Nothing Serious

Nothing Serious

5.0 1
by Daniel Klein
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Stoned out of his skull!

This is how we find washed-up New York Magazine writer, Digby Maxwell, when he is offered his last chance to redeem himself by becoming editor of a small philosophy magazine headquartered in a rural Vermont college town.

Digby's assignment: to make the philosophy magazine relevant to contemporary culture. For starters, that… See more details below

Overview

Stoned out of his skull!

This is how we find washed-up New York Magazine writer, Digby Maxwell, when he is offered his last chance to redeem himself by becoming editor of a small philosophy magazine headquartered in a rural Vermont college town.

Digby's assignment: to make the philosophy magazine relevant to contemporary culture. For starters, that requires several more tokes. Very deep tokes. A wildly witty novel in the tradition of J.P. Donleavy and Nick Hornsby, Nothing Serious takes serious pot shots at Manhattan pop culture and academic small-mindedness, sexual obsessions and political correctness, 21st century alienation and philosophers ranging from Aristotle to Sartre.

Editorial Reviews

New York Journal of Books - Karl Wolff
"Klein creates a tightly plotted comedic tale with a genuine emotional center and a sharp satirical wit. He lambastes in equal measure the politically correct pieties of academia and the hyper-trend-conscious attitudes of New York hipsters. Beneath the scabrous humor there is genuine love for all humanity. The title is a big clue. In the end, the title says it all. The pursuit of happiness involves to some degree the ability to not take things seriously. Nothing Serious is a short sweet novel."
Starred Review - Booklist Reviews
"Klein's second existential novel is as thought-provoking as The History of Now (2009), with a heavier dose of sharp, witty humor. Klein is a master of relevant social commentary, and his background as a writer of both mysteries and philosophy is clearly evident, resulting in an exceptional story sprinkled with philosophical overtones and rounded out with the perfect amount of symbolism and allegory."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940016571607
Publisher:
The Permanent Press
Publication date:
04/01/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
208
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >