On the Go with Mr. and Mrs. Green (Mr. and Mrs. Green Series)

Overview

Mr. and Mrs. Green are as busy as ever in this fourth book of their adventures together, and their usual zest for life (and delicious munchies) has not diminished a bit since we last saw them. Beginning readers will love getting green with everyone's favorite warm and wacky alligator couple.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (6) from $21.72   
  • New (4) from $21.72   
  • Used (2) from $43.75   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Mr. and Mrs. Green are as busy as ever in this fourth book of their adventures together, and their usual zest for life (and delicious munchies) has not diminished a bit since we last saw them. Beginning readers will love getting green with everyone's favorite warm and wacky alligator couple.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Susan Hepler
Mr. and Mrs. Green, the loving alligators, are back in the fourth easy reader of the "Mr. And Mrs. Green" series. This time, Mr. Green practices magic with some scary but not-so-scary results, making Mrs. Green seem to disappear until he remembers the magic gestures. In a second chapter, he reads a folded note, which seems to say that Mrs. Green's cookies are terrible and that he should not eat them. Alert readers will note that the word is hyphenated along the margin of the fold, however, and correctly suspect that he is not getting the full story. But it's all right. The unfolded note reads, "These cookies are terrific! Incredible! Do not wait to eat now!" In the last chapter, two inventions enable the dynamic duo to take off. Where can they go? Anywhere, as long as they have each other. Bright acrylic illustrations interspersed with short blocks of text give the pages a pleasant, non-threatening look for those young readers uneasy with too much text. This early chapter book amuses readers visually with plenty of words italicized for emphasis, numerous numbers (including an ingenious display of doubling cookies imagined by Mr. Green), and an interesting invention diagram. It is a great find for readers, both boys and girls, who need a little more time with easy reading but also want a bit more challenging story and visuals. Go, big Greens.
School Library Journal
K-Gr 2-Mr. and Mrs. Green are back in another series of short and sweet stories. Here, the alligators practice magic tricks, indulge in some cookie snacking, and create a couple of wacky yet useful inventions. The stories will appeal to newly independent readers ready for a bit of a challenge; they are well paced and full of humor (particularly the droll asides), and illustrated in a lively and bright cartoon style. Readers who enjoy James Marshall's "George and Martha" books (Houghton) will find this couple's antics to be great fun. Baker's playful language, particularly Mr. Green's list of magic words as he tries to make his wife reappear, demonstrate that a great storyteller is not limited by an easy-reader format.-Maura Bresnahan, High Plain Elementary School, Andover, MA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781599613031
  • Publisher: Spotlight
  • Publication date: 9/1/2007
  • Series: Mr. and Mrs. Green Series
  • Format: Library Binding
  • Pages: 72
  • Age range: 7 - 9 Years
  • Product dimensions: 6.60 (w) x 8.80 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

KEITH BAKER has written and illustrated many acclaimed picture books, including the first three titles in this series, as well as Little Green, Big Fat Hen, and Who Is the Beast? He lives in Seattle, Washington.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)