Oh, David!: A Diaper David Book

( 6 )

Overview


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oh, David! What have you done now?! Whether it's time to get dressed, eat breakfast, or go to sleep, this youngster can always find a way to make a little trouble. But no matter what David does, his mother truly loves him--and children will, too. With the same irresistible humor and ...

See more details below
Board Book
$5.76
BN.com price
(Save 17%)$6.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Board Book)
  • All (87) from $1.99   
  • New (14) from $1.99   
  • Used (73) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oh, David! What have you done now?! Whether it's time to get dressed, eat breakfast, or go to sleep, this youngster can always find a way to make a little trouble. But no matter what David does, his mother truly loves him--and children will, too. With the same irresistible humor and vibrant style as his award-winning No, David! books, David Shannon takes us back to the "early years" of his most beloved character. Perfect for beginning readers as well as for the youngest children and parents to share, the Diaper David books are sure to delight families everywhere.

Even as a toddler, David was a challenge to his parents.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Original board books and sturdy editions for smallest hands top the shelves this winter. Fans of David Shannon's No, David! will clamor for two original Diaper David Books: Oops! and Oh, David! The first title introduces David's first words, accompanied by appropriate sound effects. The opening spread, for instance, shows "Ball" in upper and lower case letters while, opposite, the hero peers through a broken window, "Uh-oh!" The second title showcases choice words from Mommy: "Open up, Davey!" says she as the fellow refuses food; "Go to sleep, David!" depicts the wide-eyed toddler upright in his crib. These are a must for youngest book lovers and their caregivers. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature
David has gotten in trouble and he has gone to school, but David now ventures into the board book format. This new "Diaper David" book follows David as a diaper-wearing toddler who, like any toddler worth their salt, gets into trouble as he explores his world. Nothing serious, of course, just enough to keep mom on her toes. In Oh, David! and OOPS! (another new "Diaper David"book), mom's face remains hidden and she is always there at the end to deliver that reassuring message: I love you. For fans, Oh David! is a little gem. 2005, Blue Sky Press/Scholastic, Ages 3 to 5.
—Joan Kindig, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
PreS-Shannon is a master at capturing the behavior of young children in an endearing and humorous manner, and he continues to prove it with these two board books. Much like a simplified version of No, David! (Scholastic, 1998), Oh, David! communicates a mother's exasperation with her active son. "David's Mommy always said-Oh, David!" after he unrolls yards of toilet paper; "Open up, Davey" as he squirms, pinch-faced, away from the spoon; and "P.U.!" as he sits proudly in an obviously loaded diaper. "Oh David, I love you" ends the busy day as the two cozily sit and read together. Oops! explores some of the youngster's first words: Ball, Dog, Ride, Eat, Bath, and Mama. Wonderfully juxtaposed to each of these utterances is a colorful scene illustrating the related activity: a broken window, spilled food, a big gap-toothed smile as David enjoys the bliss of a bath, and a peaceful rest in his mother's arms. Although the intended audience may not fully appreciate the art or all of the humor, the books will have wide appeal.-Piper L. Nyman, formerly at Fairfield Civic Center Library, CA Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780439688819
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
  • Publication date: 2/1/2005
  • Series: Oh, David!
  • Pages: 12
  • Sales rank: 69,525
  • Age range: 3 - 5 Years
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 6.86 (h) x 0.52 (d)

Meet the Author

David Shannon

David Shannon is the internationally acclaimed creator of more than thirty picture books, including NO, DAVID!, a Caldecott Honor Book and his second NEW YORK TIMES Best Illustrated Book of the Year. In addition to three more David picture books, Shannon’s bestsellers include TOO MANY TOYS; HOW GEORGIE RADBOURN SAVED BASEBALL (newly released in 2012); A BAD CASE OF STRIPES; DUCK ON A BIKE; ALICE THE FAIRY; and GOOD BOY, FERGUS! A native of Spokane, Washington, he is an avid fisherman. He and his family live in California.
Read More Show Less
    1. Hometown:
      Los Angeles, California
    1. Date of Birth:
      October 5, 1960
    2. Place of Birth:
      Washington, D. C. (Raised in Spokane, Washington)
    1. Education:
      B.A., Art Center College of Design

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great for Preschoolers!

    My 3 year old son loves this book. His name is David too and we have almost all of the series. He LOVES to read the books over and over to me and my husband. We are very happy to help foster his love of reading with these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Great books for Preschoolers

    My 4 year old twin boys love all of the books by David Shannon. The books are written from a preschooler's perspective and my boys can certainly relate to the things David does. They ALWAYS pick the "David" books when it's story time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    My daughter loves it!

    My daughter has both of the David board books & she absolutely enjoys the illustrations. She is only 5 months old & coos everytime I read the books to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Excellent start for youngsters

    Oh, David is a good book for 3 and 4 year olds. It brings laughter and joy, yet shows how getting into trouble doesn't mean you are hated forever.I recommend this book to kindergartners too, since it has lots of easy words used over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)