×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

North by Northwestern: A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters
     

North by Northwestern: A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters

4.3 59
by Sig Hansen, Mark Sundeen
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestseller

"A chronicle that reads like a collection of your crazy buddy's bar stories about his crazier old man." –Outside Magazine

The action of the hit Discovery Channel series DEADLIEST CATCH combines with the personal saga of a Norwegian family in this memoir adventure tale of commercial fishermen on the Bering Sea

In

Overview

New York Times bestseller

"A chronicle that reads like a collection of your crazy buddy's bar stories about his crazier old man." –Outside Magazine

The action of the hit Discovery Channel series DEADLIEST CATCH combines with the personal saga of a Norwegian family in this memoir adventure tale of commercial fishermen on the Bering Sea

In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen's rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family's struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream. For Captain Sig Hansen and his brothers, Norman and Edgar, commercial fishing is as much a part of their Norwegian heritage as their names. Descendants of the Vikings who ruled the northern seas for centuries, Sig and his brothers learned to fish from their father when they were boys, just as their father had learned from his father. And after twenty years as a skipper on the commercial fishing vessel the Northwestern Sig has lived to tell the tales.

This is the story of a family of survivors; part memoir and part adventure tale, North by Northwestern brings readers on deck, into the dockside bars and into the history of a family with a common destiny. Built around the gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like The Perfect Storm, North By Northwestern tells the multigenerational history of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who have become modern day folk-heroes.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“A chronicle that reads like a collection of your crazy buddy's bar stories about his crazier old man.” —Outside Magazine

“Captain Hansen's passionate love for his work, for the ocean, and for his fellow fishermen is undeniable and admirable.” —Examiner.com

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312672546
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
04/12/2011
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
564,385
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author

Sig Hansen is the captain of the commercial fishing vessel Northwestern. He has been featured on Discovery Channel's Deadliest Catch from the pilot through every season of the show.

Mark Sundeen is a contributor to Outside, New York Times Magazine, National Geographic Adventure, Men's Journal, and McSweeney's. He is the author of The Making of Toro and Car Camping.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

North by Northwestern 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
purpledragynkimi More than 1 year ago
This book was very well written and extremely interesting. You can imagine yourself sitting back in a smokey tavern, beer in your hand, relaxing listening to Sig tell his father's story. His humor and wit are clearly evident, as well as his affection for his brothers and family. His co-author really captured his personality with this book. The only thing I could ask to improve this book, would be the stories behind the pictures.
KADK More than 1 year ago
For anyone that enjoys the nautical side to life, or wants to know more about Captain Sig and his family after watching Deadliest Catch, this is a great book. It is like sitting down for an in depth talk with Captain Sig as he gives an oral history of the Hansen family and the evolution of fishing in the Pacific Northwest. The Hansen story is rich in history and when told in an honest and straighforward way keeps the reader engaged in the story. Being the granddaughter of an immigrant fisherman, it was like reliving my youth, when my grandpa would invite us to accompany him and share in his story. A word of caution, this story is told in a very conversational manner, if you don't like reading this style of writing, you may not enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter went with her fisherman husband into the world of Alaska crab fishing 15 years ago and knew Sverre, the author's father. I'd been curious to know more about that life, especially since she got hooked on "Deadliest Catch" on the Discovery Channel. I grew up in Seattle and my dad was born in Ballard so I have a great deal of interest in the historical aspects Sig has covered in his book. All things considered, it's a great read; colorful, adventurous, informative and provocative. He really opens up to the reader fascinating details about the world he knows intimately. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in knowing more about what they see on "The Deadliest Catch", and to anyone who isn't, but is vaguely curious about that life, as I was. I bought the book for my daughter who now lives in Oregon; before I sent it to her I read it and found I couldn't put it down!
Kim-in-Austin More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a book that is all about "Deadliest Catch", then this is not the one for you. However, if you want to learn the history behind the men that you see on board the F/V Northwestern then you won't be able to put this one down. Sig Hansen tells the story of not only the history of his own family, but the history of modern day crab fishing by taking you on a journey back to his home of Karmoy, Norway. You will learn the story of his father, Sverre Hansen, and how he came to live in Ballard, Washington and start his lifelong career as a crab fisherman. Interwoven into the who's who of the beginning of the king crab fleet is the story of the sinking of Sverre's boat, the F/V Foremost, and the rescue of the crew from the Bering Sea. You can tell that there is a tremendous amount of respect for heritage and family from Sig and his brothers towards those that came before them. The feeling that they still cannot believe all the fame that the television show has brought on them is clear. I only wish that Sig would have gone more into the charitble work that they do when they are not braving 20 foot seas, but perhaps that is another story for another time. If you are a Deadliest Catch fan this book will give you what the show doesn't: a journey into the humble and dangerous beginnings of the men that captivate you on Tuesday nights. If you aren't a fan, but love learning about how the crab that is on your plate makes it there you will enjoy this book just as much. Either way, it is an easy read that takes you on a trip from the small fishing community where Sverre got his start to the multi-million dollar industry that is the modern crab fishery.
boat10boy More than 1 year ago
Not just about crab fishing, North by Northwestern also explores the history of fishing and crabbing off the cost of Alaska, and details family tradition. Well written by this first time author and captain of the NORTHWESTERN,Sig Hansen, the reader gets a wonderful lesson on generations of same family traditions passed down from this original Swedish family and how many fishing families from Sweden, Denmark imagrate to the US and continue the traditon of fishing and captaining the Crab boats on the deadly Alaskan waters. This book does a great job of covering the history of the crabbing tradition, while also telling of the deadly experiences of both captain and crew in their pursuits of both money and catch. A facinating journey into the lives of those in the crabbing and fishing industry, this book gives one a better understanding of both the dangers and rewards of one of the most dangerous jobs that exist, and a better understanding of how tradition compails these families to continue this endevor. A good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing the story of your history Sig.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HYnote More than 1 year ago
Sig tells his family's story and history in a great voice. He fills the book with substance, not the typical fluff of the quickly famous. If you really want to know about the Hansen family here is where you start. The added history lesson is a bonus!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story of Sig and his family is a great nautical story. However, it gets a little annoying after a while. You start off reading one story and then it stops and you are thrown into another story, which leads to another one. There were times that i either had to go back and figure out what was going on or look to see if a story ever finished. Great stories, but they are all over the place. They even jump around to telling you about Norweigan history in the middle of a chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to say that it was definitely hard to put down. Any fan of Deadliest Catch will love this book. There is so much history of the nordic family of fisherman in this book! Not only do you get to learn more about the Hansen brothers, you get incredible history as well. I was so sad when I finished. WRITE MORE CAPTAIN SIG!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fintale More than 1 year ago
Honest appraisal by Captain Sig Hansen of his family and life as a Bering Sea Cowboy. Fans of the Discovery Channel's "Deadliest Catch" series will enjoy reading this tale of high adventures and mishaps of the Alaskan fisherman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago