New Music: A Trilogy by Reynolds Price, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
New Music: A Trilogy

New Music: A Trilogy

by Reynolds Price

View All Available Formats & Editions

Includes August Snow, Night Dance and Better Days.


Includes August Snow, Night Dance and Better Days.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
An observant and compassionate writer, Price has published in about every literary genre available. In the three interrelated plays of New Music , he continues the characteristically wise, gentle storymaking first displayed in A Long and Happy Life (1962). Set in eastern North Carolina, the sequence studies Neal and Taw Avery, and their close companions, during three telling periods over 37 years. The Averys work through an early marital crisis, late self-awakenings, death and ghosts, and the fate of a family home. Price showcases his craft for distinctive, precise dialog with powerful tensions quietly audible under codified courtesy and wit. A good addition to contemporary drama collections and libraries where Price is popular.-- Janet Ingraham, Spartanburg Cty. P.L., S.C.

Product Details

Theatre Communications Group
Publication date:
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >