Ollie
  • Alternative view 1 of Ollie
  • Alternative view 2 of Ollie
  • Alternative view 3 of Ollie
<Previous >Next

Ollie

5.0 2
by Olivier Dunrea
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Friends Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting for Ollie to hatch. They try poking, listening, even sitting on top of his egg—but Ollie just won’t come out.
Ollie is Ollie and he will decide when it’s time to hatch. Fans of Gossie and Gossie and Gertie will find Ollie just as charming and delightful as the first two books. Any toddler that

Overview


Friends Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting for Ollie to hatch. They try poking, listening, even sitting on top of his egg—but Ollie just won’t come out.
Ollie is Ollie and he will decide when it’s time to hatch. Fans of Gossie and Gossie and Gertie will find Ollie just as charming and delightful as the first two books. Any toddler that has had to wait for a new brother or sister will find Ollie irresistible.

Editorial Reviews

An unhatched gosling plays hard to get in this board book version of a story from Olivier Dunrea's beloved children's series. Willful little Ollie refuses to leave his egg, much to the exasperation of Gossie and Gertie, two adorable goslings in galoshes who are impatiently awaiting his arrival. Repeating his mantra, "I won't come out," Ollie rolls all around the barnyard, leading his feathered friends on a merry chase -- until a neat piece of reverse psychology finally coaxes him from his shell. Dunrea's irresistible illustrations and the book's small format (perfect for little hands) make this sweet and silly tale a candidate for repeated "readings."
Publishers Weekly
In this pair of winsome, small-format follow-ups to Gossie and Gossie & Gertie, Dunrea introduces yet another endearing gosling-but the introduction takes some pleasantly paced time. Or rather, Ollie, whom Dunrea introduces in the first tale as an egg, takes his time hatching, much to the chagrin of the impatient Gossie and Gertie. "This is Ollie./ Ollie is waiting." As the egg rolls to the left and rolls to the right, Ollie's stubborn voice from within the shell repeatedly and humorously insists, "I won't come out!"-a refrain that youngsters will eagerly echo. After chasing the rolling egg and even perching atop it, Gossie and Gertie offer some sage advice to Ollie ("Don't come out"), which of course triggers the much-anticipated hatching; Ollie, wearing a piece of the cracked eggshell on his head, pops up and announces "I'm out!" Fans of the books that introduced Gossie and Gertie will recognize the newcomer's behavior in the second story: he follows in his pals' tracks as they tromp, stomp, romp and jump, wearing their brightly colored rubber boots. When he shouts, "I want boots!" Gossie gives him one of her red boots and Gertie hands over a blue boot. But Dunrea establishes Ollie as his own man when he adds a twist to the proceedings. With their simple watercolors and narrative, along with diminutive heroes who assert a budding independence, these tales demonstrate once again how well their creator knows his audience. Ages 2-5. (Aug.) Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature - Andrea Sears Andrews
Ollie is a gosling in his egg, refusing to come out! No matter how hard goslings Gertie and Gossie urge him to leave his egg behind, Ollie will not do it. He stands on his head, holds his breath, rolls out of the nest to be amongst pigs and sheep, but refuses to come out of his secure yet confining environment. In desperation, Gertie and Gossie even sit on Ollie's egg. The results are the same: he will not come out. Finally, the two begging goslings give up and yell as they are leaving, "Don't come out." Predictably, this is all Ollie needs. He cracks open his egg and shouts, "I'm out!" This is a sweet book designed for the very young. It contains simple humor, endearing illustrations, an easy-to-follow story line, limited text, and honest emotion. The text is repetitive without being too predictable, making it a great book for the emerging reader. This is a story that can be memorized and then read by any book enthusiast. The reverse psychology used by Gertie and Gossie at the end of the story will be enough to keep parents entertained as well; after all, it is a parent's oldest trick in the book! The book itself is small and easy for a young person's grasp. A really perfect little board book.
Children's Literature
Ollie is a gosling in his egg, refusing to come out! No matter how hard goslings Gertie and Gossie urge him to leave his egg behind, Ollie will not do it. He stands on his head, holds his breath, rolls out of the nest to be amongst pigs and sheep, but refuses to come out of his secure yet confining environment. In desperation, Gertie and Gossie even sit on Ollie's egg. The results are the same—he will not come out. Finally, the two begging goslings give up and yell as they are leaving, "Don't come out." Predictably, this is all Ollie needs. He cracks open his egg and shouts, "I'm out!" This is a sweet book designed for the very young. It contains simple humor, endearing illustrations, an easy to follow story line, limited text, and honest emotion. The text is repetitive without being too predictable, making it a great book for the emerging reader. This is a story that can be memorized and then read by any book enthusiast. The reverse psychology used by Gertie and Gossie at the end of the story will be enough to keep parents entertained as well; after all, it is a parent's oldest trick in the book! The book itself is small and easy for a young person's grasp. 2003, Houghton Mifflin Company, Ages 1 to 4.
—Andrea Sears Andrews
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1-No matter how Gossie and Gertie egg him on, a stubborn gosling refuses to hatch, until his would-be friends sit on his shell and feign indifference. An exuberant match of playful artwork and endearing characters. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Dunrea's group of cleanly attractive mini-volumes featuring gosling friends Gossie and Gertie grows by two. Gossie and Gertie gain a new friend in Ollie, who at first appears as just an egg, hilariously introduced in deadpan prose: "This is Ollie." Ollie stubbornly refuses to come out, despite Gossie and Gertie's exhortations. In true toddler fashion, as soon as Gossie and Gertie tell Ollie NOT to come out, he at last emerges. Ollie's story continues in Ollie the Stomper (ISBN 0-619-33830-2), when he follows Gossie and Gertie around and wishes he had boots like theirs, just as little siblings have always done. Dunrea's keen awareness of young children's concerns and quirks translates into charmingly simple illustrations and text. Plenty of white space reinforces the simplicity and keeps the focus on the appealing goslings; the large typeface and small trim size make these volumes especially appropriate for the youngest audience. (Picture book. 2-4)
From the Publisher

“Dunrea successfully adds to the ‘Gossie and Gertie’ cast with these endearing tales.” School Library Journal, Starred

“With their simple watercolors and narrative, along with diminutive heroes who assert a budding independence, these tales demonstrate once again how well their creator knows his audience.” Publishers Weekly, Starred

"Pre-schoolers will relate to Ollie's point of view and delight in his humorous reactions to the new world he's discovering." Booklist, ALA

“Dunrea’s keen awareness of young children’s concerns and quirks translates into charmingly simple illustrations and text.” Kirkus Reviews

"Dunrea's text...is packed with toddler-sized drama, and Gossie and Gertie easily assume the roles of older sisters dealing with a pesky but beloved younger brother." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"...the geese tromp, stomp, romp and jump around the farmyard in a way that is quite satisfying when read aloud." The New York Times Book Review

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780618755035
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
04/09/2007
Series:
Gossie and Friends Series
Edition description:
Board Book
Pages:
16
Sales rank:
140,216
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 6.00(h) x 0.86(d)
Lexile:
30L (what's this?)
Age Range:
2 - 5 Years

Meet the Author


Olivier Dunrea is the creator of beautiful and well-loved children’s books. A painter and a sculptor, his work centers around farms, animals, architecture, and folklore. He lives in the tiny village of Narrowsburg, New York, in the Catskill Mountains.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Ollie 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
grammeLC More than 1 year ago
I love all the books with Gossie, and Gertie in them and now with Ollie. I read them to my gradchildren and my daycare kids. They love them and ask for those books!!
Alychris More than 1 year ago
My son has always loved these books! He was interested in them when he was an infant and now as a toddler. He says words he may not have learned in other books...like snail, mole, bee and of course the characters names. It also helped with animal sounds and opposites. We hope to see new characters and books come out in this series!