Once In a Blue Moon

Once In a Blue Moon

4.1 6
by Simon R. Green
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Twice upon a time, Prince Rupert and Princess Julia saved the Forest Kingdom.
They have earned the right to live happily ever after.
But there’s a blue moon on the rise....

 
Hawk and Fisher, famous for their years of keeping the peace in Haven, are really quite happy being legends. They gave up the hero business when they

See more details below

Overview

Twice upon a time, Prince Rupert and Princess Julia saved the Forest Kingdom.
They have earned the right to live happily ever after.
But there’s a blue moon on the rise....

 
Hawk and Fisher, famous for their years of keeping the peace in Haven, are really quite happy being legends. They gave up the hero business when they decided they’d grown too old for it. Now they run the Hero Academy, training young hopefuls to be heroes.
 
Legends never die, but it seems they cannot retire, either. Hawk and Fisher’s adult children, Jack and Gillian, have been kidnapped. They were taken by the Demon Prince, an old enemy from the Forest Kingdom who challenges the couple to one final battle for their lives. But Hawk and Fisher believe there’s another motive behind the abductions, one connected to a case they worked in Haven many years ago—a case they refuse to discuss.
 
They have no choice but to return to the Forest Kingdom, to be Prince Rupert and Princess Julia one last time in one last story—of the kind of things that happen only once in a blue moon....
 

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
11/25/2013
It’s hard to invest in an epic fantasy, even one in which the personal and political stakes are high, when it includes heavy-handed parody and rapid, credulity-straining shifts in emotions. But that’s the challenge Green has created for readers in his uneven fifth Forest Kingdom novel (after 2005’s Blue Moon Rising). A brief prologue orients the newcomer: it’s been 100 years since Prince Rupert and Princess Julia vanquished the Demon Prince, and dire omens abound. Captains Hawk and Fisher, heads of the Dutchy of Lancre’s Hero Academy, can feel danger encroaching, so they prepare to step down from their positions overseeing the training of warriors. The fast-moving plot soon involves a radical proposal to end a longstanding state of hostility between two powerful kingdoms, which coincides with the return of evil in an insidious form. After a strong start, Green falters, and readers will struggle to buy in. (Jan.)
From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF SIMON R. GREEN
 
Blue Moon Rising
 
“This fantasy adventure is one readers will savor and enjoy for a long time to come.”—Rave Reviews
 
“Delightful.”—New York Daily News
 
Beyond the Blue Moon
Chosen as one of the year’s best books by Chronicle
 
“Fans of Hawk & Fisher will particularly enjoy the revelations about the deadly duo’s background, and as always, Green provides plenty of spectacular violence and some spectacular wonders. Solving the mystery is almost incidental, but that doesn’t really matter in this engrossing adventure.”—Locus
VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Stacey Hayman
Hawk and Fisher have decided it is time to leave the Hero Academy, making way for a new couple to take over as Hawk and Fisher, as has been the tradition since the academy was created. When the supposedly vanquished Demon Prince appears and threatens to destroy their world, Hawk and Fisher agree they must reveal their true selves to properly prepare for the fight ahead. Unaware of the darkness looming, the Forest Kingdom and the Kingdom of Redhart have finally negotiated a permanent peace with an arranged royal marriage. Prince Richard and Princess Catherine, the future bride and groom, are not the only people who are displeased by the prospect, but why? As a newcomer to The Forest Kingdom series, this could have been a confusing jumble of names, places, and hints of previous events, but the author nicely balances the past and present within the action of this story. Key characters share enough backstory that their current choices resonant while creating strong connections with other characters as well as the reader. Quirky secondary characters, including Roland the Headless Axeman, the Sombre Warrior, Raven the Necromancer, and Sir Jasper the ghost, add touches of oddball humor. The political scheming is as important as the magic, blending together for a story with intriguing depth. The sheer volume of information, an occasional swear word, and a few mature references, such as the magical tantric sex classes, make this a good choice for older teens looking for engaging, epic fantasy. Reviewer: Stacey Hayman; Ages 12 to 18.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101637630
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/07/2014
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
560
Sales rank:
103,672
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF SIMON R. GREEN
 
Blue Moon Rising
 
“This fantasy adventure is one readers will savor and enjoy for a long time to come.”—Rave Reviews
 
“Delightful.”—New York Daily News
 
Beyond the Blue Moon
Chosen as one of the year’s best books by Chronicle
 
“Fans of Hawk & Fisher will particularly enjoy the revelations about the deadly duo’s background, and as always, Green provides plenty of spectacular violence and some spectacular wonders. Solving the mystery is almost incidental, but that doesn’t really matter in this engrossing adventure.”—Locus

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >