Oh, David!: A Diaper David Book

Oh, David!: A Diaper David Book

4.0 6
by David Shannon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oh, David! What have you done now?! Whether it's time to get dressed, eat breakfast, or go to sleep, this youngster can always find a way to make a little trouble. But no

Overview


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oh, David! What have you done now?! Whether it's time to get dressed, eat breakfast, or go to sleep, this youngster can always find a way to make a little trouble. But no matter what David does, his mother truly loves him--and children will, too. With the same irresistible humor and vibrant style as his award-winning No, David! books, David Shannon takes us back to the "early years" of his most beloved character. Perfect for beginning readers as well as for the youngest children and parents to share, the Diaper David books are sure to delight families everywhere.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Original board books and sturdy editions for smallest hands top the shelves this winter. Fans of David Shannon's No, David! will clamor for two original Diaper David Books: Oops! and Oh, David! The first title introduces David's first words, accompanied by appropriate sound effects. The opening spread, for instance, shows "Ball" in upper and lower case letters while, opposite, the hero peers through a broken window, "Uh-oh!" The second title showcases choice words from Mommy: "Open up, Davey!" says she as the fellow refuses food; "Go to sleep, David!" depicts the wide-eyed toddler upright in his crib. These are a must for youngest book lovers and their caregivers. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature
David has gotten in trouble and he has gone to school, but David now ventures into the board book format. This new "Diaper David" book follows David as a diaper-wearing toddler who, like any toddler worth their salt, gets into trouble as he explores his world. Nothing serious, of course, just enough to keep mom on her toes. In Oh, David! and OOPS! (another new "Diaper David"book), mom's face remains hidden and she is always there at the end to deliver that reassuring message: I love you. For fans, Oh David! is a little gem. 2005, Blue Sky Press/Scholastic, Ages 3 to 5.
—Joan Kindig, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
PreS-Shannon is a master at capturing the behavior of young children in an endearing and humorous manner, and he continues to prove it with these two board books. Much like a simplified version of No, David! (Scholastic, 1998), Oh, David! communicates a mother's exasperation with her active son. "David's Mommy always said-Oh, David!" after he unrolls yards of toilet paper; "Open up, Davey" as he squirms, pinch-faced, away from the spoon; and "P.U.!" as he sits proudly in an obviously loaded diaper. "Oh David, I love you" ends the busy day as the two cozily sit and read together. Oops! explores some of the youngster's first words: Ball, Dog, Ride, Eat, Bath, and Mama. Wonderfully juxtaposed to each of these utterances is a colorful scene illustrating the related activity: a broken window, spilled food, a big gap-toothed smile as David enjoys the bliss of a bath, and a peaceful rest in his mother's arms. Although the intended audience may not fully appreciate the art or all of the humor, the books will have wide appeal.-Piper L. Nyman, formerly at Fairfield Civic Center Library, CA Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780439688819
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
02/01/2005
Series:
Oh, David!
Pages:
12
Sales rank:
145,044
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 6.86(h) x 0.52(d)
Age Range:
3 - 5 Years

Meet the Author


David Shannon is the internationally acclaimed creator of more than thirty picture books, including NO, DAVID!, a Caldecott Honor Book and his second NEW YORK TIMES Best Illustrated Book of the Year. In addition to three more David picture books, Shannon’s bestsellers include TOO MANY TOYS; HOW GEORGIE RADBOURN SAVED BASEBALL (newly released in 2012); A BAD CASE OF STRIPES; DUCK ON A BIKE; ALICE THE FAIRY; and GOOD BOY, FERGUS! A native of Spokane, Washington, he is an avid fisherman. He and his family live in California.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Los Angeles, California
Date of Birth:
October 5, 1960
Place of Birth:
Washington, D. C. (Raised in Spokane, Washington)
Education:
B.A., Art Center College of Design

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Oh, David! 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KylieandDavidsMom More than 1 year ago
My 3 year old son loves this book. His name is David too and we have almost all of the series. He LOVES to read the books over and over to me and my husband. We are very happy to help foster his love of reading with these books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 4 year old twin boys love all of the books by David Shannon. The books are written from a preschooler's perspective and my boys can certainly relate to the things David does. They ALWAYS pick the "David" books when it's story time!
Letty-G More than 1 year ago
My daughter has both of the David board books & she absolutely enjoys the illustrations. She is only 5 months old & coos everytime I read the books to her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh, David is a good book for 3 and 4 year olds. It brings laughter and joy, yet shows how getting into trouble doesn't mean you are hated forever.I recommend this book to kindergartners too, since it has lots of easy words used over and over again.