Nightmare Inspector: Yumekui Kenbun, Volume 3

( 3 )

Overview

• Nightmare Inspector is from Square Enix, the Japanese publisher of Fullmetal Alchemist and Final Fantasy.
• For fans of Kaori Yuki (Angel Sanctuary, The Cain Saga, Godchild)
• For fans of Neil Gaiman's Sandman and DC's classic House of Mystery/House of Secrets
• First VIZ Media shojo title aimed at boys and girls. The story is shonen, and the art is shojo.
• Self-contained storylines in each volume so readers can jump in at any volume number.

For those who suffer nightmares, help awaits at the Silver Star Tea ...

See more details below
Paperback (Original)
$8.14
BN.com price
(Save 18%)$9.99 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (21) from $1.99   
  • New (5) from $5.15   
  • Used (16) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

• Nightmare Inspector is from Square Enix, the Japanese publisher of Fullmetal Alchemist and Final Fantasy.
• For fans of Kaori Yuki (Angel Sanctuary, The Cain Saga, Godchild)
• For fans of Neil Gaiman's Sandman and DC's classic House of Mystery/House of Secrets
• First VIZ Media shojo title aimed at boys and girls. The story is shonen, and the art is shojo.
• Self-contained storylines in each volume so readers can jump in at any volume number.

For those who suffer nightmares, help awaits at the Silver Star Tea House, where patrons can order much more than just Darjeeling. Hiruko is a special kind of private investigator. He's a dream eater. And he'll rid you of your darkest visions…for a price.

Dreams on the menu in this volume: an amnesiac with a misplaced sister, a voice actor who can no longer be heard, a wall that blocks true love, an author with a mystical case of writer's block, and a boy who literally masks his feelings.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

This manga fantasy about the dark side of dreaming is set in 1920s Japan at the Silver Star Tea House. Owner Mizuki Asahina is kind and gentle, but the shop's customers come to see Hiruko the Baku, an immortal, not-quite-human young man who can enter into people's nightmares and help solve the problems causing them. He takes as his fee the nightmares themselves, which are his only sustenance. In this third of nine volumes, Hiruko's help is sought by a man searching for his missing sister; a silent film narrator losing the power of speech, one syllable at a time; an heiress who's being forced into marriage; a famous writer with an awful secret; and a boy whose expression never changes. Sometimes Hiruko facilitates a happy resolution; more often, there's a macabre or sorrowful twist ending. Mashiba's artwork features attractive shojo character designs and ornately detailed settings. His dreamscapes exhibit an uncommon stylistic diversity: one is drawn in the style of a map, another features only a spiral of text. There's occasional gore, but this is accurately rated "T" for teens. Recommended for fans of Clamp's xxxHOLiC(Vol. 4, LJ7/05) and for shojo readers in search of chills.
—Steve Raiteri

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781421517605
  • Publisher: VIZ Media LLC
  • Publication date: 8/12/2008
  • Series: Nightmare Inspector: Yumekui Kenbun Series, #3
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 210
  • Sales rank: 639,129
  • Product dimensions: 5.00 (w) x 7.40 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

Shin Mashiba's first manga, Yumekui Kenbun (Nightmare Inspector), premiered in Monthly Stencile, a shojo magazine, in December 2001 and was then serialized in Monthly G Fantasy from 2003 to 2007.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Love these books :)

    Love these books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)