Once She Knew

Once She Knew

3.4 32
by Sheila Connolly
     
 

From New York Times bestselling mystery author Sheila Connolly comes a brand-new book that blends her skillful mystery talents with a touch of romantic suspense. There’s no doubt this book will appeal both to her current mystery audience as well as those readers who love authors like Lisa Gardner or Karen Rose.

Claire Hastings, professor at a… See more details below

Overview

From New York Times bestselling mystery author Sheila Connolly comes a brand-new book that blends her skillful mystery talents with a touch of romantic suspense. There’s no doubt this book will appeal both to her current mystery audience as well as those readers who love authors like Lisa Gardner or Karen Rose.

Claire Hastings, professor at a prestigious women’s college, has retreated to an isolated cabin in Maine in midwinter to work on the book that will guarantee her tenure, but she’s having trouble finishing it. Then disgraced journalist Jonathan Daulton stumbles into her cabin late one night, soaking wet and bleeding from what seems to be a gunshot wound. She recognizes him from a romantic encounter at a conference years earlier, one she’s been trying desperately to forget. Much to her relief, and embarrassment, he doesn’t appear to remember her.

When Claire learns that Jonathan is suspected of killing an FBI agent, she urges him to turn himself in immediately, but Jonathan has other ideas, all of which involve her. As he points out, if the FBI finds that she has been harboring a fugitive, she can forget about that peace and quiet she wanted. Then he shocks Claire by faking her kidnapping.

Entangled in whatever Jonathan’s mysterious troubles are, Claire finds herself on a frantic odyssey from Maine to New York City, figuring that the only way to clear her name is to clear Jonathan’s. As Jonathan gradually reveals that his real goal is to stop what he believes is a terrorist plan to assassinate the First Lady at a United Nations event, Claire knows she’s in over her head.

* Includes bonus material for Relatively Dead and Monument to the Dead by Sheila Connolly! *

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Mystery Scene - x x
“Skillfully executed . . . it’s a pleasure to accompany Nell on her quest. Fundraising the Dead is a promising debut with a winning protagonist.”
—Mystery Scene, on the first book in the Museum Mystery Series

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940015163261
Publisher:
Beyond the Page Publishing
Publication date:
08/28/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
89,410
File size:
0 MB

Meet the Author

Sheila Connolly began writing mysteries in 2001, and has since been nominated for an Agatha Award twice. Her most recent books are the New York Times bestselling SOUR APPLES (Orchard Mystery Series), and MONUMENT TO THE DEAD (Museum Mystery Series). The first book in her new County Cork Mystery series, BURIED IN A BOG, is available now. Sheila lives in Massachusetts with her husband, daughter, and three cats.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >