Once She Knew

Once She Knew

3.4 32
by Sheila Connolly
     
 
From New York Times bestselling mystery author Sheila Connolly comes a brand-new book that blends her skillful mystery talents with a touch of romantic suspense. There’s no doubt this book will appeal both to her current mystery audience as well as those readers who love authors like Lisa Gardner or Karen Rose.

Claire Hastings, professor at a

Overview

From New York Times bestselling mystery author Sheila Connolly comes a brand-new book that blends her skillful mystery talents with a touch of romantic suspense. There’s no doubt this book will appeal both to her current mystery audience as well as those readers who love authors like Lisa Gardner or Karen Rose.

Claire Hastings, professor at a prestigious women’s college, has retreated to an isolated cabin in Maine in midwinter to work on the book that will guarantee her tenure, but she’s having trouble finishing it. Then disgraced journalist Jonathan Daulton stumbles into her cabin late one night, soaking wet and bleeding from what seems to be a gunshot wound. She recognizes him from a romantic encounter at a conference years earlier, one she’s been trying desperately to forget. Much to her relief, and embarrassment, he doesn’t appear to remember her.

When Claire learns that Jonathan is suspected of killing an FBI agent, she urges him to turn himself in immediately, but Jonathan has other ideas, all of which involve her. As he points out, if the FBI finds that she has been harboring a fugitive, she can forget about that peace and quiet she wanted. Then he shocks Claire by faking her kidnapping.

Entangled in whatever Jonathan’s mysterious troubles are, Claire finds herself on a frantic odyssey from Maine to New York City, figuring that the only way to clear her name is to clear Jonathan’s. As Jonathan gradually reveals that his real goal is to stop what he believes is a terrorist plan to assassinate the First Lady at a United Nations event, Claire knows she’s in over her head.

* Includes bonus material for Relatively Dead and Monument to the Dead by Sheila Connolly! *

Editorial Reviews

Mystery Scene - x x
“Skillfully executed . . . it’s a pleasure to accompany Nell on her quest. Fundraising the Dead is a promising debut with a winning protagonist.”
—Mystery Scene, on the first book in the Museum Mystery Series

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940015163261
Publisher:
Beyond the Page Publishing
Publication date:
08/28/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
185,978
File size:
356 KB

Meet the Author

Sheila Connolly began writing mysteries in 2001, and has since been nominated for an Agatha Award twice. Her most recent books are the New York Times bestselling SOUR APPLES (Orchard Mystery Series), and MONUMENT TO THE DEAD (Museum Mystery Series). The first book in her new County Cork Mystery series, BURIED IN A BOG, is available now. Sheila lives in Massachusetts with her husband, daughter, and three cats.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Once She Knew 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
doggis More than 1 year ago
Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. will order more from this talented author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not your modern 3-hour read. Well written with substantial story line. I'm hooked on Sheila Connolly books now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked Nici read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Possomholler More than 1 year ago
When I bought this book it was the best $3.20 I have spent in a long time. This is a great mystery book that keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. I was hooked from the first to the last page. I think anyone that likes suspense will want to read this one. I look forward to reading more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! Sometimes you just need a "feel good" book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Minnesota_knitter More than 1 year ago
Could hardly put it down - fast moving. Great Saturday afternoon activity
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hero not very heroic----pretty much overshadowed by the heroine and the other women in the story. The bomb-in-the-bra was most ingenuous; much of the rest of the plot wasn't very believable. Excellently crafted dialogue. Enjoyed the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jacqueline05 More than 1 year ago
This was an ok book , not something I would read again. The storyline is alright, not great. The book starts off super slow just to get to the suspense and leaves you wanting to skip a few pages just to get to the good part of the book , it drags on for almost half of the book. I would only read this if I have nothing else good to read on a rainy day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lb2ak More than 1 year ago
I don't usually read this type of book. But once I started I couldn't put it down and was sorry when it ended. Would highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
could not put it down very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the quick-read mystery that many people may enjoy. I, personally, prefer a mystery that is not so contrived in its plot. When the leading man ends up at the heroine's cabin in the woods by chance and is the same man with whom the heroine had a fling 5 years earlier, I felt it was too contrived. The chase to save the Secretary of State from assassination was good but was once again, I felt manipulated into thinking the events could have occurred. In fact, they were set up for the reader. I would not read another book by this author. However, there may be many people who like a light-read mystery with not too much depth to it. I approve of the manner in which the love relationship was handled since I do not read sexually explicit novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've read by this author & plan to read more.