On the Fence

On the Fence

4.7 45
by Kasie West
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

FOR sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts

See more details below

Overview

FOR sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she's spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can't solve Charlie's biggest problem: she's falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
05/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—West crafts a beautiful story that will hook lovers of contemporary teen romance. Ever since her mom died, Charlie, a 16-year-old tomboy who loves all things sports, spends most of her time playing pick-up games with her three brothers and next-door neighbor Braden. But when Charlie's dad makes her get a job to pay off a speeding ticket, she lands a job at a clothing store where she must model make-up and be more feminine than she's ever cared to be. Soon she's in over her head with lies—lying to her dad, her boss, and a cute boy who's never seen the tomboy side of her. The only thing that saves her are her late night fence chats with Braden, who she is slowly beginning to fall in love with but can't risk losing. This tale is eloquently written and goes deeper than most teen romances dare to go. For fans of Susane Colasanti and Stephanie Perkins.—Candyce Pruitt-Goddard, Hartford Public Library, CT
Publishers Weekly
05/12/2014
Sixteen-year-old tomboy Charlie Reynolds undergoes a summer of soul-searching and growth in West’s (Split Second) fourth book for teens. Raised with plenty of male influences—three brothers, her next door neighbor Braden, and a widowed police officer father—Charlie is a star athlete and well-protected from the outside world, especially when it comes to dating. Recently, Charlie has been crushing on Braden, and she’s also getting attention for her looks at her new job at a clothing store. In short, Charlie’s sense of identity is in upheaval, her intense workouts aren’t sufficient relief, and her constant nightmares about her mother’s fatal car accident are stirring up repressed memories. Nightly, Charlie and Braden find solace in sneaking out to talk to each other (Braden’s father is drinking a lot), but Charlie fears that he will never see her as anything more than just a buddy. West builds enjoyable tension and absorbing chemistry between Charlie and Braden, and her depiction of growing up surrounded by brothers is thoroughly enjoyable. Ages 13–up. Agent: Michelle Wolfson, Wolfson Literary Agency. (July)
Daisy Whitney
Praise for THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US: “THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US shines! This book is rich with sparkling dialogue, clever wit and sweet romance.”
Kiersten White
Praise for PIVOT POINT “An expertly plotted, deliciously clever story.”
Robison Wells
“PIVOT POINT is at once tense and romantic, challenging and engaging. It’s a truly remarkable debut.”
Elana Johnson
“With superb storytelling, a masterful blend of paranormal and normal, a helping of wit and humor, and a mouthwatering romance, PIVOT POINT is one of the most delicious books I’ve read.”
VOYA, August 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 3) - Nancy Wallace
Charlie (Charlotte) Reynolds is surrounded by men. She has three brothers, Gage, Jerom, and Nathan, and her dad is a cop. Charlie’s mom died in a car accident when she was little so there is no feminine influence in her life. She spends her days playing basketball, football, and soccer and watching all the big games on TV with her brothers and her next door neighbor and best friend, Brandon. She loves her life and her family until she begins to have more-than-sisterly feelings for Brandon and nightmares torture her with awful details of her mom’s accident. An expensive speeding ticket sends Charlie in search of a job at the mall where she meets Linda, the new-age proprietor of a boutique. Charlie’s tomboy lifestyle begins to change as Linda’s friends deftly bring out Charlie’s feminine style and her family reluctantly reveals the truth about her mother’s death. Through it all, Brandon proves to be more than a friend; he becomes a lover, as well. The most appealing aspect of this novel is the authenticity of its characters. Charlie and her brothers are as real as the kids next door. The dialogue is snappy, funny, and genuine. Charlie’s struggles with becoming a woman in a household of men are sensitively portrayed. The title refers to Charlie and Brandon’s midnight chats at the fence that divides their backyards. The cover art is as engaging as the novel. A great choice for book discussion groups, this book will have no trouble finding a wide audience among teenage girls. Reviewer: Nancy Wallace; Ages 11 to 18.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062235688
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/01/2014
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
9,928
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >