North Reich [NOOK Book]

Overview

American military forces are focused on fighting Japan after Pearl Harbor. Hitler's army has taken Stalingrad, defeated opposing countries in Western Europe, England has surrendered, and German troops, including the terrifying Gestapo, now control Canada, with a puppet government in Ottawa.

Many historians consider Hitler's greatest blunder was declaring war on the United States in 1941. Award-winning author Robert Conroy presents an exciting ...
See more details below
North Reich

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.75
BN.com price

Overview

American military forces are focused on fighting Japan after Pearl Harbor. Hitler's army has taken Stalingrad, defeated opposing countries in Western Europe, England has surrendered, and German troops, including the terrifying Gestapo, now control Canada, with a puppet government in Ottawa.

Many historians consider Hitler's greatest blunder was declaring war on the United States in 1941. Award-winning author Robert Conroy presents an exciting alternate history scenario, where Hitler did not declare war on the U.S. and American armed forces stayed out of the European conflict, focusing its military might on the Pacific.

In NORTH REICH, border skirmishes with Nazi-occupied Canada and saboteur efforts within U.S. escalate into a Nazi invasion. This novel presents a moving picture of Nazi-occupied Canada, what the U.S. response might have been, and how warfare on American soil could have played out.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

William R. Forstchen
“Robert Conroy is truly one of the top players in the field when it comes to imaginative well written tales. Be ready for some sleepless nights when you argue with yourself "I'll just read one more chapter," because Conroy's work is the type of book you simply can't put down.”
- William R. Forstchen, author of NYTimes bestseller ONE SECOND AFTER and co-author of YORKTOWN and GETTYSBURG
Publishers Weekly
on 1942: “Fans of Tom Clancy and Agent Jack Bauer should find a lot to like here.”
Library Journal
on HIMMLER'S WAR "Historical accuracy in the midst of creative speculation makes this piece of alternate history believable. It should appeal to fans of Harry Turtledove."
Booklist - Book list
on RED INFERNO: *Starred Review* "If Conroy’s enthusiasm for alternate history leads to a sequel to this one, it will continue a story comparable to the best by the subgenre’s masters."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940014690935
  • Publisher: Spectrum Literary Agency, Inc.
  • Publication date: 6/14/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 47,104
  • File size: 965 KB

Meet the Author

After taking early retirement from automotive management, Conroy decided to combine his loves of history and writing. After discovering that Kaiser Wilhelm had plans to invade the U.S., he wrote his first alternate history, “1901,” in which the invasion took place. "1901" was a Book of the Month Club Alternate. Altogether, seven of his novels have been published (plus two e-books) and three were nominated for the Sidewise Award, with “1942” winning the award for 2009. He has also written for Military History Magazine. He finds alternate history fascinating and the possibilities never-ending. He will not run out of plots.

Conroy has an MBA and, when not writing, is adjunct faculty at Macomb Community College where he teaches business. He has a married daughter and two grandsons, and lives in southeastern Michigan with his wife of forty-plus years along with a very spoiled Border Terrier.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Wait for bn to fix it!

    The digital copy must have been coded by monkeys. Is it really that hard to check before releasing? Couldn't tell you how good the book is. Too many errors.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I am a big fan of Robert Conroy, and didn't have the problems wi

    I am a big fan of Robert Conroy, and didn't have the problems with the
    digital copy as much as most people. There were a handful of times where
    a paragraph was missing, but it isn't like whole pages were missing,
    just part of paragraphs a handful of times. I have read all of his
    books, and I think this was far from his best. Something just didn't
    click along with the others. It was a good story, I did enjoy it and
    read it in a week, but it missed something. I love Alternative History,
    and the story idea was great. After Pearl Harbor, Germany does NOT
    declare war on the US and the US only declares war on Japan, allowing
    Germany to run rampant over Europe and moving into the eastern provinces
    of Canada. Still, it felt like 'something' was missing compared to his
    other work. For fans of Conroy, it's worth picking up. For others
    looking to see what his writing style is like, try a different one of
    his instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    Might just as well have been written in chinese! Unreadable.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Petalstorm

    We rp in like, all the same places! We should have a book jut for us rpers, to talk about the clans we are in! ~Petalstorm's RPer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great!

    It is wholly unfair to rip on a book just because the digital copy is a bit messed up. For any fan of History/Action, this is a great buy. Also a good introductory book into alternative history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great boom

    I've read a lot of Conroy and i really enjoyed this one. There are some spelling errors and partially missing paragraphs but its very easy to skip them and read on. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)