No Hero

No Hero

3.7 14
by Jonathan Wood
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Barnes and Noble listed No Hero as one of the 20 best paranormal fantasy novels of the last decade - now available in mass market paperback!

"What would Kurt Russell do?" 

Oxford police detective Arthur Wallace asks himself that question a lot. Because Arthur is no hero. He's a good cop, but prefers that action and heroics remain on the screen,

See more details below

Overview

Barnes and Noble listed No Hero as one of the 20 best paranormal fantasy novels of the last decade - now available in mass market paperback!

"What would Kurt Russell do?" 

Oxford police detective Arthur Wallace asks himself that question a lot. Because Arthur is no hero. He's a good cop, but prefers that action and heroics remain on the screen, safely performed by professionals. 

But then, secretive government agency MI12 comes calling, hoping to recruit Arthur in their struggle against the tentacled horrors from another dimension known as the Progeny. 

But Arthur is NO HERO! Can an everyman stand against sanity-ripping cosmic horrors?

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Perfect summer read." - SciFi Mafia

"A fun, pulpy adventure novel with a healthy dose of stylized horror. The first in a trilogy, it’s a worthy origin story for unlikely hero Arthur Wallace." - Paper Droids

"A fast, well written action urban fantasy filled with healthy lashings of British humour and plenty of madness." - Upcoming4.me

"Action packed from start to finish." - City of Films 

"The adventure is high, the pace frenetic, the characters deep, and the horrors cosmic. Whether your bag is otherwordly horror or police action, you’ll be equally satisfied with this read. I, for one, am absolutely sold on this writer, this story, and this series, and I am looking forward with very tight pants for the upcoming sequel." - Project Fandom

"Very rarely do I read a review book straight through, without interruptions. Very rarely do I set aside household chores and ignore my cat to read through a book. This was the case with No Hero.  I found myself enjoying the book so much." - Geek Girl Project 

"No Hero’s pacing is damn near flawless." - Bullet Reviews 

"I just read and thoroughly enjoyed Jonathan Wood's No Hero" - Super Punch

Publishers Weekly
Arthur Wallace is a British police detective who stumbles into a monster infestation being fought by MI37, a tiny secret branch of the government that he joins. Surrounded by eccentric agents and researchers, Arthur wades gamely into the unknown, armed only with his police training and his all-purpose mantra "What Would Kurt Russell do?" Trying to protect reality on one hand, and a co-worker's innocent young half-Other daughters on the other, forced to cope with undead mad mechanical monks and the inhuman, unimaginably powerful Dreamers who control reality, Agent Wallace and MI37 have their work cut out for them. Wood creates vivid, intensely human characters and his perfect sense of timing keeps the book bounding along at a quick pace. A funny, dark, rip-roaring adventure with a lot of heart, highly recommended for urban fantasy and light science fiction readers alike. (July)
Library Journal
03/15/2014
Taking the actor Kurt Russell as his spirit guide hasn't worked out so well for Oxford police detective Arthur Wallace, although action-hero skills would come in handy for tracking a suspected serial killer. When Arthur identifies the killer, the truth is much more complicated. Kayla is an agent for a secret government department called MI37, and her vicitms aren't people at all—they are alien hosts called the Progeny. Arthur is recruited to help fight the extraterrestrial forces trying to break through to our dimension in this exciting debut fantasy. VERDICT First published in 2011 by Night Shade Books and repackaged by Titan, this hilarious and action-packed mix of Lovecraftian horror, mystery, and urban fantasy will appeal to fans of Harry Dresden and Charles Stross's "Laundry Files" series. The threat to the world is authentically scary, and the team of misfits in MI37 is a great invention in what should be the first of many outings for Arthur and his crew.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Wood creates vivid, intensely human characters and his perfect sense of timing keeps the book bounding along at a quick pace. A funny, dark, rip-roaring adventure with a lot of heart, highly recommended for urban fantasy and light science fiction readers alike.
barnesandnoble.com - Paul Goat Allen
Impeccably written – literally unputdownable... a psychotropic cocktail of science fiction, urban fantasy, Lovecraftian horror, hard-boiled mystery, and unadulterated man love for Kurt Russell... Unarguably one of the best novels I’ve read so far this year.
Omnivoracious, Amazon.com - Jeff VanderMeer
Sometimes sheer bravado and break-neck pacing can lift up a potential cliché into something more. In the case of Jonathan Wood’s first novel, No Hero, the author has created a riff on supernatural noir that’s rollicking good fun and acknowledges its debts with good humor.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781781168066
Publisher:
Titan
Publication date:
03/11/2014
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
259,025
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.80(h) x 1.30(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >