One Summer

One Summer

4.3 27
by Karen Robards
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

He was pure, unadulterated trouble.  Johnny Harris is home again, his too-tight jeans and damn-your-eyes belligerence honed to perfection by a ten-year stretch in federal prison for murder.  Now he's out on parole and ready for the job Rachel Grant has promised to help him begin a new life.  Unlike the rest of the town, Rachel has always

Overview

He was pure, unadulterated trouble.  Johnny Harris is home again, his too-tight jeans and damn-your-eyes belligerence honed to perfection by a ten-year stretch in federal prison for murder.  Now he's out on parole and ready for the job Rachel Grant has promised to help him begin a new life.  Unlike the rest of the town, Rachel has always believed in her former student's innocence.  But one thing has changed...

The sullenly handsome boy she remembers is still sullen, still handsome...but no longer a boy.  And now the small Kentucky town is alive with gossip and whispers of a scandal, as friendship turns to passion and Rachel abandons a lifetime of propriety in the ex-con's arms.  Then the killer strikes again. All evidence points to Johnny Harris, but Rachel knows he is innocent.  And she knows she is next...as a shattering truth is uncovered and dark passions explode in the relentless summer heat.


From the Paperback edition.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Robards ( Nobody's Angel ) here mixes suspense with romance, with uneven results. Teacher Rachel Grant, the daughter of a prominent family, agrees to give a former student a job when he gets out of prison after serving 11 years on a murder conviction. Rachel has always believed that Johnny Harris did not kill the girl he was dating, but everyone else in their small Kentucky town thinks otherwise. Johnny liberates Rachel from her well-planned but lonely life, and their mutual attraction grows into a relationship between soul mates, scandalizing the townspeople. When another girlfriend of Johnny's turns up dead, Rachel staunchly defends him and searches for the real murderer; her loyalty allows Johnny to escape the past and begin his life again. Though Robards provides an entertaining read about romantic renewals, several elements combine to make the plot seem farfetched. Johnny's transformation from hoodlum to law student is too rapid, the identity and motive of the true murderer seem implausible, and characters are too sketchily developed to make their motivations credible. (Feb.)
Library Journal
In this riveting tale of romantic suspense, Johnny Harris returns to the small Kentucky town of Tylerville after serving ten years in prison for the murder of his high school girlfriend. His former teacher, Rachel Grant, the only person to believe in his innocence, barely recognizes the angry, embittered man her old student has become. The two are nonetheless strongly attracted to each other and begin an affair that scandalizes an already hostile town. When a woman is brutally murdered in circumstances pointing to Johnny as the killer, Rachel provides him with an alibi that few people believe. Hard to put down, this entertaining romance/mystery will surely fly off the shelves. Fans of Sandra Brown and Nora Roberts will love it. Highly recommended for public libraries. Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 11/1/92.-- Elizabeth Mellett, Brookline P.L., Mass.
Denise Perry Donavin
When Johnny Harris, the bad boy of the town of Tylerville, is released from prison and returns home, the whispers about his murder conviction and his involvement with Miss Rachael Grant, the schoolteacher who helped him get paroled, fill the local grapevine. Rachael finds herself drawn to this motorcycle-riding antithesis of her prim and proper fiance. She is the only witness to Harris' innocence when another ghastly murder, identical in method to the one that he was convicted of, disrupts the town. Robards' novel is full of steamy and scary scenes, ending with the unveiling of a surprising villain.
From the Publisher
"Riveting."
The Orlando Sentinel

"Sizzling, spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat gripping."
Affaire de Coeur

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780307801371
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/27/2011
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
109,789
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Karen Robards is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than forty books as well as one novella. The mother of three boys, she lives in her hometown of Louisville, Kentucky.

Kate Fleming (1965–2006) trained at Actor’s Theatre of Louisville and spent a number of years performing in Washington, DC. In addition to the more than one hundred audio books she narrated, Kate’s voice has been heard on public television, CD-ROM games, and commercials.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

One Summer 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book years ago; but I had to downsize, after the kids went to college and during the move I lost it. Now l'm happy I found it again in the nook, because it is a big favorite. Also a big favorite is "After the Night", give it a try if you haven't read it, you won't be sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read from karen
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read but not her best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it a few times. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read before bedtime
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the hero Johnny the ex con, super bad boy, with a brain. The heroine was to perfect, stiff and boring. Covers quite a few taboos teacher/ student affair, parole after 10yrs. for murder and younger man/ older woman. It could have been better, but did love Johnny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. I never read a book twice but I will make an exception with this one. I just wish there was a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A steamy read with vulnerable,sexy character's. One of those books you will read again and again! My all time favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love2read50 More than 1 year ago
A lovely, spicy romance to warm you on a winter night; coupled with a murder mystery to keep you intrigued. A hero, vulnerable enough to be believable will make you want to keep turning the pages. It's a book I've reread many times.
NonieCC More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite by a long shot. Kinda high school-ish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Johnny Harris is considered 'trash' by the people of town. When he is convicted of murder, on very little evidence, most people see it as no more than could be expected out of 'his kind'. But Rachel Grant, who always does the proper thing, never believed in his guilt. As his ex-teacher she saw a side of Johnny that others never did. When Johnny comes home he's belligerent and angry. He's also as hooked on Rachel as he has been for half of his life, but feels she could never be happy with a guy like him. It's both heartbreaking and heartwarming to watch these two try to overcome the differences in their personalities and life styles to be together. Granted there wasn't much murder mystery involved but it wasn't needed with the rest of this story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my ALL TIME favorite book. I absolutely love it. The love story between Rachel and Johnny is romantic, hot, exciting, riveting and sweet. I felt so bad for Johnny's upbringing/childhood and the events that lead up to his incarceration. He seemed like such a sweet and well intentioned character and, unfortunately, bad things happen to nice people. Rachel is equally as sweet. She doesn't have a bad bone in her body and you can totally understand why she and Johnny make a beautiful couple. This is a great book and I highly recommend to anyone looking for a little alone time in the world of Rachel & Johnny! Only ONE complaint: We didn't get a lot of insight into what Johnny was thinking. I think there's like two pages or so (maybe more) devoted to Johnny's point of view. The rest are all about Rachel's thought's. I don't know. Maybe Johnny's actions speak louder than words. It was a great read, however. I loved it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the most ROMANTIC book I have read to date by Karen Robards. Ms. Robard's is a master at combining romance and mystery into her books. Her books come to life with each turn of the page. I couldn't put this book down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Never before have I read a novel so captivating in all my literary experiences. 'One Summer' fiercely held my heart and soul from the primary page to Johnny's verbal long awaited 'I love you' on the last. This has been my first Robard's experience and I HIGHLY recommend that if you're an escapist you read it. You'll be filled with immense enthusiasm as you tear through each page with thirst for what's to happen next. Be sure to lay yourself down without anticipation of getting up because you'll be reluctant to put away this shear indulgence.