a boy's struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, "Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read."

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

New Kid 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
KRAVFUN More than 1 year ago
I am a 12 year old kid who reads 1 book in 1-2 days and I was so into this book that I finished it in about 3 hours. I have read almost all of Tim Green's books and this by far was my favorite. This book is about a boy who is an amazing baseball player. He can hit, pitch, and catch, all the talents needed to be a great baseball player. But, his dad makes him move and change his name almost once a year. So at one of his games he is up at bat and his dad comes and tells him to go with him and they drive for 3 hours. He hates it but goes to a new school and signs up for a new travel baseball team. Being a softball player myself I definitely connected to this book. But no matter how old you are, or if you play softball, baseball, or neither this book will put a tear in your eye. I definitley recommend this book for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rrecomend it to bseball players out there that love the game. This book is also a confidence booster for baseball especially, but for other sports as well.
Nanifan17 More than 1 year ago
One of Tim Green's best yet.
Anonymous 12 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good book you should read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BROCK IS BEAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What's all the jibberish about? Is it a good book or not? Is it appropriate for kids? I JUST WANT TO KNOW IF IT'S GOOD OR NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MAN PEOPLE!!! I also know how to spell, and those are not words. All except for the first review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
utx htfj yfvjyfvjygviuykuvyoyhou
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jjjjjjjjj