Oops!: A Diaper David Book by David Shannon, Board Book | Barnes & Noble
Oops!: A Diaper David Book

Oops!: A Diaper David Book

4.6 3
by David Shannon
     
 

Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oops! Did somebody make a mess?! Join David as he finds himself in a few sticky situations, and learn his five favorite words along the way. From throwing a ball to riding

Overview


Caldecott Honor artist David Shannon is back with an all-new, original board book that lets young readers see what the star of the bestselling No, David! books did as a troublemaking toddler.

Oops! Did somebody make a mess?! Join David as he finds himself in a few sticky situations, and learn his five favorite words along the way. From throwing a ball to riding a tricycle to taking a bath, David sometimes has a little too much fun. But he knows there's nothing better than cuddling with Mama at the end of a busy and exciting day. With the same irresistible humor and vibrant style as his award-winning No, David! books, David Shannon takes us back to the "early years" of his most beloved character. Perfect for beginning readers as well as for the youngest children!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Original board books and sturdy editions for smallest hands top the shelves this winter. Fans of David Shannon's No, David! will clamor for two original Diaper David Books: Oops! and Oh, David! The first title introduces David's first words, accompanied by appropriate sound effects. The opening spread, for instance, shows "Ball" in upper and lower case letters while, opposite, the hero peers through a broken window, "Uh-oh!" The second title showcases choice words from Mommy: "Open up, Davey!" says she as the fellow refuses food; "Go to sleep, David!" depicts the wide-eyed toddler upright in his crib. These are a must for youngest book lovers and their caregivers. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature
David has gotten in trouble and he's gone to school but David now ventures into the board book format. This new "Diaper David" book follows David as a diaper-wearing toddler who, like any toddler worth their salt, gets into trouble as he explores his world. Nothing serious, of course, just enough to keep Mom on her toes. In Oh, David! (another new "Diaper David" book) and OOPS!, mom's face remains hidden and she is always there at the end to deliver that reassuring message: I love you. For fans of David, OOPS! is a little gem. 2005, Blue Sky Press/Scholastic, Ages 3 to 5.
—Joan Kindig, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
PreS-Shannon is a master at capturing the behavior of young children in an endearing and humorous manner, and he continues to prove it with these two board books. Much like a simplified version of No, David! (Scholastic, 1998), Oh, David! communicates a mother's exasperation with her active son. "David's Mommy always said-Oh, David!" after he unrolls yards of toilet paper; "Open up, Davey" as he squirms, pinch-faced, away from the spoon; and "P.U.!" as he sits proudly in an obviously loaded diaper. "Oh David, I love you" ends the busy day as the two cozily sit and read together. Oops! explores some of the youngster's first words: Ball, Dog, Ride, Eat, Bath, and Mama. Wonderfully juxtaposed to each of these utterances is a colorful scene illustrating the related activity: a broken window, spilled food, a big gap-toothed smile as David enjoys the bliss of a bath, and a peaceful rest in his mother's arms. Although the intended audience may not fully appreciate the art or all of the humor, the books will have wide appeal.-Piper L. Nyman, formerly at Fairfield Civic Center Library, CA Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780439688826
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
02/01/2005
Series:
Oops!
Pages:
12
Sales rank:
177,151
Product dimensions:
5.84(w) x 6.98(h) x 0.55(d)
Age Range:
3 - 5 Years

Meet the Author


David Shannon is the internationally acclaimed creator of more than thirty picture books, including NO, DAVID!, a Caldecott Honor Book and his second NEW YORK TIMES Best Illustrated Book of the Year. In addition to three more David picture books, Shannon’s bestsellers include TOO MANY TOYS; HOW GEORGIE RADBOURN SAVED BASEBALL (newly released in 2012); A BAD CASE OF STRIPES; DUCK ON A BIKE; ALICE THE FAIRY; and GOOD BOY, FERGUS! A native of Spokane, Washington, he is an avid fisherman. He and his family live in California.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Los Angeles, California
Date of Birth:
October 5, 1960
Place of Birth:
Washington, D. C. (Raised in Spokane, Washington)
Education:
B.A., Art Center College of Design

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >