Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No Pryor Restraint: Life in Concert [7CD/2DVD]

No Pryor Restraint: Life in Concert [7CD/2DVD]

by Richard Pryor
After Rhino's 2000 Richard Pryor box set ...And It's Deep, Too!: The Complete Warner Bros. Recordings (1968-1992) fell out of print, producer Reggie Collins was contacted by the Shout Factory label in an effort to fill that void. Just as mammoth (seven CDs and two DVDs compared to the first set's nine CDs) and just as vital (this


After Rhino's 2000 Richard Pryor box set ...And It's Deep, Too!: The Complete Warner Bros. Recordings (1968-1992) fell out of print, producer Reggie Collins was contacted by the Shout Factory label in an effort to fill that void. Just as mammoth (seven CDs and two DVDs compared to the first set's nine CDs) and just as vital (this is the crafted output of a brutally honest, approachable, hilarious, and groundbreaking comedian's comedian) as Rhino's effort, Shout Factory's No Pryor Restraint: Life in Concert is required listening for aspiring comedians, fans of comedy, those who like to laugh, and those who seek the best of any given art form, but unlike the first set, it's not complete, as only the "best material" from Pryor's albums for Laff, Stax, and Warner Bros. are included. That means some of his recorded work is missing, and while it is not the "Greatest Hits" material that got the axe, a collection of 90-percent of the Beatles' recordings is still missing some very important work, and Pryor's recorded legacy is no different. Know that, and the set provides a long but captivating overview of the comedian's career, beginning with disc one's collecting of the early years 1966-1968. Pryor debuted as an upstart, an experimenter, and an artisan all at once, and there's a tension to be felt on these rare '60s cuts as the cool California audience doesn't know what to make out of guy who rambles rather than just tell jokes. Come disc two you've got the in-your-face -- or foul-mouthed -- Pryor with some recordings for the Stax label and their various-artists set Music from the Wattstax Festival & Film. Disc three pulls from a Soul Train appearance and begins covering the classic Warner era with selections from ...Is It Something I Said?. From here to the audio portion's finish, it's familiar Warner material with plenty of alternative and unreleased recordings to savor, exiting with a wonderful "Ad Libs & Hecklers Montage" plus an interview from 1983. Bonus tracks from ...And It's Deep, plus the early years set Evolution/Revolution, are sprinkled about the track list in chronological order, plus the three DVDs include the blockbuster feature films Live in Concert (1979), Live on the Sunset Strip (1982), and ... Here and Now (1983). The booklet is a treasure, filled with archival photos, interesting essays, and an inspirational intro from Richard's widow, Jennifer Lee Pryor. No Pryor Restraint may not be the last word in Pryor sets, but it's a big, beautiful, and artistically inspiring montage, acting as both a loving tribute and an enticing overview of a man who forever changed comedy while entertaining millions.

Product Details

Release Date:
Shout Factory


Disc 1

  1. Peoria
  2. Improv, Pt. 1
  3. Heart & Brain
  4. Playboy Club
  5. Rumpelstiltskin
  6. Slippin' In Poo Poo
  7. Birth Control
  8. Nigger Babies
  9. Black Power
  10. Super Nigger
  11. I Feel
  12. Jail
  13. Prison Play (AKA Black Ben the Blacksmith)
  14. War Movies
  15. The Army
  16. Army Life
  17. Hippy Dippys
  18. Hank's Place
  19. Improv, Pt. 2
  20. Mankind

Disc 2

  1. Gettin' High
  2. F**K From Memory
  3. Big Tits
  4. Gettin' Some
  5. Ass-Hole
  6. The Line-Up
  7. Religion
  8. Black Preachers
  9. I Spy Cops
  10. Sugar Ray
  11. White Folks
  12. Indians
  13. Black and Proud
  14. Got a Dollar
  15. Dope
  16. Wino Panthers
  17. After Hours
  18. 280 Pound Ass
  19. Crap Game
  20. Blackjack
  21. Whorehouse, Pt. 1
  22. Whorehouse, Pt. 2
  23. Attica (Behind Those Walls)
  24. Wattstax Monologue: Niggers/The Handshake/Rummage Sale/Stylin'/Whitey/"
  25. Fighting
  26. Niggers & Italians
  27. Death
  28. Street Corner Wino
  29. Nigger With a Seizure
  30. Have Your Ass Home By 11:00
  31. Black & White Lifestyles
  32. Exorcist
  33. Wino Dealing With Dracula

Disc 3

  1. Niggers Vs. the Police
  2. The Back Down
  3. Wino & Junkie
  4. Interview
  5. Mudbone (Intro)
  6. Mudbone: Little Feets
  7. Life
  8. My Funeral
  9. Cocaine
  10. Just Us
  11. When Your Woman Leaves You
  12. The Goodnight Kiss
  13. Ali
  14. Our Text For Today
  15. Soul Magazine Promo

Disc 4

  1. Fame, Pt. 1
  2. Patty Hearst
  3. History Lesson
  4. Bicentennial Prayer
  5. Black & White Women
  6. Hillbilly
  7. Our Gang
  8. Our Gang
  9. Acid
  10. Bicentennial Nigger
  11. New Year's Eve
  12. New Year's Eve
  13. White and Black People
  14. Black Funerals
  15. Discipline

Disc 5

  1. Heart Attacks
  2. Dogs and Horses
  3. Jim Brown
  4. Monkeys
  5. Kids
  6. Chinese Food
  7. Being Sensitive
  8. I Don't Give a Fuck
  9. Fame, Pt. 2
  10. Women
  11. Women
  12. Therapy
  13. God

Disc 6

  1. Prison
  2. Africa
  3. Bein' Real
  4. Racism
  5. Opening Night Jitters
  6. Freebase
  7. Hospital
  8. One Day At a Time
  9. Getting Older
  10. Hangin' With Sammy Davis Jr.

Disc 7

  1. Motif the Junkie
  2. Inebriated
  3. I Like Women
  4. Childbirth
  5. M.S.
  6. Ad Libs & Hecklers Montage
  7. Interview

Disc 8

  1. Arrival
  2. White and Black People
  3. Thank You For Coming
  4. New Year's Eve
  5. Dogs
  6. Monkeys
  7. Dogs and Horses
  8. Heart Attacks
  9. Preach, Nigger, Preach!
  10. Black Funerals
  11. Discipline
  12. Nature
  13. Things In the Woods
  14. Deer Hunter
  15. Leon Spinks
  16. Ali
  17. Keeping In Shape
  18. Kids
  19. Lights Up, Please
  20. Chinese Food
  21. Being Sensitive
  22. End Credits

Disc 9

  1. Opening Credits
  2. Women, Pt. 1: Sex
  3. Greed & Money
  4. Lawyers
  5. Cool Clothes
  6. Women, Pt. 2: Relationships
  7. Prison
  8. Racism
  9. Africa
  10. Mafia Club
  11. Mudbone
  12. Freebase
  13. Hospital
  14. End Credits
  15. Opening
  16. Here and Now
  17. Slavery & Southern Hospitality
  18. Cold Weather
  19. Inebriated
  20. I Like Women
  21. One Night Stands, Pt. 1: Strange Women
  22. Foreign Policy
  23. The Motherland
  24. I Met the President/Fire Exit
  25. Mudbone
  26. One Day At a Time, Pt. 1: Fucked Up
  27. Listening To the Crab
  28. Motif the Junkie
  29. One Day At a Time, Pt. 2: No Drugs
  30. I Remember
  31. One Night Stands, Pt. 2: Sexual Issues
  32. Being Famous
  33. End Credits

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Richard Pryor   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Richard Pryor   Composer
Todd Boyd   Essay
Michael Ochs   Photo Courtesy
Reggie Collins   Producer,Liner Notes
Steve Pokorny   Producer
Vinnie Zuffante   Photo Courtesy
Jeffrey A. Greenberg   Executive Producer
Jeff Smith   Art Direction
Quattrocchi   Art Direction
Derek Dressler   Executive Producer
Karrie Stouffer   Art Direction
Brian Blum   Producer
Scott Saul   Essay
Jennifer Lee Pryor   Producer,Essay,Photo Courtesy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews