×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Noggle Stones
     

Noggle Stones

5.0 4
by Radcliffe
 

See All Formats & Editions

In his tortured dreams, the mad goblin scholar, Bugbear, saw the coming war.

Pride would crumble to dust. Glory would melt to tears. Wisdom would shatter to madness. And the shadows would reign supreme.

Only an eldritch scroll, a humble bee, and Bugbear's awkward human apprentice could win this desperate struggle...a conflict that began in a time now

Overview

In his tortured dreams, the mad goblin scholar, Bugbear, saw the coming war.

Pride would crumble to dust. Glory would melt to tears. Wisdom would shatter to madness. And the shadows would reign supreme.

Only an eldritch scroll, a humble bee, and Bugbear's awkward human apprentice could win this desperate struggle...a conflict that began in a time now remembered only in faded parchments, fractured whispers, and a children's rhyme...

"White, Gray, and Black Stones
Scattered 'Cross the Board
Now You Must Unite Them
To Become The Noggle Lord!"

"Clever and original!"
--P.C. Hodgell, author of The GOD STALK Series

"If talent, perseverance, and a corking good story mean anything, Wil Radcliffe's Noggle Stones will delight readers of any age. In the tradition of Tolkien and Rowling, Wil carves out his own territory in the fantasy genre with this fast-paced, richly peopled tale. Noggle Stones cries out for a sequel, which I'm already very much looking forward to."
--Ernie Colon, co-creator of AMETHYST: PRINCESS OF GEMWORLD, and artist of RICHIE RICH

www.nogglestones.com

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780595282746
Publisher:
iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date:
08/12/2003
Pages:
224
Product dimensions:
6.04(w) x 9.16(h) x 0.64(d)
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Noggle Stones 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
brp19amp21 More than 1 year ago
The writer has great writing skills. The book captured my attention from page one through the very last page. Left me wanting and waiting for the next book. The writer was able to bring the character to life in his book, not just another character. You can feel what they feel and the anticipation of what is next is amazing. At times the writing made my heart beat faster not knowing what was going to happen. A definate read over and over again, one to share with others, one to bring your imagination to full light. Great book, highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr Radcliffe is fabulous at his craft! He is able to weave life lessons with intriguing characters and an exciting plot with ease. Noggle Stones is a tale of a group of travelers whose fates entwine to face challenges they could never overcome alone. You won't want to put it down. A fabulous story along the lines of Harry Potter and Spiderwick Cronicles, it will sure to be a hit among all ages who enjoy Fantasy Fiction. Could also easily be used in a middle-high school English curriculum.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Noggle Stones is a fun fantasy novel in the tradition of the Chronicles of Narnia or Harry Potter. It will appeal to a wide range of ages as the story is engaging and intelligently written. Looking forward to sequels in the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Noggle Stones keeps you engaged from page one. I really loved the character development and how the main characters grew stronger as a group. The story has a mix of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, but is a completely different level. Any one that enjoys a good Fantasy Fiction book will enjoy Noggle Stones. Get a copy for yourself and a copy for a friend, 'as you wont want to share yours.' Great read with exciting story. I look forward to reading more from the author in the future.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gifted author, Wil Radcliffe introduces us to a world of frolicking good fun, fraught with dangers all too real. Bugbear and Tudmire have enough every day troubles to keep anyone busy for the foreseeable future, but when they happen upon the most mythical of creatures, a human, their world is turned upside down as they discover their universe is colliding with ours and if they fail in their new mission, nothing will remain of life as they know it. Radcliffe¿s tale is fertile, powerful and refreshing. His ability to engage the reader¿s imagination, whilst taking you on a journey through a fantastical world, which seems unquestionably real, speaks of his talent and skill as a storyteller. With Noggle Stones, he¿s crafted yet another mythos destined to cement itself in the firmament of fantastical sagas from the likes of J. K. Rowling, Alan Dean Foster and Wendy Pini. If you¿re a fan of Artemis Fowl, Harry Potter or the Spellsinger series, you love Noggle Stones. -Mike Bullock, author of Lions, Tigers and Bears
Guest More than 1 year ago
Noggle Stones Bugbear and Tudmire, goblins of the world of Annwfn in the Year of the Dappled Beetle, are caught up in an inexplicable cosmic explosion.. Shortly afterward they stumble upon a live human, being pummeled by ogres. Like all educated goblins, they know that human beings are creatures in fairy tales, so they are astounded even as they rescue him, and even more astonished to learn that their world has been magically united with that of human beings. That is only the beginning of the strange adventure of Noggle Stones, which leads through the forests of Annwfn/Earth to the town of Willow Prairie, to the lost goblin monastery of Eglwys Cacynen, to the heights of Tamarack Mountain where a great battle is fought. Bugbear is a master of the discipline of Non-Logical Thought, which allows him to change -- or rather, redefine -- reality to his specifications. But he is under attack, suffers from terrible nightmare visions, and before the end, must discover where his true loyalties lie. Manchester, his human apprentice, must discover whether he can rise to the challenge of his unwanted kingship. And Tudmire must find out whether he can out gamble every creature he comes across. Wil Radcliffe has written a charming and enthralling tale, unlike any other fantasy novel I have read. His unique, lyrical style, reminiscent of James Thurber¡¯s The Thirteen Clocks but more roughhewn, is the perfect expression of this world, teeming with strange creatures, prophecies, and events. Will the bee, once released from its jar, return once more? Will the kidnapped inhabitants of Willow Prairie be recovered? And will the Noggle Lord join the battle between good and evil? When these questions torment you, you know you have fallen under the spell of Noggle Stones, heartily recommended to fantasy lovers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Noggle Stones is the first full length novel by Wil Radcliffe. This stunningly original tale marks a great debut for the Indiana author and is a delightful read for children of all ages. The story is set around the turn of the century in our world, but Earth and the magical realm of Annwfn soon collide as the irascible yet likable goblin scholar Bugbear and his gambling-addicted cousin Tudmire acquire a mysterious scroll in a game of Noggle Stones. While fleeing the enraged but dim-witted ogres, they happen upon Manchester, who is a human, of all things. Bugbear takes Manchester as his apprentice to teach him the empowering ways of non-logical thought. The party comes upon the small town of Willow Prairie, and soon must set to work gaining the trust of the citizens and helping them to prepare for war, for the two worlds were originally split to entrap a shadowy terror who fights with armies of the undead. And lately, there have been so many disappearances of both people and animals¿ Radcliffe crafts a believable world that is a joy to discover. His two biggest strengths in the work are in his characters and dialog. The characters practically leap off every page, and one can imagine Bugbear at Radcliffe¿s elbow, nagging him during the writing to make sure every detail is correct. The reader ends up caring a great deal for the characters by the end of the book, hoping that Tudmire redeems himself, longing for Bugbear to be healed of his mental prison, and sharing in the tender love between Manchester and the fiery dragon-bride Maga. The snappy dialog is a joy to read and adds to each character¿s unique quirks. When Tudmire complains ¿Oh, my aching back,¿ Bugbear retorts ¿There¿s nothing wrong with your back that a spine wouldn¿t cure!¿ The names of the obstructionist town authorities also undergo considerable humorous permutations when lambasted by Bugbear. This novel is suitable for all ages, although it may be enjoyed most by elementary and middle school readers. This is a beautifully crafted work that leaves plenty of room at the end for a sequel. I, for one, am eagerly anticipating it. -Bill Pottle, Author of DreamQuest