Office Oracle: Wisdom at Work

Overview

A strategy manual in the tradition of Machiavelli, Sun Tzu's The Art of War, and Tom Peters' In Pursuit of Excellence, The Office Oracle presents the lessons you need to cash in on the power of change at work.

All it takes is four coins (what could be more appropriate for business?) and this book. Consult the oracle first thing each business day for advice on what to look for in your affairs. Consult it before important conferences and business meetings. Learn when you should ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $58.77   
  • Used (16) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing 1 – 1 of 2
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$58.77
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(213)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New

Ships from: Chicago, IL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing 1 – 1 of 2
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

A strategy manual in the tradition of Machiavelli, Sun Tzu's The Art of War, and Tom Peters' In Pursuit of Excellence, The Office Oracle presents the lessons you need to cash in on the power of change at work.

All it takes is four coins (what could be more appropriate for business?) and this book. Consult the oracle first thing each business day for advice on what to look for in your affairs. Consult it before important conferences and business meetings. Learn when you should smile and when to attack, when to take advantage of career opportunities, how to make money in the gray areas, and 197 other shrewd strategies for success.

Author Patricia Monaghan has worked in government, business, and the non-profit sector, including eight years in management. She is a member of the interdisciplinary faculty of DePaul University in Chicago. It is her extensive experience and intuition that make this book, like the I Ching, excellent reading at any time.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781567184648
  • Publisher: Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.
  • Publication date: 4/1/1999
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 200
  • Product dimensions: 5.28 (w) x 6.02 (h) x 0.57 (d)

Meet the Author

One of the leaders of the contemporary earth spirituality movement, Patricia Monaghan (1946 - 2012) had spent more than 20 years researching and writing about alternative visions of the earth. Raised in Alaska, where much of her family still lives, she considered herself blessed to have learned the ecology of the taiga, the subarctic forest, in her youth. She was a writer and reporter on science and energy-related issues before turning her attention to the impact of mythic structures on our everyday lives.

The worldwide vision of the earth as feminine--as a goddess, called Gaia by the Greeks--led her to recognize the connection between ecological damage and the oppression of the feminine in Western society. Much of her work since that time had explored the question of the role of feminine power in our world, in an inclusive and multicultural way.

An avid traveler, Patricia had researched earth spirituality and goddess worship on three continents, and traveled widely in Europe, especially in Ireland. She held dual US/Irish citizenship and edited two anthologies of contemporary Irish-American writing.

Patricia was member of the resident faculty at DePaul University's School for New Learning in Chicago, where she taught science and literature. She passed from this world in November 2012 and is survived by her husband, Dr Michael McDermott.

Read More Show Less

Interviews & Essays

Like Sun Tzu's The Art of War, The Office Oracle by Patricia Monaghan gives unique advice on how to be successful in competition. But the competition in The Office Oracle is not that of war in ancient China. It is the competition you face every day at work. Consult the book for daily advice or information on how best to approach meetings, conferences, and other business affairs. The Office Oracle is filled with practical business advice that can help you sail through stormy seas at work.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)