×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nickel Bay Nick
     

Nickel Bay Nick

5.0 2
by Dean Pitchford
 

See All Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli and Gary D. Schmidt, this heartfelt coming-of-age story will make you believe in the power of second chances.
 
Eleven-year-old Sam Brattle is already having the worst Christmas ever – his dad’s bakery is going bankrupt and his mom is spending the holidays with her new family. To make things worse,

Overview

Perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli and Gary D. Schmidt, this heartfelt coming-of-age story will make you believe in the power of second chances.
 
Eleven-year-old Sam Brattle is already having the worst Christmas ever – his dad’s bakery is going bankrupt and his mom is spending the holidays with her new family. To make things worse, Nickel Bay Nick, the anonymous Good Samaritan who leaves hundred-dollar bills around Nickel Bay at Christmastime, is a no-show, so this year the rest of the town is as miserable as Sam. When he stumbles upon the secret identity of this mysterious do-gooder, Sam is stunned to learn that he might now be his town’s only hope. But before he can rescue Nickel Bay, Sam has to learn the skills of a spy and unravel some even darker secrets that will change his life forever.

"Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar's Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt's Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011).... This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round."—School Library Journal

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for Nickel Bay Nick:

"Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar's Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt's Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011). In the best tradition of Christmas stories, it's a bit of a tearjerker as Sam discovers just why Mr. Wells cares so much about him and learns to forgive his own parents. This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round."
School Library Journal

"Sam’s a great, well-realized kid, and readers will root for him every step of the way... Crime does pay off—to the benefit of others—in this enjoyable novel."
Kirkus Reviews
 
Accolades for Dean Pitchford:

Captain Nobody has been nominated for 13 State Award lists: FL, IL, KS, MN, MO, NH, NM (2 separate years), NY, OK, SC, TN, VA. Audio edition was nominated for a 2010 Grammy Award in the Best Spoken Word for Children category.

The Big One-Oh has been nominated for 5 State Award Lists: KS, MD, MO, NH, SC. Audio edition was nominated for a 2007 Grammy Award in the Best Spoken Word for Children category.

School Library Journal
10/01/2013
Gr 4–7—Eleven-year-old Sam, puny after the one-two punch of a heart transplant and his mother's abandonment of the family, is one bad move away from juvie. He freely expresses his anger toward his father and the world with bitterness and vandalism. On Christmas night, he damages the house of a rich recluse, and, to avoid arrest, Sam and his father agree that he will work to pay for his destruction. It turns out that Mr. Wells, confined to a wheelchair by a broken leg, has been the anonymous benefactor of the depressed town of Nickel Bay, handing out $100 bills each Christmas. This year, the residents have sorely missed the visit of "Nickel Bay Nick" and it is Sam's mission to become his town's secret St. Nick. To succeed he must follow orders, see the world from others' perspective, and earn the respect of his new mentor. Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar's Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt's Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011). In the best tradition of Christmas stories, it's a bit of a tearjerker as Sam discovers just why Mr. Wells cares so much about him and learns to forgive his own parents. This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round.—Anne Connor, formerly at Los Angeles Public Library
Kirkus Reviews
2013-09-15
A kid discovers the identity of his depressed town's anonymous benefactor and ends up learning some secrets about himself. Eleven-year-old Sam Brattle, embittered at having the lousiest Christmas ever--and with a heart transplant and extensive history of larceny behind him--is blackmailed by his mysterious neighbor into taking on the role of Nickel Bay's homegrown secret Santa, the titular Nickel Bay Nick. Wealthy Mr. Wells has stealthily been distributing $100 bills around town at Christmastime for years, boosting the spirits and fortunes of its economically discouraged citizens. This year, laid up with a broken leg and possessing a weighty dossier of Sam's crimes, which threaten to remove Sam from his struggling single dad's care, Mr. Wells needs someone crafty and nimble-fingered to do the deed for him--i.e., Sam, who can't afford to refuse. What ensues adds up to a fast-paced adventure, narrated by Sam in the first person, that's filled with humor, excitement, some shady characters, secrets, Sam's growing maturity and some deep emotional pain. There's a real cinematic feel here--Pitchford also writes for the screen and stage--and there's a certain amount of implausibility, predictability and coincidence, yet these contrivances don't mar this well-written tale. Sam's a great, well-realized kid, and readers will root for him every step of the way. A surprising, poignant twist at the end explains Mr. Wells' true motives for involving Sam and brings about a satisfying, uplifting finale. Crime does pay off--to the benefit of others--in this enjoyable novel. (Fiction. 9-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780147512277
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
10/16/2014
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
107,822
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
Praise for NICKEL BAY NICK:
 
From SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL:
“Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar’s Holes and Gary D. Schmidt’s Okay for Now.”
 
 
From KIRKUS REVIEWS:
“There’s a real cinematic feel here—Pitchford also writes for the screen and stage . . . . Sam’s a great, well-realized kid, and readers will root for him every step of the way. A surprising, poignant twist at the end explains Mr. Wells’ true motives for involving Sam and brings about a satisfying, uplifting finale. Crime does pay off—to the benefit of others—in this enjoyable novel.”
 
 
—————————————————————————————————————————————————-
 
Praise for Dean Pitchford’s CAPTAIN NOBODY:
 
From KIRKUS REVIEWS:
“…the humor and compassion are sure to appeal to reluctant readers.”
 
 
From PUBLISHERS WEEKLY:
Pitchford builds suspense adeptly . . . the young narrator’s earnest voice—and his raw sense of helplessness—are real and affecting.”
 
 
From SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL:
“[Captain Nobody] reads like a summertime feel-good movie. Kids who have longed for their own superhero powers will eat this up.

Meet the Author

Dean Pitchford is the author of Captain Nobody and The Big One-Oh and also an Oscar®-winning songwriter. He wrote the lyrics to the Oscar®-winning song “Fame,” and the screenplay and lyrics for the hit movie Footloose. Most recently, he has been involved with the stage musical version and new film adaptation of Footloose as well as the new Broadway revival of the musical, Carrie. Visit him online at www.deanpitchford.com or on Twitter @DeanPitchford1.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nickel Bay Nick 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
memaJ More than 1 year ago
there is lots to discuss with young people about choices to be made when there are events in your life. The characters are real and the story is interesting and exciting. It is a fun book to read aloud.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Sam Brattle was not a happy kid. His dad’s business is not working out, his mom left and Sam is pretty much miserable. One night when he was angry at his dad for not telling him that his mom remarried, Sam was out breaking windows at an abandoned warehouse. The police show up but Sam gets away by climbing into the neighbor’s yard. When he fell out of a tree he destroyed Mr. Well’s (the neighbor’s) Christmas decorations and Sam is forced to work to pay them off. Little did Sam know that he is about to be caught up in a seven-year-old secret involving the town’s legendary Christmas do-gooder Nickel Bay Nick who is strangely missing this year. Sam soon learns that the fate of the entire town rests on him. For as much as I was looking forward to reading this book, I am happy to say, Mr. Pitchford did not disappoint! This is an awesome book! Sam is a great main character. He’s pretty cool and very sneaky. I love how Sam is a bad kid but he’s forced into doing something really good (let’s just say blackmail is involved). I like how Sam’s character changes in the story. The plot is full of action and Mr. Pitchford’s writing style is exciting with just he right amount of details. The book not only has the action and spy stuff a kid like me likes, it also has a great story with characters that I ended up caring about. This is a middle grade Must Read! *NOTE* I got an ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review