×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

North of Havana (Doc Ford Series #5)
     

North of Havana (Doc Ford Series #5)

4.1 9
by Randy Wayne White
 

See All Formats & Editions

Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford novels have been praised as "witty" (San Diego Union-Tribune), "must-reads" (Chicago Tribune) and "superb." (Denver Post) Now, White's newest thriller takes Doc Ford to Havana, where his friend is being held by the Cuban government.  Still haunted by his suspected involvement in a plot against Castro, Ford ventures to Cuba--where he

Overview

Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford novels have been praised as "witty" (San Diego Union-Tribune), "must-reads" (Chicago Tribune) and "superb." (Denver Post) Now, White's newest thriller takes Doc Ford to Havana, where his friend is being held by the Cuban government.  Still haunted by his suspected involvement in a plot against Castro, Ford ventures to Cuba--where he finds himself entangled in a web of murder, revenge, and assassination.

From the author of the critically acclaimed novel Captiva (Prime Crime, 5/97)

Another mystery featuring Randy Wayne White’s Doc Ford is on the way

Will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen and John D. Macdonald

"We’ll drop anything we're doing to read a new Randy White novel and be glad we did."  --Denver Post

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Cahners\\Publishers_Weekly
Following the south Florida eco-suspense of Captiva (1996), White continues to throw plausability happily, energetically, to the winds. His swashbuckling modern-day Thoreau, narrator Doc Ford, evades death and keeps an appointment with destiny when he is revisited by the love of his life, Pilar Balserio, the beautiful ruling sovereign of the mythical banana republic of Masagua (first seen in Sanibel Flats). Busily engaged in the serious business of diverting seductive Dewey, a sexually ambivalent golf pro, from the emotional trauma of a jilting by her lesbian lover, Doc is rudely interrupted by a phone call from his sidekick, the aging flower child Tomlinson, whose sailboat has just been impounded in Castro's Havana. Armed with $10,000 in cash and accompanied by Dewey, who shows signs of responding to his sexual therapy, Doc heads for Cuba. There, imperiled by his secret history as a covert agent once sent on an anti-Castro mission, Doc finds Tomlinson missing. Soon, Dewey is kidnapped in a wild plot involving Tomlinson's race against Castro and Santeria priests to find the mythical treasure of Columbus's coffin. The chaos resolves in a mission that's as romantic as it is impossible. Rich in personality and atmosphere, this latest Doc Ford adventure features breakneck pacing and muscular prose filled with banter and graveyard whistling. White never blushes at an outrageous plot turn, but in his capable hands, neither will his readers.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Following the south Florida eco-suspense of Captiva (1996), White continues to throw plausability happily, energetically, to the winds. His swashbuckling modern-day Thoreau, narrator Doc Ford, evades death and keeps an appointment with destiny when he is revisited by the love of his life, Pilar Balserio, the beautiful ruling sovereign of the mythical banana republic of Masagua (first seen in Sanibel Flats). Busily engaged in the serious business of diverting seductive Dewey, a sexually ambivalent golf pro, from the emotional trauma of a jilting by her lesbian lover, Doc is rudely interrupted by a phone call from his sidekick, the aging flower child Tomlinson, whose sailboat has just been impounded in Castro's Havana. Armed with $10,000 in cash and accompanied by Dewey, who shows signs of responding to his sexual therapy, Doc heads for Cuba. There, imperiled by his secret history as a covert agent once sent on an anti-Castro mission, Doc finds Tomlinson missing. Soon, Dewey is kidnapped in a wild plot involving Tomlinson's race against Castro and Santeria priests to find the mythical treasure of Columbus's coffin. The chaos resolves in a mission that's as romantic as it is impossible. Rich in personality and atmosphere, this latest Doc Ford adventure features breakneck pacing and muscular prose filled with banter and graveyard whistling. White never blushes at an outrageous plot turn, but in his capable hands, neither will his readers. (Apr.)
Library Journal
A few days before Christmas, marine biologist and former CIA operative Marion "Doc" Ford receives a call from a pal whose sailboat has strayed into Cuban waters. The friend needs Ford's help to bribe officials and get back his impounded boat. Complicating his life still further, an impossible love named Dewey has arrived that afternoon. Now Ford must go to Cuba, a dangerous trip because of his clandestine operations there that is made more dangerous by Dewey's insistence on accompanying him. What Ford encounters in Cuba is not simple government graft but a plot to eliminate Castro, and if Ford and his friends are to survive he must risk an alliance with a former Soviet agent, one of a cadre with its own reasons for wanting him dead. This is a fine addition to White's Doc Ford series (e.g., Captiva, Putnam, 1996), crackling with both tension and humor. For most popular collections.Charles Michaud, Turner Free Lib., Randolph, Mass.
Kirkus Reviews
Just as Marion "Doc" Ford is at the point of dramatically improving his acquaintance with his old friend Dewey Nye (she's already got half her underwear off), his phone rings, and his even older friend, dropout prophet Tomlinson, is squawking about how the trip his pickup Julia DeGlorio talked him into taking—from Sanibel to an island north of Cuba—turned sour when Tomlinson woke up to find they'd drifted into Cuban waters and were being held along with his beloved boat in lieu of storage charges. Couldn't Doc drop whatever he was doing and sneak down to bail his buddy out? Of course he could, in a flash—if it were only that simple. But Doc and Dewey haven't spent a whole night on the island before he realizes that Tomlinson hasn't been leveling with him. He's not just looking for cash for bail and bribes; he's gotten involved in a mind-bogglingly complex assassination plot, one whose tangled roots link a peyote- supplying Santería priest, a family of unsuccessful assassins, and a fateful baseball game in which Doc, as catcher, once refused to let Fidel Castro throw anything but fastballs. Maybe that's why Castro's now scouring the island for Doc—but it doesn't begin to explain why Doc will be risking life and limb to prevent Castro's execution.

Much manly action, lots of manly aperçus, but it's all too fast and furious to allow the distinctive pleasures of the voice White revealed in The Man Who Invented Florida (1993) and Captiva

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425162941
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/28/1998
Series:
Doc Ford Series , #5
Edition description:
Reissue
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
113,265
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.80(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Randy Wayne White is the author of seventeen previous Doc Ford novels and four collections of nonfiction. He lives in an old house built on an Indian mound in Pineland, Florida.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

North of Havana (Doc Ford Series #5) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
VictoriaAllman More than 1 year ago
What I like about Randy Wayne White books is that I learn something every time I read one--something about nature, something about a place. In NORTH OF HAVANA I learned a LOT about Cuba and its history with the United States that I did not know. The book is all action and dialogue wrapped in an entertaining and informative story. That's not to say that there is no character development. RWW is also a master of interesting and instantly captivating characters. Ford's side-kick Tomlinson is one of my favorite characters of any story and he shines here. This is another excellent addition to RWW's Doc Ford series. Victoria Allman author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
focusblue More than 1 year ago
What a bright discovery in an otherwise dismal winter. I'm almost finished with all of Randy Wayne White's books about Doc Ford-& I'm thoroughly enjoying every one. Having had a wonderful visit to Sanibel, I just love the Florida descriptions, the marine biology, all of Doc's friends, his 'government' background, even the weather info.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This series has been an absolute treat! I started with the more recent installments and have since gone back to fill in the back story on Doc Ford's past adventures which are alluded to in many of the books. The only thing I didn't love about this book is... actually, there was nothing I didn't love about this book.