Nine Kinds of Naked

Nine Kinds of Naked

3.8 6
by Tony Vigorito
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Do you believe in synchronicity?

Can one breath of wind change many lives across space and time?

A prisoner spins a playing card into a somersault, stirring a wind that becomes a tornado that takes off the roof of a church in nearby Normal, Illinois. Elizabeth Wildhack is born in that church and someday she will meet that prisoner, a man named Diablo, on

See more details below

Overview

Do you believe in synchronicity?

Can one breath of wind change many lives across space and time?

A prisoner spins a playing card into a somersault, stirring a wind that becomes a tornado that takes off the roof of a church in nearby Normal, Illinois. Elizabeth Wildhack is born in that church and someday she will meet that prisoner, a man named Diablo, on the streets of New Orleans—where a hurricane-like Great White Spot hovers off the coast. But how is it all interconnected? And what does it have to do with a time-traveling serf and a secret society whose motto is "Walk away"?

"Nine Kinds of Naked is innocent, whimsical, sometimes silly even, but filled with the freshness and the freewheeling independence that made Vigorito’s reputation."—Kris Saknussemm, author of Zanesville

"A wildly spinning tornado of beautiful fresh air." -Chris Genoa, author of Foop!

Praise for Just a Couple of Days:

"Just a Couple of Days is a lyrical, thoughtful, viral meme of a book. Read it!"—Christopher Moore, author of You Suck

TONY VIGORITO is the author of the underground classic. A former professor who taught social theory at Ohio University and Antioch College, he now lives in Austin, Texas. Visit www.TonyVigorito.com.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Booklist

"Comparisons of this novel to the works of Tom Robbins are both obvious and appropriate: the story meanders around in an entertaining manner, never getting too serious about itself; the characters are splendidly loopy, close to caricature but never quite reaching it, and the situations in which they find themselves are comic, dramatic, and everything in between."

Texas Monthly

Channeling the spirited humor of Douglas Adams’s 'The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy' series, Vigorito suspends the rules of time and space . . . Vigorito’s is a crisp, sardonic voice.

The Daily Texan

Vigorito writes in adjective-rich prose...[the] style makes for a lyrical adventure that complements the surreal plot.

The Sacramento Book Review

Part quirky love story, part philosophical manifesto, and part metaphysical mystery, Nine Kinds of Naked is almost more musical dance than written word. Tony Vigorito’s book on life, and those things outside the boundaries of the traditional plane, is right at home with the works of Tom Robbins and Christopher Moore...a quizzical and psychedelic look at the nature of the Butterfly Eff ect."

The Knight News

[F]illed with style and sarcasm. Incredibly, this is one of the few novels one could pick up at any arbitrary page and enjoy....Nine Kinds of Naked is an imaginative, amusing dive into the (literal) eye of a storm and is a fresh take on the "six degrees" theory.

The American-Statesman

Nine Kinds of Naked will remind many readers of such mischiefmakers as Tom Robbins, Douglas Adams, Kurt Vonnegut, and Robert Anton Wilson.

From the Publisher

"A novel of ideas that also happens to be entertaining. And yes, fun. And like those maverick classics, Alice in Wonderland and GargantuaNine Kinds of Naked is as fanciful and inventive in its form, its structure, as it is in its observations." --Tom Robbins

"Linguistic gymnastics abound... Vigorito demonstrates once again that he's a wild stylist... startlingly original... an entertaining anarchist..." --The Chicago Sun-Times

PRAISE FOR JUST A COUPLE OF DAYS

"Just a Couple of Days is a lyrical, thoughtful, viral meme of a book. Read it!"—Christopher Moore, author of Lamb and A Dirty Job

 

author of Alternadad - Neal Pollack

"With this strange carnival of a book, Vigorito has scored himself a permanent plot in the neighborhood of the American surrealist novel. The breadth of his imagination and the sheer exuberance of his writing cannot be ignored."

author of The Last Witchfinder and The Philosopher's Apprentice - James Morrow

"Nine Kinds of Naked offers ten distinct varieties of literary satisfaction, including metaphysical highjinks, libidinous lowjinks, hermeneutic mind games, Gordian plot twists, cognitive estrangement, linguistic surrealism, stylistic pyrotechnics, laugh-out-loud jokes, scrappy extrapolations, and the synergistic sum of the above. Acquire and read this demented epic before God has a chance to do so, for he is certain to condemn its polymorphous pleasures as sinful."

author of Pest Control and Highway 61 Resurfaced - Bill Fitzhugh

"Nine Kinds of Naked is a philosophical examination of the Butterfly Effect and the proposition that love is indestructible. It's a tale of consequence, causation, and the logical fallacy of post hoc ergo propter hoc. It's like scuffling with a naked and unreasonably cheerful version of yourself in a time not of your own choosing. It's safe to say that no one corrupts the space-time continuum like Tony Vigorito."

author of Zanesville - Kris Saknussemm

"Tony Vigorito has grown a cult following of thousands for one reason--his stuff is fun to read. It's hallucinogenic. It's innocent, whimsical, sometimes silly even, but filled with the freshness and the freewheeling independence that made his reputation."

author of Foop! - Chris Genoa

"Nine Kinds of Naked is a wildly spinning tornado of beautiful fresh air. It'll blow its quixotic winds up your nose and make even the most cynical want to tear off their clothes and dance buck naked in the streets."

Publishers Weekly

Fans of Vigorito's originally self-published 2007 cult hit Just a Couple of Days will have a ball with this hyperactive, zany novel. Twenty-year-old drifter Diablo spies on Bridget Snapdragon, the pagan wife of a Normal, Ill., actuary, skinny dipping in her backyard creek. He is soon arrested, and while in jail, flips a playing card onto the back of a bee, setting in motion an atmospheric disturbance that begets the storm of the century. Meanwhile, a select group of misfits are unknowingly thrown into the storm's path. There's J.J. Speed, a priest turned special agent after becoming "insane from celibacy"; Elizabeth Wildhack, Bridget's stripper daughter; Billy Pronto, a man who speaks in terms of the here and now only; and Clovis, a ninth-century serf, who, with the aid of gnomes, time-travels to Normal. Vigorito has no trouble stringing together words and writes goofball fiction as well as anyone, but the book's time shifts, innumerable eccentricities, chaotic narrative and 400 pages are enough to wear a reader out. (Oct.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Kirkus Reviews
From Vigorito (Just a Couple of Days, 2007), another whimsical tale of time, space, coincidence and cause and effect. The author displays most of the linguistic acrobatics and playful rumination that made his debut a cult classic. The plot, such as it is, jumps across centuries and features a motley assortment of fools and philosophers: Clovis, a ninth-century serf who unties a magical knot in a strap of leather, unleashing a world of enchanting gnomes; Dr. Rip Blossom, an "ob-gyn striptease fiend" obsessed with the performer Betty Boobs (aka Elizabeth Wildhack, a freewheeling stripper fascinated by the concept of synchronicity); Father J.J. Speed, who renounces the cloth to become the skilled dopehead-wrangler Special Agent Speed; and Diablo, a New Orleans-based street vendor and long-winded conversationalist who may or may not have an altar ego named Billy Pronto. In the tradition of Douglas Adams and Tom Robbins, much of the book is given over to philosophic musings about the connection among all things: " . . . all physical sensation was overwhelmed by the fundamental vibration of being, shining like the sun and chiming like a chorus of nightingales as her self-perception became nothing more than a kaleidoscopically unfurling column of love." But Vigorito doesn't offer the cohesion or acuity of Adams and Robbins, and many narrative strands are either dropped or overblown into repetitive dialogue about love, sex, joy, imagination, natural harmony, etc. What effect did Clovis's actions have on the characters in the present? Was Elizabeth's birth during a violent tornado in Normal, Ill., connected to her later meeting (and coupling) with Diablo, who experienced the very same storm? Andhow to explain the "Great White Spot," a super-hurricane operating outside the normal principles of weather that's hovering off the coast of New Orleans? These are only a few of the questions left unanswered in this sprawling, shaggy novel. A step back after a promising debut. Hopefully Vigorito will put his poetic prose and expansive vision to more disciplined use in the future.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780156031233
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
10/06/2008
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
365,885
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >