On the Go with Mr. and Mrs. Green
  • Alternative view 1 of On the Go with Mr. and Mrs. Green
  • Alternative view 2 of On the Go with Mr. and Mrs. Green

On the Go with Mr. and Mrs. Green

by Keith Baker
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Mr. and Mrs. Green are as busy as ever in this fourth book of their adventures together, and their usual zest for life (and delicious munchies) has not diminished a bit since we last saw them. Beginning readers will love getting green with everyone's favorite warm and wacky alligator couple.

Overview


Mr. and Mrs. Green are as busy as ever in this fourth book of their adventures together, and their usual zest for life (and delicious munchies) has not diminished a bit since we last saw them. Beginning readers will love getting green with everyone's favorite warm and wacky alligator couple.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Susan Hepler
Mr. and Mrs. Green, the loving alligators, are back in the fourth easy reader of the "Mr. And Mrs. Green" series. This time, Mr. Green practices magic with some scary but not-so-scary results, making Mrs. Green seem to disappear until he remembers the magic gestures. In a second chapter, he reads a folded note, which seems to say that Mrs. Green's cookies are terrible and that he should not eat them. Alert readers will note that the word is hyphenated along the margin of the fold, however, and correctly suspect that he is not getting the full story. But it's all right. The unfolded note reads, "These cookies are terrific! Incredible! Do not wait to eat now!" In the last chapter, two inventions enable the dynamic duo to take off. Where can they go? Anywhere, as long as they have each other. Bright acrylic illustrations interspersed with short blocks of text give the pages a pleasant, non-threatening look for those young readers uneasy with too much text. This early chapter book amuses readers visually with plenty of words italicized for emphasis, numerous numbers (including an ingenious display of doubling cookies imagined by Mr. Green), and an interesting invention diagram. It is a great find for readers, both boys and girls, who need a little more time with easy reading but also want a bit more challenging story and visuals. Go, big Greens.
School Library Journal
K-Gr 2-Mr. and Mrs. Green are back in another series of short and sweet stories. Here, the alligators practice magic tricks, indulge in some cookie snacking, and create a couple of wacky yet useful inventions. The stories will appeal to newly independent readers ready for a bit of a challenge; they are well paced and full of humor (particularly the droll asides), and illustrated in a lively and bright cartoon style. Readers who enjoy James Marshall's "George and Martha" books (Houghton) will find this couple's antics to be great fun. Baker's playful language, particularly Mr. Green's list of magic words as he tries to make his wife reappear, demonstrate that a great storyteller is not limited by an easy-reader format.-Maura Bresnahan, High Plain Elementary School, Andover, MA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
From the Publisher

"Great fun."--School Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780152057626
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
03/01/2006
Series:
Mr. and Mrs. Green Series, #4
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
72
Product dimensions:
6.25(w) x 8.75(h) x 0.45(d)
Age Range:
4 - 7 Years

Meet the Author


KEITH BAKER has written and illustrated many acclaimed picture books, including the first three titles in this series, as well as Little Green, Big Fat Hen, and Who Is the Beast? He lives in Seattle, Washington.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >