BN.com Gift Guide

Odd, Weird & Little

( 2 )

Overview

New in paperback! *"At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying!"--Kirkus Reviews(starred)

Readers who love Louis Sachar and Andrew Clements will find this charming, easy-to-read middle-grade novel an absolute hoot!

The new kid in school dresses like a businessman, carries a briefcase, and never says anything except "Who?" Frankly, he's a bit odd, maybe because he's actually an owl. Fans ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (15) from $5.98   
  • New (10) from $9.04   
  • Used (5) from $5.98   
Odd, Weird & Little

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 34%)$15.99 List Price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

New in paperback! *"At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying!"--Kirkus Reviews(starred)

Readers who love Louis Sachar and Andrew Clements will find this charming, easy-to-read middle-grade novel an absolute hoot!

The new kid in school dresses like a businessman, carries a briefcase, and never says anything except "Who?" Frankly, he's a bit odd, maybe because he's actually an owl. Fans of Guinea Dog will adore this latest hilarious story.

When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird. He's short-- kindergarten short--dresses in a suit like a grandpa, has huge eyes, and barely says a word. But Woodrow isn't exactly Mr. Popularity himself. The frequent target of the class bully, he figures that maybe all Toulouse needs is a chance. When the two are put together in gym to play volleyball, they make quite the team. Toulouse can serve, set, and spike like a pro. He really knows how to fly around the court. But when the attention and teasing switch back to Woodrow, he learns that the new kid is great at something else: being a friend.

Full of heart and laughs, Odd, Weird & Little is another winner from the author of the state-list favorite Guinea Dog.

Also available in hardcover (978-1-60684-374-1) and eBook (978-1-60684-375-8) formats.

Review Quotes for Odd, Weird & Little:

*"...perfect for independent readers and for reading aloud...an outrageously funny premise."--Kirkus Reviews starred review

"...the owl-in-disguise element here is surprisingly effective, taking a standard tale of an underdog's triumph and giving it a charming weirdness that reaffirms the value of being a bit odd..."--BCCB

"...a warm and funny story about being true to oneself and standing up for what's right."--Publishers Weekly

Awards and State Lists for Guinea Dog: Won the Washington State Scandiuzzi Children's Book Award and the Kansas William Allen White Award, received an honor for the Massachusetts Book Award. Nominated for the Colorado Children's Book Award, Florida Sunshine State Young Readers Award, the Hawaii NēNē Award, the Indiana Young Hoosier Book Award, the New Hampshire Great Stone Face Book Award, the Washington State Sasquatch Award, as well as the Texas Horned Toad Tales list.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
10/21/2013
Ten-year-old Woodrow Schwette is the weirdest kid in his class until quiet, tiny, suit-wearing Toulouse Gulot shows up by way of Quebec. Jennings (My Homework Ate My Homework) creates a sympathetic underdog in Woodrow, a boy all too used to being relentlessly teased by class bullies Garrett and Hubcap, whose casual cruelty will likely make some readers shudder with recognition. Woodrow must decide if he will stand aside while Toulouse—with his “old-man hat,” “wide, round eyes,” and vocabulary that’s initially limited to the word “Who”—becomes the bullies’ new punching bag, or if he will stand up for his new friend. Jennings gives Woodrow a relatable voice and laces the story with clues that hint at the twist that is confirmed in the book’s final chapters. The author does such a nice job of building to the big revelation that it’s unfortunate that the book’s cover treatment basically spoils the surprise. Nevertheless, it’s a warm and funny story about being true to oneself and standing up for what’s right. Ages 8–12. Agent: Rosemary Stimola, Stimola Literary Studio. (Jan.)
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2013-10-02
At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying! Woodrow and his classmates are surprised at the old-fashioned clothing and the tiny, delicate appearance of Toulouse, a newly arrived student from Canada. Is this Woodrow's opportunity to pass his own victim status to someone else? Woodrow openly admits his acknowledged dorkiness, as in his fondness for "duck tape," his hesitant speech patterns and that time he got chopsticks stuck in his throat pretending to be a badger. His first-person account of befriending someone even weirder than himself divulges such truths as school-playground hierarchies, adults' proficiency or lack thereof at handling bullying behaviors, and "kid rules" that enable bullies. Woodrow risks regaining his place as top victim as he decides to befriend and protect Toulouse, who has drawn unwanted attention to himself with such anomalies as his bowler hats and his furry vomit. While enjoying every minute of Woodrow's slow discovery that Toulouse is actually an owl--and the even more amazing fact that no one else reaches that conclusion--readers also learn about the psychology behind bullying and about self-empowerment. The rhythm of the prose is perfect for independent readers and for reading aloud; clever art, music and literature references add to the fun. Jennings does not skip a beat as he builds realistic relationships and problem-solving around an outrageously funny premise. (Fiction. 8-12)
School Library Journal
01/01/2014
Gr 3–6—Toulouse Hulot, a new kid in school from Quebec, wears dapper outfits, carries a briefcase, and even uses a quill pen to write his lessons. He is a talented painter and musician, an accomplished fly fisherman, and the victim of the class bully and his henchman. His only friend is Woodrow, who shares his love of fishing and finally becomes the one to stand up to the mean kids and ultimately see Toulouse for who he really is. Woodrow is a most unlikely narrator, one who embraces his own nerdiness and stammers through most of his conversations. Fans of Jennings's Guinea Dog (Egmont USA, 2010) will find this a delightful book, one that stands with classics such as Avi's Poppy (Orchard, 1995). A remarkable story and a great read-aloud.—Wayne R. Cherry, Jr., First Baptist Academy Library, Houston, TX
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781606843741
  • Publisher: EgmontUSA
  • Publication date: 1/28/2014
  • Pages: 160
  • Sales rank: 257,276
  • Age range: 8 - 12 Years
  • Lexile: 580L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.60 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Patrick Jennings blasted onto the children's book scene with his critically acclaimed Faith and the Electric Dogs, which received many starred reviews and is now in film development. Known for his wide range of topics and styles, he has turned his focus to writing silly accessible stories that will appeal to middle-schoolers, including his recent Egmont releases, Guinea Dog and its sequels, Guinea Dog 2 and 3, Lucky Cap, Invasion of the Dognappers, and My Homework Ate My Homework. A former resident of San Francisco and Bisbee, Arizona, Jennings now lives in Washington State. You can visit him at www.patrickjennings.com. 
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    You forgot

    You didnt claim it so FIRST!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Odd weird and little

    This was a grear book I enjoyed it so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)