One Hundred Names: A Novel

One Hundred Names: A Novel

4.3 16
by Cecelia Ahern
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Internationally bestselling author Cecelia Ahern's One Hundred Names is the story of secrets, second chances, and the hidden connections that unite our lives—a universal tale that will grip you with its emotional power and mesmerize you with its magic.

Scandal has derailed Journalist Kitty Logan's career, a setback that is soon compounded by

See more details below

Overview

Internationally bestselling author Cecelia Ahern's One Hundred Names is the story of secrets, second chances, and the hidden connections that unite our lives—a universal tale that will grip you with its emotional power and mesmerize you with its magic.

Scandal has derailed Journalist Kitty Logan's career, a setback that is soon compounded by an even more devastating loss. Constance, the woman who taught Kitty everything she knew, is dying. At her mentor's bedside, Kitty asks her—what is the one story she always wanted to write?

The answer lies in a single sheet of paper buried in Constance's office—a list of 100 names—with no notes or explanation. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late.

Determined to unlock the mystery and rebuild her own shaky confidence, Kitty throws herself into the investigation, using her skills and savvy to track down each of the names on the list and uncover their connection. Meeting these ordinary people and learning their stories, Kitty begins to piece together an unexpected portrait of Constance's life. . . and starts to understand her own.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Adriana Trigiani
“Cecelia Ahern’s novels are like a box of emeralds. You can not pick the most beautiful from the lot . . . However, One Hundred Names is so original and inventive, it’s the jewel in the crown.”
Booklist
“This heartwarming tale won’t disappoint Ahern’s many fans.”
Romantic Times (4 Stars)
“A story about hidden links between strangers, unexpected second chances and the transformative power of human connection, Ahern’s latest does not disappoint. The lives of the initially unrelated characters slowly weave together as the pages turn, bringing hope to the hearts of readers and tears to their eyes.”
Bookreporter.com
“Cecilia Ahern’s many fans know to expect the unexpected from this gifted writer, who manages to surprise us yet again.”
Kirkus Reviews
2014-03-05
Telling other people's stories isn't just about entertainment or news. Reporter Kitty Logan is about to learn that it's about love, too. After she publicly accuses an innocent teacher of having sexual relations with two students, Kitty's journalistic career lies in tatters. TV show Thirty Minutes has dropped her, vigilantes are vandalizing her door every day, her landlord wants her out, and her best friend has accused her of being a self-centered bully. Worse, her mentor, the brilliantly idiosyncratic Constance Dubois, is dying of cancer. Constance and her husband run Etcetera, a magazine devoted to real stories, not fashion trends or celebrity gossip. Without Constance's support, Kitty will likely lose her job there, as well. But just before she dies, Constance sets Kitty on a mission to write the story she never got the chance to write herself. It's the journalistic chance of a lifetime, but all Kitty has is a list of 100 names. Constance left her no direction, no thesis, no idea of why anyone is on the list, much less what they might have in common. When Kitty begins to call them, no one on the list has ever heard of Constance, either. Determined to honor her friend's memory, Kitty diligently continues the interviews, and soon she finds herself immersed in their extraordinarily ordinary stories. Her world quickly populates with a sweet old lady, a painfully shy butterfly expert, a hairstylist besieged by marriage proposals, an ex-convict with a mysterious new talent, an extremely dedicated gift buyer and two displaced workers seeking fame. As she staves off inquiries from her editor, Kitty buys just enough time to let this quirky crew help her fix not only her moral compass but also her love life. Ahern (How to Fall in Love, 2013, etc.) once again spins a charming tale of redemption and romance.
Library Journal
05/01/2014
Irish journalist Kitty Logan scrambles to save her job at a popular magazine as she recovers from a double whammy of loss. After being let go from her television gig because of her part in a libelous story that ruined a man's reputation, she suffered the death of her mentor Constance, founder of the magazine that is Kitty's remaining employer. The scandal has severely tarnished her professional reputation, and Kitty is given one last chance to develop an unexplained story idea left behind by Constance. A list of 100 names, with no contact information and no apparent connection, is all she has to work with. As Kitty races against her deadline to track down the people on the list and determine how they are linked, she slowly begins to regain her confidence. Although a concluding scene bringing together all the people Kitty has found is slightly implausible and saccharine, there is a satisfying and cheering resolution to the mystery of how the names are tied together. VERDICT A sweet read with humorous language, charming characters, a touch of romance, and just the right amount of mystery. For fans of Sarah Jio, Jill Mansell, or Sophie Kinsella.—Emily Byers, Tillamook Cty. Lib., OR

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062248633
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/06/2014
Pages:
496
Sales rank:
136,639
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.30(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >