New Orleans Guitar

New Orleans Guitar


JSP's New Orleans Guitar compiles four CDs of performances by Smiley Lewis, Guitar Slim, and T-Bone Walker. It's hard to go wrong with these 102 recordings cut between 1947 and 1955. The tracks have been remastered, making the majoritySee more details below


JSP's New Orleans Guitar compiles four CDs of performances by Smiley Lewis, Guitar Slim, and T-Bone Walker. It's hard to go wrong with these 102 recordings cut between 1947 and 1955. The tracks have been remastered, making the majority of this material sound great. Unlike other packages of this type, the liner notes are informative, listing personnel, dates, and a concise history without going on ad nauseam. As an extra bonus this is a budget-priced set, making it highly recommended, especially for the blues novice.

Product Details

Release Date:
Jsp Records


Disc 1

  1. Turn on Your Volume Baby
  2. Here Comes Smiley
  3. Tee Nah Nah
  4. Lowdown
  5. Slide Me Down
  6. Growing Old
  7. If You Ever Loved a Woman
  8. Dirty People
  9. Where Were You
  10. My Baby
  11. Sad Life
  12. Bee's Boogie
  13. Don't Jive Me
  14. My Baby Was Right
  15. The Bells Are Ringing
  16. Lillie Mae
  17. You're Gonna Miss Me
  18. Gypsy Blues
  19. You're Not the One
  20. Gumbo Blues
  21. Ain't Gonna Do It
  22. It's So Peaceful
  23. Caldonia's Party
  24. Lonesome Highway
  25. Standing on the Corner
  26. Oh Baby

Disc 2

  1. Big Mamou
  2. Play Girl
  3. I Love You for Sentimental Reasons
  4. Lying Woman
  5. Little Fernandez
  6. It's Music
  7. Show Me the Way
  8. Down the Road
  9. Blue Monday
  10. The Rocks
  11. That Certain Door
  12. Nobody Knows
  13. Can't Stop Loving You
  14. Ooh La La
  15. Too Many Drivers
  16. Lost Weekend
  17. Jailbird
  18. Farewell
  19. Real Gone Lover
  20. Bumpity Bump
  21. I Hear You Knocking
  22. I Can't Fly (Date with an Angel)
  23. My Love (She's Gone)
  24. Low and Lonesome
  25. Country Woman

Disc 3

  1. Bad Luck Is on Me  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  2. New Arrival  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  3. Standin' at the Station  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  4. Cryin' in the Mornin'  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  5. The Things I Used to Do
  6. Well I Done Got Over It  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  7. The Story of My Life  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  8. Letter to My Girlfriend  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  9. Trouble Don't Last  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  10. Later for You Baby  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  11. Bad Luck Blues  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  12. Twenty-Five Lies  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  13. Sufferin' Mind
  14. Stand by Me  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  15. Guitar Slim  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  16. Our Only Child  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  17. Reap What You Sow  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  18. I Want to Love-A You  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  19. Think It Over  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  20. Quicksand  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  21. You're Gonna Miss Me  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  22. I Got Sumpin' for You  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  23. Certainly All  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  24. Going Down Slow  - Roosevelt Paul Brown
  25. Something to Remember You By  - Roosevelt Paul Brown

Disc 4

  1. Long Distance Blues
  2. Got No Use for You
  3. I'm Still in Love with You
  4. Railroad Station Blues
  5. When the Sun Goes Down
  6. Pony Tail
  7. Wanderin' Heart
  8. I'll Always Be in Love with You
  9. Win-O
  10. Do Unto Others
  11. Every Dog Has His Day
  12. Hurry, Hurry
  13. Eyes Full of Tears
  14. I Need Your Love
  15. You Know -- Yeah
  16. Runnin' Wild
  17. My Idea About You
  18. I Got News for You
  19. Baby Don't You Cry
  20. Don't Break My Heart
  21. Wondering Why
  22. Yours Truly
  23. I Must Go On
  24. Be Faithful
  25. Blues Before Dawn
  26. Don't Go

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pee Wee Crayton   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Ray Charles   Piano
Oscar Moore   Drums
Dave Bartholomew   Trumpet,Track Performer
Smiley Lewis   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
T-Bone Walker   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Tiny Brown   Vocals
Cornelius Coleman   Drums
Baby Davis   Vocals
Fats Domino   Piano
Salvadore Doucette   Piano
Wendell DuConge   Alto Saxophone
Frank Fields   Bass
Gus Fontenette   Alto Saxophone
Clarence Ford   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Edward Frank   Piano
Herb Hardesty   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Joe Harris   Alto Saxophone
Waldron "Frog" Joseph   Trombone
Lloyd Lambert   Bass
Ernest McLean   Guitar
Frank Mitchell   Trumpet
Walter Nelson   Guitar
Earl Palmer   Drums
Joe Robichaux   Piano
Joe Tillman   Tenor Saxophone
Isidore "Tuts" Washington   Piano
Clarence Hall   Tenor Saxophone
Oett "Sax" Mallard   Tenor Saxophone
Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns   Piano
Charles Burbank   Tenor Saxophone
Lawrence Cotton   Piano
Joseph "Papa John"   Bass
Roosevelt Paul Brown   Trumpet
Luther Hill   Saxophone
Herman Seale   Drums
Willie Nettles   Drums
Lee Allen Orchestra   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Gerard   Piano

Technical Credits

Pee Wee Crayton   Composer
Guitar Slim   Composer
Dave Bartholomew   Composer
Smiley Lewis   Composer
Bud Green   Composer
Harry Ruby   Composer
Neil Slaven   Liner Notes
Sam H. Stept   Composer
Snooky Young   Composer
Toppers   Vocal Group
Pearl King   Composer
Toppers   Vocal Group

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >