Nylon Road: A Graphic Memoir of Coming of Age in Iran

Paperback (Print)
Buy Used
Buy Used from BN.com
$12.74
(Save 25%)
Item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging.
Condition: Used – Good details
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $1.99
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 88%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (24) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $4.69   
  • Used (18) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$4.69
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(747)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
0312532865 *BRAND NEW* Paperback fresh from the publisher with No remainder marks and No price tags.

Ships from: Howard, PA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$5.92
Seller since 2011

Feedback rating:

(797)

Condition: New
PAPERBACK New 0312532865 SERVING OUR CUSTOMERS WITH BEST PRICES. FROM A COMPANY YOU TRUST, HUGE SELECTION. RELIABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE! ! HASSLE FREE RETURN POLICY, SATISFACTION ... GURANTEED**** Read more Show Less

Ships from: Philadelphia, PA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$6.68
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(454)

Condition: New
PAPERBACK New 0312532865! ! KNOWLEDGE IS POWER! ! ENJOY OUR BEST PRICES! ! ! Ships Fast. All standard orders delivered within 5 to 12 business days.

Ships from: Southampton, PA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$7.29
Seller since 2010

Feedback rating:

(987)

Condition: New
PAPERBACK New 0312532865 Friendly Return Policy. A+++ Customer Service!

Ships from: Philadelphia, PA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$7.29
Seller since 2010

Feedback rating:

(739)

Condition: New
PAPERBACK New 0312532865! ! ! ! BEST PRICES WITH A SERVICE YOU CAN RELY! ! !

Ships from: Philadelphia, PA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$7.99
Seller since 2009

Feedback rating:

(103)

Condition: New
Brand new and never been read. Pages are crisp with no markings on the cover.

Ships from: Bellerose Village, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by

Overview

In the tradition of graphic memoirs such as Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis, comes the story of a young Iranian woman’s struggles with growing up under Shiite Law, her journey into adulthood, and the daughter whom she had to leave behind when she left Iran. NYLON ROAD is a window into the soul of a culture that we are still struggling to understand. Beautifully told, poignant, this is a powerful work about the necessity of freedom.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Advance Praise for Nylon Road:

“NYLON ROAD is an engaging and entertaining journey into Islamic Iranian culture through the eyes of young professional woman. It is a window into the transformation of Iran from a pro-western country into the abyss of Islamic totalitarianism. The writer brilliantly takes you into her life and shows you how that affected her life and makes the case for the importance of democracy and freedom.” - Brigitte Gabriel, New York Times Bestselling author of They Must Be Stopped

"Parsua Bashi is one of those compelling voices who rarely get heard in the mass media, but who can sing her poignant song loud and clear through the intimate medium of the graphic novel."

- Paul Gravett, author of Holy Sh*t! and the bestselling author Manga

“Parsua Bashi weaves personal experience with Iranian history and, without coming

Library Journal
Bashi's "nylon road"—a play on the Silk Road, that ancient caravan route crossing Persia—led her to Europe at age 38. Bashi follows a boyfriend to Switzerland, where she is ambushed by a succession of former selves at different ages, all reacting to her new European life. This device frames Bashi's internal conflicts in a way both lighthearted and intense as she comes to terms with living in a Westernized country. Through flashbacks, we learn about the Islamic Revolution, her marriage to a repressive man and their subsequent divorce—she gave up her child as the price—and her later career as a successful designer. Perhaps her teenage Marxism, the Shiite fundamentalist repression that followed, and Westerners' obsession with "trivial" pop trends all overly suppress individuality. Bashi never does draw conclusions but comes to embrace her many selves while leaving readers to ponder. The stylish, two-toned art brings to mind Cancer Vixen. VERDICT A perceptive and nuanced take on repression, freedom, and women's lives; recommended for teens and up. Also, an excellent readalike for Persepolis.—M.C.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780312532864
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 11/10/2009
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 128
  • Product dimensions: 6.10 (w) x 9.20 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Parsua Bashi was born in 1966 in Teheran, and her work has been displayed in various exhibitions and has received many awards. She has lived in Zurich since 2004. Nylon Road is her first graphic novel.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)