×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nobody but Us
     

Nobody but Us

3.8 11
by Kristin Halbrook
 

See All Formats & Editions

Will

Maybe I'm too late. Maybe Zoe's dad stole all her fifteen years and taught her to be scared. I'll undo it. Help her learn to be strong again, and brave. Not that I'm any kind of example, but we can learn together.

When the whole world is after you, sometimes it seems like you can't run fast enough.

Zoe

Maybe

Overview

Will

Maybe I'm too late. Maybe Zoe's dad stole all her fifteen years and taught her to be scared. I'll undo it. Help her learn to be strong again, and brave. Not that I'm any kind of example, but we can learn together.

When the whole world is after you, sometimes it seems like you can't run fast enough.

Zoe

Maybe it'll take Will years to come to terms with being abandoned. Maybe it'll take forever. I'll stay with him no matter how long it takes to prove that people don't always leave, don't always give up on you.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
09/01/2013
Gr 9 Up—Two young lovers escape from their unsatisfactory lives, seeking a better one together in Las Vegas. It's a road-trip novel, in a way, with a bit of Bonnie and Clyde, a little nod to Thelma and Louise mixed in. Zoe and Will leave town in a hurry, after an altercation with Zoe's drunk father leaves him knocked out and bleeding on the front porch. Readers will be plagued with doubt over the consequences of this conflict, as is Will, who is only too aware of the riskiness of their actions (including their age difference; he is 18, she is 15). On first glance, the characters seem like stereotypes of teens whom readers have met before. Zoe has no mother and lives with her abusive, alcoholic father. Will was raised in group homes and is prone to fistfights and sudden bursts of violence. What is special about this book, however, is the way that these two young people defy expectations, providing readers with an unexpected and welcome feeling of surprise. Will is unusually tender, conscientious, and selfless, while Zoe has managed to remain rather chaste and naive in spite of her life of hardship. The chapters alternate from his voice to hers, giving a wide-open glimpse into each teen's desires and doubts, of which there are many. The novel cranks up to a heart-pounding finale, perfect for readers who like to be on the edge of their seats, perhaps with a box of Kleenex at hand. Recommended for readers of Lisa McMann's and Patricia McCormick's books.—Nora G. Murphy, Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy, LaCanada-Flintridge, CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062121271
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/29/2013
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
686,761
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Kristin halbrook is the author of Nobody But Us. When she isn't appeasing her sense of wanderlust, she lives in Seattle, where gray skies and good coffee make ideal writing conditions, and where fine company is provided by her husband and a gaggle of pixies.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nobody But Us 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
obody But Us is one of those gripping, darkly beautiful gritty books that I could not look away from, and as the story continued, I knew it was going to break my heart but I still couldn't look away.  I sympathized with Zoe, and could totally see the appeal of Will. It was finally someone who wanted to protect her after a lifetime of her abusive father. It broke my heart to hear what she went through in silence with him as well as her memories of her mom. It was quite a journey to watch Zoe learn more about herself and life in this book, and I hated that she had to continue down the road of hard knocks. I think that she grew so much though, and however hard the decisions she had to make, I still was rooting for her to do the right thing no matter how much it hurt, and ultimately make the choice of following her heart no matter the cost.  The dual narrative was well done. Will had a lot to contribute to this book, and it was nice to be in his head and see how much he cared about Zoe, and his mindframe when he was doing the things he did. Not having to guess his motives, but really seeing where his heart was. His past was also gritty and broke my heart to see the road he'd traveled, and know that there are kids in real life as well that deal with the things he had to...  This is in no way a light and fluffy read, and the ending really reflected that. It shocked me, and like I said earlier, it broke my heart. Kristin Halbrook wrote a story with an end in mind, and I applaud her in writing it and sharing this story.  I also tip my hat because even though I somehow wanted Will and Zoe to succeed because I cared about them and wished that they could have their happy ending, I also knew that bad decisions meant consequences, and you can't run from those forever. It is hard to have me torn like that, and Nobody But Us succeeded.  Bottom Line: Fast paced contemporary that will break your heart. 
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
This is a really unique book. I didn't expect certain twist and turns but in the end, I found that I really enjoyed it. Starting off strong with a violent homes and absentee parents, these two have learned to love and rely on one another. Despite their age difference (15 &18) I can see why it worked so well. They both had nobody but just each other. Just like the title. Their love is strong and enduring with a good example of how love can take you anywhere if you left it. The downward spiral of chaos begins with fear. That's all it takes. There is no concrete evidence, but fear overtakes this couple, sending them the run. The fear escalates in their minds leading them to make bad decisions. These decisions lead to a very distraught ending that I particularly did NOT expect. It's not a HEA but a bittersweet end that I can not get enough of. Just the way that it ended, it made me want to read more into the story. Alas, the story had ended and my curiosity can not be quenched. Nobody But Us is a promising love story that is unique. The potent leading roles of Zoe and Will lead the reader down a road full of action and surprise. An impressive sentimental story, Nobody But Us is great.
Morganjs More than 1 year ago
This book was very emotional, and tough to read at times. There were things in it that weren't pleasant, but I think it was written in a way that made it beautifully portray the tragic lives of these two poor kids.  I really liked the alternating perspectives of the book. It really gave us better insight into what both Zoe and Will were thinking and feeling. I felt better connected to them, and to their stories. They really loved each other, and it became more and more evident as the book went on.  One thing that I did not like about the book was how fast it went. They were just always going. I felt like at times there was not much substance. It was all kind of the same, and then when something big did happen, they moved on from it really quickly. Parts of the book needed to be fast paced, but I would have liked more detail in other parts.  The ending. I am honestly still not sure if I like it or not. It was definitely not what I was expecting that's for sure. My first instinct was that I hated it, but as I think about it I think maybe it was a "good" way for this to end. I am not sure. I'll let you decide for yourselves. I received this book for free in return for an honest review. 
onlyminordetails More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts: This book was one of those I had heard about since the beginning. I love YA Highway and it seems like every author on there has great work. When the opportunity arrived to get this ARC, I thought it was worth giving a shot. The story of Will and Zoe wasn’t exactly what I expected. All I remembered from the synopsis was that they were a modern day Bonnie and Clyde. The depth of their backgrounds and what has lead them to running off like this is intense. The feelings that they both experience during this journey are hard to handle. They are both struggling with what they are doing, what is right and wrong. Despite their constant ups and downs, they still love each other, and it shows. Sure, they have moments that make it seem like they don’t care, but whenever those moments came, all I could think is how realistic it is. They're not perfect. They made mistakes. Some of those mistakes were pretty big. Yet they kept pulling through and heading toward a place they imagined would be better for both of them to start over and spend the rest of their lives together. Nobody But Us is an overwhelmingly intense read. When I was getting close to the end, I could not believe what was happening. And how it ended? To be completely honest, I did not like it one bit. However, that doesn’t change the fact that the story was well written and a very truthful portrayal of young love when times are tough. I look forward to what Kristen Halbrook comes up with next. My Rating: Very Good
Dazzlamb More than 1 year ago
Zoe and Will are young and in love. They both haven't grown up in the most stable environment and without a big family who showed them kindness and understanding. Their problems make them want to run away so badly. And then they do... It's a lot of fuss about nothing. Yes, Will and Zoe didn't have the easiest childhood, far from it, and they are dissatisfied with their current situation. Originally I thought about them running away as an exciting adventure to find themselves and solve their problems. Only along the way offences kept accumulating and things got more out of hand and complicated the longer they ran. But did they do anything to solve their problems and think up a way to make things better? Not at all. They just ran without thinking about the consequences and act without thinking what it could do to others. A dual point of view is implemented to show how troubled both of them are and that they are a perfect match. Their romance was one of the most immature and unfulfilling I've read about in a while, Will and Zoe are not a couple I could make myself sympathize with. 2/5 ** NOBODY BUT US - This is the story of rash and immature Zoe and Will who were not the thrill-seeking, brave and clever couple I was looking foward to meet. Very poor Bonnie and Clyde retelling, without the glamour and brains of their role models. When I first heard about NOBODY BUS US I expected a very intense love story (which it is) but it stressed me out more than it grew on me, ending in a complete disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very hard to read at times I have to admit. Its a dark story, but it had a lot of depth and purpose. You neber get bored throughout the story because they always have something more to tell. Its fast-paced, with no room for boredom. When Will was telling the story you could litterally feel the love he had for Zoe. Its nice to get the chance to see into the boys point of view when reading a story like this. I would reccomend this book to readers who like stories that have that dark tinge to it, and want to get sucked into the story. I cheered for them the whole way through. Beautifully written. Five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only problem was i felt like she gave up on him and then she cried over him It was her fault and its mire like a tragedy then romance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it alot it was nice i loved to read will's side of the story because he explained his love for her and how passionate he was it was a nice story with a unexpexted ending