No Hero

No Hero

3.7 14
by Jonathan Wood
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Barnes and Noble listed No Hero as one of the 20 best paranormal fantasy novels of the last decade - now available in mass market paperback!

"What would Kurt Russell do?" 

Oxford police detective Arthur Wallace asks himself that question a lot. Because Arthur is no hero. He's a good cop, but prefers that action and heroics remain on the screen,

…  See more details below

Overview

Barnes and Noble listed No Hero as one of the 20 best paranormal fantasy novels of the last decade - now available in mass market paperback!

"What would Kurt Russell do?" 

Oxford police detective Arthur Wallace asks himself that question a lot. Because Arthur is no hero. He's a good cop, but prefers that action and heroics remain on the screen, safely performed by professionals. 

But then, secretive government agency MI12 comes calling, hoping to recruit Arthur in their struggle against the tentacled horrors from another dimension known as the Progeny. 

But Arthur is NO HERO! Can an everyman stand against sanity-ripping cosmic horrors?

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Perfect summer read." - SciFi Mafia

"A fun, pulpy adventure novel with a healthy dose of stylized horror. The first in a trilogy, it’s a worthy origin story for unlikely hero Arthur Wallace." - Paper Droids

"A fast, well written action urban fantasy filled with healthy lashings of British humour and plenty of madness." - Upcoming4.me

"Action packed from start to finish." - City of Films 

"The adventure is high, the pace frenetic, the characters deep, and the horrors cosmic. Whether your bag is otherwordly horror or police action, you’ll be equally satisfied with this read. I, for one, am absolutely sold on this writer, this story, and this series, and I am looking forward with very tight pants for the upcoming sequel." - Project Fandom

"Very rarely do I read a review book straight through, without interruptions. Very rarely do I set aside household chores and ignore my cat to read through a book. This was the case with No Hero.  I found myself enjoying the book so much." - Geek Girl Project 

"No Hero’s pacing is damn near flawless." - Bullet Reviews 

"I just read and thoroughly enjoyed Jonathan Wood's No Hero" - Super Punch

Publishers Weekly
Arthur Wallace is a British police detective who stumbles into a monster infestation being fought by MI37, a tiny secret branch of the government that he joins. Surrounded by eccentric agents and researchers, Arthur wades gamely into the unknown, armed only with his police training and his all-purpose mantra "What Would Kurt Russell do?" Trying to protect reality on one hand, and a co-worker's innocent young half-Other daughters on the other, forced to cope with undead mad mechanical monks and the inhuman, unimaginably powerful Dreamers who control reality, Agent Wallace and MI37 have their work cut out for them. Wood creates vivid, intensely human characters and his perfect sense of timing keeps the book bounding along at a quick pace. A funny, dark, rip-roaring adventure with a lot of heart, highly recommended for urban fantasy and light science fiction readers alike. (July)
Library Journal
03/15/2014
Taking the actor Kurt Russell as his spirit guide hasn't worked out so well for Oxford police detective Arthur Wallace, although action-hero skills would come in handy for tracking a suspected serial killer. When Arthur identifies the killer, the truth is much more complicated. Kayla is an agent for a secret government department called MI37, and her vicitms aren't people at all—they are alien hosts called the Progeny. Arthur is recruited to help fight the extraterrestrial forces trying to break through to our dimension in this exciting debut fantasy. VERDICT First published in 2011 by Night Shade Books and repackaged by Titan, this hilarious and action-packed mix of Lovecraftian horror, mystery, and urban fantasy will appeal to fans of Harry Dresden and Charles Stross's "Laundry Files" series. The threat to the world is authentically scary, and the team of misfits in MI37 is a great invention in what should be the first of many outings for Arthur and his crew.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781781168066
Publisher:
Titan
Publication date:
03/11/2014
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
258,337
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.80(h) x 1.30(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jonathan Wood is an Englishman in New York. He has written short stories for The Best of Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Chizine, and Weird Tales. No Hero is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

No Hero 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
dalnewt More than 1 year ago
This book features an engaging/sympathetic protagonist, a quirky supporting cast, frantic and plentiful action, morphing and wonderfully detestable monsters, innovative magic and a truly ingenious plot. The pace alternates between fast and faster, and the plot twists are surprising and unbelievably clever. The book culminates in a spectacular and evolving confrontation. Everything about this book entertains including the humorously dry voice of the protagonist and the truly diabolical plot. It's a great read which I highly recommend.
EverReaderBC More than 1 year ago
A very well written and enjoyable read. For those who enjoy Charles Stross this is a definite read. I look forward to more from this author.
Alan Campbell More than 1 year ago
WWKRD? What would Kurt Russell do? A police detective who gets sucked into a paranormal apocalypse. Having left sanity behind he tries to fight evil like the 80's action movie hero. He ends up more Jack Burton than Gabriel Cash but he carries on against overwhelming odds. Fun to read and a great ending.
Qwillery More than 1 year ago
No Hero is essentially a book about an ordinary man trying to grapple with the unfathomable. Arthur Wallace is a police detective in Oxford, England going about the business of solving crimes when he becomes involved in something extraordinary. He's then recruited by M137, an understaffed British government agency that deals with the Progeny and their threat to Earth. The Progeny are tentacled nightmares from another dimension. They are Lovecraftian in their creepiness. While they are presently not on Earth, their agents are. These agents are working to find a way to bring the Progeny to Earth. If that happens, the Earth will be consumed. I really like Arthur Wallace. He's a very engaging character, and I was firmly cheering for him in the fight against the Progeny. Arthur gets through some of the most difficult situations in the story by wondering what Kurt Russell would do. It works for him; it focuses him. sometimes. He is just a regular guy who tries to do what appears to be impossible. He often wonders what he's gotten himself into, but still soldiers on. Arthur's co-workers at M137 are a bit unusual. I truly enjoyed getting to know them. Jonathan Wood does an excellent job developing these characters. Each of Arthur's co-workers is important to the story and the unfolding events as they battle against the Progeny threat. There is even a touch of romance though romance is by no means the focus of the story. No Hero is an exhilarating story with excellent pacing. It is at times humorous, at times thrilling, at times frightening, and at all times a terrific read. I don't know what Kurt Russell would do, but I will definitely read the next book about Arthur Wallace. I give No Hero 4 ½ Qwills. Posted at The Qwillery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great first book. Look forward to more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago