North Reich

North Reich

3.5 11
by Robert Conroy
     
 

American military forces are focused on fighting Japan after Pearl Harbor. Hitler's army has taken Stalingrad, defeated opposing countries in Western Europe, England has surrendered, and German troops, including the terrifying Gestapo, now control Canada, with a puppet government in Ottawa.

Many historians consider Hitler's greatest blunder was declaring war…  See more details below

Overview

American military forces are focused on fighting Japan after Pearl Harbor. Hitler's army has taken Stalingrad, defeated opposing countries in Western Europe, England has surrendered, and German troops, including the terrifying Gestapo, now control Canada, with a puppet government in Ottawa.

Many historians consider Hitler's greatest blunder was declaring war on the United States in 1941. Award-winning author Robert Conroy presents an exciting alternate history scenario, where Hitler did not declare war on the U.S. and American armed forces stayed out of the European conflict, focusing its military might on the Pacific.

In NORTH REICH, border skirmishes with Nazi-occupied Canada and saboteur efforts within U.S. escalate into a Nazi invasion. This novel presents a moving picture of Nazi-occupied Canada, what the U.S. response might have been, and how warfare on American soil could have played out.

Editorial Reviews

William R. Forstchen
“Robert Conroy is truly one of the top players in the field when it comes to imaginative well written tales. Be ready for some sleepless nights when you argue with yourself "I'll just read one more chapter," because Conroy's work is the type of book you simply can't put down.”
- William R. Forstchen, author of NYTimes bestseller ONE SECOND AFTER and co-author of YORKTOWN and GETTYSBURG
Publishers Weekly
on 1942: “Fans of Tom Clancy and Agent Jack Bauer should find a lot to like here.”
Library Journal
on HIMMLER'S WAR "Historical accuracy in the midst of creative speculation makes this piece of alternate history believable. It should appeal to fans of Harry Turtledove."
Booklist - Book list
on RED INFERNO: *Starred Review* "If Conroy’s enthusiasm for alternate history leads to a sequel to this one, it will continue a story comparable to the best by the subgenre’s masters."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940014690935
Publisher:
Spectrum Literary Agency, Inc.
Publication date:
06/14/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
48,446
File size:
988 KB

Meet the Author

After taking early retirement from automotive management, Conroy decided to combine his loves of history and writing. After discovering that Kaiser Wilhelm had plans to invade the U.S., he wrote his first alternate history, “1901,” in which the invasion took place. "1901" was a Book of the Month Club Alternate. Altogether, seven of his novels have been published (plus two e-books) and three were nominated for the Sidewise Award, with “1942” winning the award for 2009. He has also written for Military History Magazine. He finds alternate history fascinating and the possibilities never-ending. He will not run out of plots.

Conroy has an MBA and, when not writing, is adjunct faculty at Macomb Community College where he teaches business. He has a married daughter and two grandsons, and lives in southeastern Michigan with his wife of forty-plus years along with a very spoiled Border Terrier.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

North Reich 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
NateL More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Robert Conroy, and didn't have the problems with the digital copy as much as most people. There were a handful of times where a paragraph was missing, but it isn't like whole pages were missing, just part of paragraphs a handful of times. I have read all of his books, and I think this was far from his best. Something just didn't click along with the others. It was a good story, I did enjoy it and read it in a week, but it missed something. I love Alternative History, and the story idea was great. After Pearl Harbor, Germany does NOT declare war on the US and the US only declares war on Japan, allowing Germany to run rampant over Europe and moving into the eastern provinces of Canada. Still, it felt like 'something' was missing compared to his other work. For fans of Conroy, it's worth picking up. For others looking to see what his writing style is like, try a different one of his instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The digital copy must have been coded by monkeys. Is it really that hard to check before releasing? Couldn't tell you how good the book is. Too many errors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very plausable. The result of changing one small piece of history and the large change it could make.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is wholly unfair to rip on a book just because the digital copy is a bit messed up. For any fan of History/Action, this is a great buy. Also a good introductory book into alternative history!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of Conroy and i really enjoyed this one. There are some spelling errors and partially missing paragraphs but its very easy to skip them and read on. Well worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Might just as well have been written in chinese! Unreadable.