Once Upon a Kiss

Once Upon a Kiss

3.9 16
by Claire Delacroix
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For over a thousand years - so legend has it - the brambles have grown wild over the ruins of Dunhelm Castle. Many believed that the thorns were a sign that the castle was cursed, so no one dared to trespass, and the secrets that they protected and concealed have remained hidden - until now...

Armed with a pair of gardening shears, Baird Beauforte is

Overview

For over a thousand years - so legend has it - the brambles have grown wild over the ruins of Dunhelm Castle. Many believed that the thorns were a sign that the castle was cursed, so no one dared to trespass, and the secrets that they protected and concealed have remained hidden - until now...

Armed with a pair of gardening shears, Baird Beauforte is determined to clear away the brambles that hinder the development of his resort, and he won't let local superstition deter him. Dunhelm Castle is supposed to be the latest jewel in the Beauforte Resort chain, but the renovations can't be finished if the workmen are frightened of a so-called curse. To dispel any lingering fears, Baird decides to vanquish the briars himself. What he never expects is to find a mysterious slumbering beauty...

Aurelia is like no one he has ever met before. Upon awakening, she demands to know his identity and why he is in her father's castle! Bemused by he claim of being a king's daughter, he is certain he has never met this "princess" before, although something about her rouses a haunting sense of familiarity. Soon, dreams plague this by-the-book businessman... dreams that feel more like memories. And Baird begins to wonder if he can claim his heart's princess - now and forever - with a kiss.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Delightful!"
-The Toronto Star

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780987839947
Publisher:
Deborah A. Cooke
Publication date:
02/28/2012
Pages:
320
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.67(d)

Meet the Author

Bestselling author Claire Delacroix sold her first romance, a medieval called THE ROMANCE OF THE ROSE, in 1992. Since then, she has published more than forty-five romance novels and numerous novellas. She has also written under the names Claire Cross and Deborah Cooke. THE BEAUTY, part of her successful Bride Quest series, was her first book to land on the New York Times List of Bestselling Books.

She has an honours degree in history, with a focus on medieval studies, and is an avid reader of medieval vernacular literature, fairy tales and fantasy novels. She makes her home in Canada with her husband and family. When she isn't writing, she can be found knitting, sewing or hunting for vintage patterns.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Once Upon A Kiss 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
brandisHI More than 1 year ago
it's the perfect fairytale for anyone searching for a draw you in read you can't put down. this is definitely one for the heart strings
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the mystery and time travel aspect. Very good read. I love castles and all the mystery that goes with them.
Future-Author More than 1 year ago
Talented author indeed! This book is a spinoff of a classic Sleeping Beauty tale but with a twist. It opens in the 800's where the Beauty's Father is a Viking defending his castle and his daughter falls into a 1000 year slumber due to a witch's spell awaiting her one true love to awaken her with a kiss. If I remember correctly it was about 600 or 800 pages on my nook. A nice story you can get caught up in and won't want to put down.
dkbrick73 4 months ago
This was a retelling of sleeping beauty, and since I enjoy all fairy tales, I really liked it! The only part I thought went a bit slow was how long it took Aurelia (the princess) to figure out the real time. It seemed somewhat unreasonable that she could see cars, indoor plumbing, helicopters, etc, and still believe they were just magic. But the love story between her and Baird (the prince) was very sweet and rewarding! I don't really buy into the whole reincarnation thing, so I was not impressed with that part of the story, but it did play a big part, so if you have a problem with it, be warned! It was a HEA ending, like all good fairy tales and you come away with that warm fuzzy feeling! At least I did! I was given a copy by the publisher in return for an honest review.
tinajg 6 months ago
This is a fairy tale that has been written to include time travel and reincarnation; and isn’t your normal fairy tale as the author puts quite a spin on this story. It was cute, funny and even entertaining so if you enjoy reading a different twist regarding sleeping beauty story, then you would probably enjoy this book. The story is about a developer, Baird Beauforte who takes a pair of gardening shears and clears away brambles while developing his new resort. Baird ends up finding a sleeping beauty Aurelia, who has been sleeping for over a thousand years per local legend and awakens her with a kiss. Baird doesn’t realize Aurelia is not from this time period and thinks she may be a little off in the head or trying to manipulate him. However, there is a sense of familiarity and he starts having dreams that you realize are actually his memories from the past. Also, as reading the story, it becomes clear that the characters of his friend Julian, and Marissa, a designer were part of Baird past. Overall, the author did a pretty good job of mixing the past and present. Copy gifted by the Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
roseprincess2485 8 months ago
Once Upon a Kiss was a good read if you want something light and easy. I enjoyed the characters and the basis behind the story line but I do think it could have been executed a bit better. After awhile I got tired of the main female character Aurelia's insisting on finding her father and her not wanting to come to terms with the fact that she slept for over a thousand years. It takes more than half the book for her to even think it's a possibility. To me, that in turn means that her male counterpart, Baird, just thinks she is crazy because she doesn't recognize modern technologies and speaks differently. The interaction between the two could have been developed a little better. The story line itself was great. I liked the concept behind the story but I wish there was a little more detail and insight into the characters and their pasts. Copy Gifted by the Publisher in Exchange for an Honest Review
lucy117 9 months ago
The Prophecy has come true!!! Aurelia wants to help her father in the war against Bard, son of Erc. However the curse has become true. Baird Beauforte wants to build a resort in Dunhelm Castle. While cutting brambles he finds a tomb. This is a tale of sleeping beauty in modern times. Love knows no time!!! “Copy gifted by the Publisher in exchange for an honest review”
MyBookAddictionandMore 9 months ago
Once Upon A Kiss by Claire Delacroix, Deborah Cooke, Claire Cross is a unique Time Travel with Paranormal elements. A "Sleeping Beauty" type of romantic tale, with some mystery, a bit of humor, and romance, interwined with history and folklore. Well written with a unique look at Time Travel. Fans of Time Travel, Historical Romance, "Sleeping Beauty" type of tales, and tales with a uniqueness from beginning to end, will find this an enjoyable and delightful read! There are excerpts from "LOVE POTION #9" and "THE COUNTESS" included. "Copy gifted by the Publisher in exchange for an honest review". Rating: 4 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR
Robindpdx 10 months ago
I enjoyed this book very much. It was well-written, sweet, entertaining and there were suspenseful moments. This was based on the Sleeping Beauty story. Aurelia is a Viking/Pictish princess in the 800s who is awakened in the present time by Baird Beauforte, a hotel developer. It was fun to read how things worked out. A copy of this book was gifted by the Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
LilyPrincess 11 months ago
"Once Upon a Kiss" was an interesting take on "Sleeping Beauty". The time travel aspect provided some interesting details in the characters' development and history. The side stories within the tale were interesting as well, dealing with relatives of the main characters. It was a nice blend of fairy tale and time travel. Copy gifted by the Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book for light reading to kids also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too fairy taling for me sorry I bought it love time travel but not this one