One Lavender Ribbon

( 3 )

Overview

Can a stack of long-hidden love letters from a WWII war hero inspire a heartbroken woman to love again?

Reeling from a bitter divorce, Adrienne Carter abandons Chicago and retreats to the sun, sand, and beauty of Southern Florida, throwing herself into the restoration of a dilapidated old Victorian beach house. Early into the renovations, she discovers a tin box hidden away in the attic that reveals the emotional letters from a WWII paratrooper...

See more details below
Paperback
$10.24
BN.com price
(Save 21%)$12.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (11) from $7.22   
  • New (8) from $7.22   
  • Used (3) from $10.23   
Sending request ...

Overview

Can a stack of long-hidden love letters from a WWII war hero inspire a heartbroken woman to love again?

Reeling from a bitter divorce, Adrienne Carter abandons Chicago and retreats to the sun, sand, and beauty of Southern Florida, throwing herself into the restoration of a dilapidated old Victorian beach house. Early into the renovations, she discovers a tin box hidden away in the attic that reveals the emotional letters from a WWII paratrooper to a young woman who lived in the house more than a half-century earlier.

The old letters—incredibly poetic and romantic—transcend time, and they arouse in Adrienne a curiosity that leads her to track down the writer of the letters. William “Pops” Bryant is now an old man living in a nearby town with his handsome but overprotective grandson, Will. As Adrienne begins to unravel the secrets of the letters (and the Bryants), she finds herself not yet willing to give up entirely on love.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781477823149
  • Publisher: Amazon Publishing
  • Publication date: 7/1/2014
  • Pages: 336
  • Sales rank: 73,524
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.10 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Most Poignant Love Story!

    ne Lavender Ribbon by Heather Burch is a poignant love story, flashing back from past to present, with three generations of love, loss, joy and tragedy.

    Adrienne Carter, 28 years old, is finally free of her verbally abusive and controlling husband of six years, and flees Chicago to start over on the Gulf Coast of Florida in Bonita Springs, Florida (near Naples).

    South Floridian myself, (east coast), I often take weekend trips over to the (west coast) and one of my favorite places to stay is the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa in Bonita Springs (heavenly)!

    The older bungalow needs many repairs and Adrienne becomes engrossed in renovation. While in the attic she discovers a box and finds love letters, from the early 1940s, addressed to Grace, written by William.

    She is curious and has a strong desire to find these two people, and wonders if they are still alive. She dreams of a love this strong and becomes obsessed with finding them. In her search, she locates William Bryant (81 yr old veteran of WWII, residing with his not so pleasant grandson Will (bank manager), who is very overprotective of his grandfather.

    Adrienne becomes intensely involved with this family, and is drawn to the letters, the time, and gets caught up in their lives. (as well as with the grandson), except he is a little harder to crack. The older grandfather’s wife has died; however, Adrienne becomes engrossed with reuniting these two, no matter what. There are several different stories involved and the author blends them seamlessly.

    This is the most beautiful love story, and can honestly say, I enjoyed this book more than any other historical fiction I have read, recently. Even though I find multi-generational novels intriguing, sometimes they can get very boring when flashing back to the early days.

    However, what made One Lavender Ribbon, so unique and held my interest-- was the tone and pace of the novel—it captures you, and keeps you engaged without being so overpowered by the past. The story connects all three generations, when things are not always as they appear. Each generation learns from the other.

    Would highly recommend the audiobook, as a narrator can make or break a novel, and in this case, Emily Sutton-Smith was outstanding—her voice is so soothing! I took the day off from work, on a beautiful day, breeze blowing, enjoying a swing overlooking a lake, and hiked through the forest and the audiobook transported me to a serene state of mind. (with tears and smiles).

    Highly recommend to readers enjoying old fashioned genuine romance, chick-lit, historical fiction, and contemporary. Fans of Nicholas Sparks, and Sarah Jio will certainly enjoy Heather Burch’s style, and fall in love with these lovable characters with a take away you will not soon forget!

    This was my first book by Burch, and look forward to reading more from this talented author. BTW, Love the front cover and the amazing quotes!

    “Someone strong, but not overbearing. Fiercely devoted, but not crazed. Someone who could protect me, but gentle enough to reach into my soul without destroying my spirit.”¿ Heather Burch, One Lavender Ribbon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    This is a beautiful story about relationships, and being mindful

    This is a beautiful story about relationships, and being mindful of how we treat others. Not a perfect book and a bit silly at times (Will has a tendency to act like a 13 year old instead of a grown man). But it left me feeling very uplifted and wanting to remind everyone I love how much I appreciate them. Definitely a book I want to keep to read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book brings you the story of love lost, love found and the

    This book brings you the story of love lost, love found and the characters and people involved in finding such love. It will touch every reader on some portion of their heart and soul. It's brings to life unforgettable characters in a book that will soon be on everyone must read list

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)