Once You Break a Knuckle

Once You Break a Knuckle

2.0 1
by D. W. Wilson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the remote Kootenay Valley in western Canada, good people sometimes do bad things. Two bullied adolescents sabotage a rope swing, resulting in another boy's death. A heartbroken young man chooses not to warn his best friend about an approaching car. Sons challenge fathers and break taboos.

Crackling with tension and propelled by jagged, cutting dialogue, D

Overview

In the remote Kootenay Valley in western Canada, good people sometimes do bad things. Two bullied adolescents sabotage a rope swing, resulting in another boy's death. A heartbroken young man chooses not to warn his best friend about an approaching car. Sons challenge fathers and break taboos.

Crackling with tension and propelled by jagged, cutting dialogue, D.W. Wilson's stories reveal to us how our best intentions can be doomed to fail or injure, how our loves can fall short or mislead us, how even friendship-especially friendship-can be something dangerously temporary. An intoxicating cocktail of adrenaline and vulnerability, doggedness and dignity, Once You Break a Knuckle explores the courage it takes just to make it through another day.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Full of life . . . Emotionally powerful . . .Wilson, in the tradition of modern masters like Peter Taylor and Edward P. Jones, makes great use of the underutilized flash-forward to contextualize all that has come before, and to convey the sometimes horrific consequences of what he has just shown us.” —The New York Times Book Review

“A massive achievement” —The Guardian

“The stories patiently gather the full power of a novel. By the time he's done, Mr. Wilson has mapped this place as precisely as any cartographer could.” —The New York Times

“Powerful . . . [Wilson writes] with strength, passion (a not unmixed affection), wit, and compelling imagery . . . Will appeal to readers of Russell Banks and Daniel Woodrell.” —Booklist

“A master of atmospheric detail.” —Publishers Weekly

“There's no denying its raw power.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Seems to tap effortlessly into a collective subconscious.” —The Globe and Mail

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781620400807
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
01/24/2014
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

D.W. Wilson was born and raised in the small towns of the Kootenay Valley, British Columbia. He is the recipient of the University of East Anglia's inaugural Man Booker Prize Scholarship - the most prestigious award available to students in the MA programme. His stories have appeared in literary magazines across Canada, Ireland and the United Kingdom, and 'The Dead Roads' won the BBC National Short Story Award in 2011. He lives in London.
D. W. Wilson was born and raised in the small towns of the Kootenay Valley, British Columbia. He is the recipient of the University of East Anglia's inaugural Man Booker Prize Scholarship - the most prestigious award available to students in the MA programme. His stories have appeared in literary magazines across Canada, Ireland and the United Kingdom, and 'The Dead Roads' won the BBC National Short Story Award in 2011. He lives in Cambridge. Once You Break a Knuckle, his debut story collection, was published by Bloomsbury in 2012. It was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize. His debut novel, Ballistics, will be published by Bloomsbury in August 2013.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Once You Break a Knuckle 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago