BN.com Gift Guide

Oops!: A Diaper David Book

( 3 )

Overview


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oops! Did somebody make a mess?! Join David as he finds himself in a few sticky situations, and learn his five favorite words along the way. From throwing a ball to riding a tricycle to taking a bath, David sometimes has a little too much fun. But he knows there's nothing better than ...

See more details below
Board Book
$6.99
BN.com price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Board Book)
  • All (73) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $3.00   
  • Used (60) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oops! Did somebody make a mess?! Join David as he finds himself in a few sticky situations, and learn his five favorite words along the way. From throwing a ball to riding a tricycle to taking a bath, David sometimes has a little too much fun. But he knows there's nothing better than cuddling with Mama at the end of a busy and exciting day. With the same irresistible humor and vibrant style as his award-winning No, David! books, David Shannon takes us back to the "early years" of his most beloved character. Perfect for beginning readers as well as for the youngest children!

David speaks new words as he goes through his day.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Original board books and sturdy editions for smallest hands top the shelves this winter. Fans of David Shannon's No, David! will clamor for two original Diaper David Books: Oops! and Oh, David! The first title introduces David's first words, accompanied by appropriate sound effects. The opening spread, for instance, shows "Ball" in upper and lower case letters while, opposite, the hero peers through a broken window, "Uh-oh!" The second title showcases choice words from Mommy: "Open up, Davey!" says she as the fellow refuses food; "Go to sleep, David!" depicts the wide-eyed toddler upright in his crib. These are a must for youngest book lovers and their caregivers. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature
David has gotten in trouble and he's gone to school but David now ventures into the board book format. This new "Diaper David" book follows David as a diaper-wearing toddler who, like any toddler worth their salt, gets into trouble as he explores his world. Nothing serious, of course, just enough to keep Mom on her toes. In Oh, David! (another new "Diaper David" book) and OOPS!, mom's face remains hidden and she is always there at the end to deliver that reassuring message: I love you. For fans of David, OOPS! is a little gem. 2005, Blue Sky Press/Scholastic, Ages 3 to 5.
—Joan Kindig, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
PreS-Shannon is a master at capturing the behavior of young children in an endearing and humorous manner, and he continues to prove it with these two board books. Much like a simplified version of No, David! (Scholastic, 1998), Oh, David! communicates a mother's exasperation with her active son. "David's Mommy always said-Oh, David!" after he unrolls yards of toilet paper; "Open up, Davey" as he squirms, pinch-faced, away from the spoon; and "P.U.!" as he sits proudly in an obviously loaded diaper. "Oh David, I love you" ends the busy day as the two cozily sit and read together. Oops! explores some of the youngster's first words: Ball, Dog, Ride, Eat, Bath, and Mama. Wonderfully juxtaposed to each of these utterances is a colorful scene illustrating the related activity: a broken window, spilled food, a big gap-toothed smile as David enjoys the bliss of a bath, and a peaceful rest in his mother's arms. Although the intended audience may not fully appreciate the art or all of the humor, the books will have wide appeal.-Piper L. Nyman, formerly at Fairfield Civic Center Library, CA Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780439688826
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
  • Publication date: 2/1/2005
  • Series: Oops!
  • Pages: 12
  • Sales rank: 138,968
  • Age range: 3 - 5 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.84 (w) x 6.98 (h) x 0.55 (d)

Meet the Author

David Shannon

David Shannon is the internationally acclaimed creator of more than thirty picture books, including NO, DAVID!, a Caldecott Honor Book and his second NEW YORK TIMES Best Illustrated Book of the Year. In addition to three more David picture books, Shannon’s bestsellers include TOO MANY TOYS; HOW GEORGIE RADBOURN SAVED BASEBALL (newly released in 2012); A BAD CASE OF STRIPES; DUCK ON A BIKE; ALICE THE FAIRY; and GOOD BOY, FERGUS! A native of Spokane, Washington, he is an avid fisherman. He and his family live in California.
Read More Show Less
    1. Hometown:
      Los Angeles, California
    1. Date of Birth:
      October 5, 1960
    2. Place of Birth:
      Washington, D. C. (Raised in Spokane, Washington)
    1. Education:
      B.A., Art Center College of Design

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    My little boys loved this book as a toddler, and still loves it

    My little boys loved this book as a toddler, and still loves it today at six. Would recommend all the David books. They are funny and educational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)