No Matter What

No Matter What

5.0 12
by Debi Gliori, Gliori

View All Available Formats & Editions

I’m grim and grumpy,” says Small to Large, “and I don’t think you love me at all.” But nothing could be further from the truth—and Large knows just how to reassure Small in this warm and tender story about a child’s biggest worry and a parent’s endless capacity for love.
 See more details below


I’m grim and grumpy,” says Small to Large, “and I don’t think you love me at all.” But nothing could be further from the truth—and Large knows just how to reassure Small in this warm and tender story about a child’s biggest worry and a parent’s endless capacity for love.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Gliori (Tell Me Something Happy Before I Go to Sleep) here explores anxiety about the limits of a parent's love--especially whether it can survive a bout of pint-size bad behavior. With a gentle, rhyming text and illustrations that exude a snuggly warmth, she offers a reassuring, though ultimately cloying answer. As bedtime nears, a cute little fox named Small who's feeling "grim and grumpy" (and whose parent, Large, is pictured chatting on the phone) acts out by upturning the living room. When Large asks what's wrong, Small begins interrogating Large (neither character's gender is specified): "If I were a grumpy grizzly bear, would you still love me? Would you still care?" "I'd always love you, no matter what," responds Large. As in books like Lisa McCourt's I Love You, Stinky Face, the child ups the ante with unpleasant scenarios: what if Small were some other ostensibly uncuddly creature, like a squishy bug or a crocodile? "No matter what" comes the answer again--and Gliori's warmly comic depictions of Large's abiding affections drive home the unconditionality of parental love. Unfortunately, Gliori pushes her point a bit too hard with a closing treacly analogy to the light of stars: "We may be close, we may be far,/ but our love still surrounds us.../ wherever we are." Still, few authors wear their hearts on their sleeves so effectively. Ages 2-6. (Oct.) Copyright 1999 Cahners Business Information.
Children's Literature - Jeanne K. Pettenati J.D.
This lovely poem succinctly explains the concept of unconditional love to very young children. Small tests Large by posing hypothetical situations in which he feels that he may lose her love. Large assures him with tender, loving verse that her love is always present, whether they are together or far away from each other. She also lets him know that love can be mended "with time together, a smile, and a kiss...." The bright illustrations carry the story along and have enough detail for careful study. This book would be a thoughtful addition to a child's library. Parents will enjoy the soothing tone and strong message. Readers looking for a book similar to Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney will find it here. Reviewer: Jeanne K. Pettenati, J.D.
Library Journal
PreS-Feeling grumpy, Small, a little fox, has a tantrum that turns the living room topsy-turvy, after which he questions Large about the resiliency and endurance of his parental love-"If I were a grumpy grizzly bear,/would you still love me?/Would you still care?" or "...if I turned into a squishy bug,/would you still love me and give me a hug?" Ever patient, Large reassures him that "I'd always love you,/no matter what...we may be close, we may be far,/but our love still surrounds us.../wherever we are." The charming watercolor illustrations show warm golds and browns with candlelight and fireside indoors and the cold, blue-and-gray night outside. The rhyming text and large, often double-page spreads make this book useful for story programs. There are many recognizable similarities in Small's world and that of a young child's-dinner in a high chair, bath time, bedtime stories, and favorite toys. Great for fans of Barbara Joosse's Mama, Do You Love Me? (Chronicle, 1991) or Sam McBratney's Guess How Much I Love You (Candlewick, 1995).-Marlene Gawron, Orange County Library, Orlando, FL Copyright 1999 Cahners Business Information.

Read More

Product Details

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
Edition description:
1st U.S. Edition
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
9.31(w) x 11.81(h) x 0.38(d)
Age Range:
3 - 6 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

No Matter What 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We absolutely love reading this book to our son. It has also become on of our favorite books to give to friends. The story teaches unconditional love in a unique way that any family member can share with a child. My husband and I like that it is not specific to mom or dad grandma or grandpa but allows anyone to share this special message with our kids. I also like that the pictures are engaging for our 2 year old, and that they are not specific to boys or girls so that we can enjoy it as a family.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
As Small puts it, "I'm grim and grumpy, and I don't think you love me at all."

So begins the story of a small fox, who while feeling grim and grumpy attempts to push the limits as to how far Large's love will go.

Large's love is boundless, though, whether Small would be a grumpy grizzly bear, a squishy bug, or a crocodile. Large's love won't wear out, and with time together it can even be fixed.

The glorious illustrations are what make this the perfect bedtime story, and young children will delight in knowing that a parent's love will always be there - no matter what.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love to read this book to my son. I read it using two different voices - one for the son and one for the mother. This book can be read from new born through age at least 10.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It is tenderly written, beautifully drawn, and hits home.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a beautifully illustrated book about a parent's unconditional love. I read it to my three daughters often. I would definitely recommend it to others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my 22-year-old daughter who is moving to California in two days. I love to give my kids children's books for their milestones.. the simple style and the straight-forward love always makes us cry when we read them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book about unconditional love that my 3-year-old son and I have enjoyed reading at bedtime since he was 1. By not assigning a specific gender to the characters by naming the adult fox 'large' and the young fox 'small,' it allows everyone to relate no matter what their particular situation. The illustrations are vivid and detailed, such as one of a 'squishy bug' trying to eat soup with its many legs, which lead to fun discussions in and of themselves. I've given this book as a gift to a number of friends with children.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have a one year old daughter, and this is our bed-time story. We read it every night, and she loves it! I was having a very hard time getting her to fall asleep on her own, and it really seems like the message this book gives helps. Every time I tell her, 'I love you no-matter what' she lies down and looks happily at me.... In any case, I love the message that this story tells, and I am happy to have it to share with my daughter!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The message is so sweet and important. I wish everyone could have this book read to them atleast once.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have a 2 year and she loves to read this book over and over. Her grandparents, aunts and uncles live far away and this helps remind her that they all love her no matter where she is. The pictures and colors are wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Both my 2yr old son and I's current favorite book. The story tells of how a parent's love is absolute, no matter the appearance or behaviour of the child. The illustations are wonderful and depict both the child's fantasy questions and also the evening ritual of the parent putting the child to sleep. I intend to order two other related titles for my son's Christmas and have already given this book away for both Christmas and birthdays. It will appeal to a broad age range of children. An absolute must!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful message for someone you love no matter what they're age. I can't decide whether to give it to a friend or save it for our baby...probably both!