Once In a Blue Moon by Simon R. Green | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Once In a Blue Moon

Once In a Blue Moon

4.0 7
by Simon R. Green
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Twice upon a time, Prince Rupert and Princess Julia saved the Forest Kingdom.
They have earned the right to live happily ever after.
But there’s a blue moon on the rise....

 
Hawk and Fisher, famous for their years of keeping the peace in Haven, are really quite happy being legends. They gave up the hero business when they

Overview

Twice upon a time, Prince Rupert and Princess Julia saved the Forest Kingdom.
They have earned the right to live happily ever after.
But there’s a blue moon on the rise....

 
Hawk and Fisher, famous for their years of keeping the peace in Haven, are really quite happy being legends. They gave up the hero business when they decided they’d grown too old for it. Now they run the Hero Academy, training young hopefuls to be heroes.
 
Legends never die, but it seems they cannot retire, either. Hawk and Fisher’s adult children, Jack and Gillian, have been kidnapped. They were taken by the Demon Prince, an old enemy from the Forest Kingdom who challenges the couple to one final battle for their lives. But Hawk and Fisher believe there’s another motive behind the abductions, one connected to a case they worked in Haven many years ago—a case they refuse to discuss.
 
They have no choice but to return to the Forest Kingdom, to be Prince Rupert and Princess Julia one last time in one last story—of the kind of things that happen only once in a blue moon....
 

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
11/25/2013
It’s hard to invest in an epic fantasy, even one in which the personal and political stakes are high, when it includes heavy-handed parody and rapid, credulity-straining shifts in emotions. But that’s the challenge Green has created for readers in his uneven fifth Forest Kingdom novel (after 2005’s Blue Moon Rising). A brief prologue orients the newcomer: it’s been 100 years since Prince Rupert and Princess Julia vanquished the Demon Prince, and dire omens abound. Captains Hawk and Fisher, heads of the Dutchy of Lancre’s Hero Academy, can feel danger encroaching, so they prepare to step down from their positions overseeing the training of warriors. The fast-moving plot soon involves a radical proposal to end a longstanding state of hostility between two powerful kingdoms, which coincides with the return of evil in an insidious form. After a strong start, Green falters, and readers will struggle to buy in. (Jan.)
From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF SIMON R. GREEN
 
Blue Moon Rising
 
“This fantasy adventure is one readers will savor and enjoy for a long time to come.”—Rave Reviews
 
“Delightful.”—New York Daily News
 
Beyond the Blue Moon
Chosen as one of the year’s best books by Chronicle
 
“Fans of Hawk & Fisher will particularly enjoy the revelations about the deadly duo’s background, and as always, Green provides plenty of spectacular violence and some spectacular wonders. Solving the mystery is almost incidental, but that doesn’t really matter in this engrossing adventure.”—Locus
VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Stacey Hayman
Hawk and Fisher have decided it is time to leave the Hero Academy, making way for a new couple to take over as Hawk and Fisher, as has been the tradition since the academy was created. When the supposedly vanquished Demon Prince appears and threatens to destroy their world, Hawk and Fisher agree they must reveal their true selves to properly prepare for the fight ahead. Unaware of the darkness looming, the Forest Kingdom and the Kingdom of Redhart have finally negotiated a permanent peace with an arranged royal marriage. Prince Richard and Princess Catherine, the future bride and groom, are not the only people who are displeased by the prospect, but why? As a newcomer to The Forest Kingdom series, this could have been a confusing jumble of names, places, and hints of previous events, but the author nicely balances the past and present within the action of this story. Key characters share enough backstory that their current choices resonant while creating strong connections with other characters as well as the reader. Quirky secondary characters, including Roland the Headless Axeman, the Sombre Warrior, Raven the Necromancer, and Sir Jasper the ghost, add touches of oddball humor. The political scheming is as important as the magic, blending together for a story with intriguing depth. The sheer volume of information, an occasional swear word, and a few mature references, such as the magical tantric sex classes, make this a good choice for older teens looking for engaging, epic fantasy. Reviewer: Stacey Hayman; Ages 12 to 18.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101637630
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/07/2014
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
560
Sales rank:
223,552
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF SIMON R. GREEN
 
Blue Moon Rising
 
“This fantasy adventure is one readers will savor and enjoy for a long time to come.”—Rave Reviews
 
“Delightful.”—New York Daily News
 
Beyond the Blue Moon
Chosen as one of the year’s best books by Chronicle
 
“Fans of Hawk & Fisher will particularly enjoy the revelations about the deadly duo’s background, and as always, Green provides plenty of spectacular violence and some spectacular wonders. Solving the mystery is almost incidental, but that doesn’t really matter in this engrossing adventure.”—Locus

Meet the Author

Simon R. Green is the New York Times bestselling author of Blue Moon Rising, Beyond the Blue Moon, The Adventures of Hawk&Fisher, the Novels of the Nightside, the Secret Histories Novels, and the Ghost Finders Novels.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Once in a Blue Moon 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I was incredibly excited to see another Hawke and Fisher novel and only mildly surprised to see it branded under Green's Blue Moon series. I'll always be a fan of Green but this book falls flat. I can't help but feel that the only original idea in the entire novel was the Hero Academy which is quickly forgotten in order to rehash Blue Moon Rising. The juxtaposed humor between traditional fantasy tropes and Green's characters are still great and very enjoyable, but the plot suffers. There is no growth from reveal to resolution for any character. The Hawke and Fisher legends remain exactly as they were 100 years ago. Green's plot is heavy handed and full of deus ex machina that strains credibility even for his fantasy works. Green's characters are always gods among mortals and I found their motivations lacking. That said, it's an enjoyable read for anyone familiar with Green's works and the nostalgia factor carried me through in an easy 3 day read. This is one of Green's books that I probably won't read twice but didn't regret reading once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tsukiori More than 1 year ago
It was a bit confusing that the synopsis on the back of the book wasn't really the story in the book itself! I kind of want Mr. Green to write that one as well! It was still a good story though I wish the end had had more oomph.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really good story but i wish i could get to read the previews story's before this one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When have I ever spilled a secret....? I would never tell. I'm gonna go whip up a chapter of my fanfic @ hanno res then I'm a heading for the shower. Ciao for now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Baaaaai!!!! Meh mish yew!!!! -Midnight